We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXCELLENT HOLDIAY” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Paradisus Rio de Oro Resort & Spa

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Holguin
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Paradisus Rio de Oro Resort & Spa
Save
You added Paradisus Rio de Oro Resort & Spa to your Saves list
5.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Playa Esmeralda, Crta Guardalavaca, Holguin 007, Cuba   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Holguin
Huntingdon, Cambs
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT HOLDIAY”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

We chose the Pariadisu Rio De Oro has was my wife's 65 birhtday and were not disiappointed. I have little to add to previous reports which are, in the main, very comprehensive and accurate.

We travelled with Tompsons from Gatwick staying the Best Western Moat House the night before with 15 days covered parking - excellent value. We put our bags in the day before but had to check it on the day of travel - no big deal. The flight was fine as we were in Premium seats. Our arrival at Holguin was surprisingly without a hitch and we were through Passport Control within minutes and lo and behold our luggage was off the belt and waiting for us. Within minutes of arriving we were on our way to Guadalavaca by taxi - a one hour journey.

Arrival at the Hotel was smooth and we were in our room within 20 minutes. The room was clean, spacious and kept very tidy throughout our stay. We did experience 4 cockroaches (dead) in our room but that may be because we ALWAYS spray the room with Raid Ant and Cockroach killer. The fridge was re-stocked each day and clean towels were always in the bathroom. The twin beds were comfortable. Yes the bathroom could do with a little tarting up but was completely functional. Overall no complaints about our room.

The pool area was excellent although a little short of cover. The area was clean and tidy but the main pool looked a little tired but completely functional. The pool bar was excellent with waiters roaming round the pool to collect and deliver orders. Pool towels were in the room on arrival and could be exchanged as necessary. There was no pressure to enter into any animation events. The only complaint really was that if you wished to go sailing then you were only able to be a passenger - the beach lads sailed even if you were an experienced sailor.

The main bar area was outstanding and the service was of an equal standard. The restaurants were very very good. The choices in the main buffet were wide and varied and well presented. Overall again excellent.

We had an excellent stay and would strongly recommend it to fellow travellers. Our journey back to the UK was tedious (overnight travel always is). On the other hand we were through passport and other controls at Holguin in a matter of minutes. Likewise we were through Gatwick quite quickly.

In sum, we were not diappointed with this holiday and like many such Hotels the staff were outstanding. They were always cheerful and most helpful - nothing was too much for them.

Room Tip: Take mosquito killer
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,772 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,805
    659
    210
    69
    29
See reviews for
253
2,666
80
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (848)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kitchener, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

We were married here in September 2010 (sorry for the late review!) but overall our experience was incredible!!!We had stayed here 2 years previous as well, so when we decided to elope, we both agreed it would be the perfect place to go back too. From the moment we arrived at the resort, the staff couldn't do enough for us. As this was our second visit here (and due to the wedding) we were upgraded to a suite, which was lovely. Our first day, we met with the wedding planner who quickly and efficiently ran through all our options. She was very helpful, and everything came out beautifully! (even better then we expected!)
The food here was above average for Cuba I would say, there was always a great selection and as a vegetarian I never had a problem finding something to eat. At the a la cartes, if I just mentioned I was vegetarian, they would whip something up just for me without any hesitation. On our wedding night, they prepared a beautiful and delicious wedding cake for us. It was more then we expected, and they allowed us to take it back to our room to snack on later (which we did!!)
The grounds were beautifully kept, the whole resort was gorgeous.
Overall we loved our second stay here and would return again in heartbeat.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

We came here in 2008 and liked it so much we had to return to celebrate my husband's 60th birthday. We had asked for a corner upstairs room in a similar area again which we were given and the staff could not have been more accommodating. I know some reviewers criticize the decor and moan that the bathrooms need updating, but for heaven's sake you don't live in the bathroom and they are perfectly clean and adequate. The rooms are huge and well equipped. One small thing - it would be nice to have some sort of milk product to enable you to use the tea and coffee making facilities in the room.

The food as ever was amazing especially the al a cartes. My favourite was El Patio. You do need a wrap in the Mediterranean as the air con is a trifle cold in there. If I had to moan at all it was that some of the food in the buffet restaurant could have been hotter but apart from that it was great. Smoked salmon and sparking wine for breakfast - who can knock it!!!

The entertainment in the evening was very professional and varied and worth staying up for.

The restaurant and bar staff were lovely, especially Dannyris and Jorge in the beach bar and Elizabeth, Roberto and all the staff in the beach restaurant. They will do anything for you and nothing seems to be too much trouble. The trio Echoes who played in the beach restaurant most lunchtimes were great and even serenaded us off in the coach when we left to go to the airport. Such a nice touch.

I think the availability of branded alcoholic drinks has gone down slightly since our first visit but this didn't spoil my enjoyment of the holiday.

The diving is included in the cost of the holiday but the dive centre which was on site on our first visit is no longer there so you have to be transported to a neighbouring hotel for the diving which meant my husband was away for at least 4 hours everytime he went diving.

All in all a brilliant 2 weeks (despite a break in the weather in the middle) and I wouldn't hesitate to return.

Room Tip: The corner suites have a side window and bigger balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Ontario
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Visited Feb.22-March 1, our first time at this resort, several times in Cuba and other places.
We were happy with this resort, our room was in Building 38 a good location, would request it again, very clean room, comfortable King size bed and pillows, listed as non smoking, ground floor. We requested upper floor ahead of time, but was glad for ground floor as my husband had a sore foot while there, so less stairs to climb, came in handy. Our chamber maid did a really good job, i tipped her every day with peso and gifts, she really appreciated the gifts too. The buffet was fine, I really enjoyed the fresh green salad made by Barbara? And salad dressing, really good, excellent desserts and breads, our last night eating there was roast turkey, probably
the best one. All the la a carte meals in the restaurants where very good, enjoyed our night at the Japanese show table and meeting some very nice people. The el Patio was my favorite, the appetizer and dessert chocolate mousse with baileys excellent. Cuban was also a good meal, we didn't eat at the Mediterranean so I can't comment on it. We took a taxi one day and went into the village, it was a 56 Chevy which my husband really enjoyed, the guy's name was Eduardo, we would highly recommend him and his service, charged 12 peso, the price agreed on
before we got in the car. we gave him a little extra and a small gift, he came back to get us exactly when we requested. You pay when the trip is completed. Our only complain about PRDO is the beach, it does NOT have enough shade & it was really hot when we were there, you couldn't stand to be in the sun for too long. And of course people run down and reserve spots really early there and around the pool too. My last day there I went to the pool at 8 o'clock and was determine to have a shady spot at least for one day~guess what, none left. They
definitely need more shade to lounge in at both places, the beach also is not as big as some places I have stayed at in Cuba, actually the 2 resorts next store had lots more area and shade. So if this was improved it would be a excellent place. Building some more palapas on the beach would help and could be done, so I hope if your reading this management you get the hint...
The staff make this a wonderful place and you couldn't ask for any better, great people!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acton
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

This is now my mother in law and my third Royal Service all inclusive vacation after Aruba & Dominican (Punta Cana). Truly there is no comparison for the service we received.
Arrival - due to huge flight delay (Sunwing - not recommended), we arrived at about 2:30 a.m. in the Royal Service lounge to be greeted by Jorge - poor guy had to stay up just for the two of us arriving as RS has a separate reception location from the balance of the resort. He was cheerful and very helpful. The lobby is bright and has a 3 tier pool for RS guests.
Room - we had an Ocean View - there are only 20 Ocean View rooms Rooms are huge, bright, well appointed. Initially we weren't thrilled that the only shower is outdoors off the back of the bathroom (very private, of course, but once we experience it, I came home wanting my husband to build us one...lol...not such a great idea with Ontario winters!!
Our wonderful house maid kept the room spotlessly clean - unfortunately I can't remember her name - thought I wrote it down...

Food - As we were in Royal Service, we can't comment on the buffet area at all as we only did a la carte meals and room service. Yes, room service every day for breakfast which we pre-ordered, served by our amazing butler (more on him later) on our balcony. On time and delicious every day (only down side was coffee was yuk, so we changed to tea...no big deal).

We made arrangements with Hector, our butler to have a plate of meat/cheeses or fruit delivered to our room every day at 4 p.m. along with a bottle of wine (yes - bottle of wine, not house wine. it was either from Chile or Spain and good).

The a la carte restaurants had good service & food - our favourites were the RS restaurant (can't remember it's name) and Il Patio. The only complaint would be the beef at the Mediterranean - we ordered the filet and it truly tasted like liver - tender, but definitely liver flavoured. Some guy wrote that the food was boring - he must haven't been eating at the a la carte's as there was no shortage of variety.

Beach - Royal Service has their own small beach and bar. Never a problem getting a spot on it and starting at 10 a.m. each day, the servers take care of your beverage requests. In addition, they come around with fruit kebabs and sandwiches near lunchtime. Snorkeling? Right off the beach and there is someone on staff there to take you out a bit further for an outstanding guided trip.

Other beach in general area of the resort is much longer - still not as long as any other resort I have been in the Caribbean, but not bad. If you are like me and love to walk, the property itself has plenty of beautiful concrete paths through forested areas making it a much different feel from other resorts.

Transportation - just dial one number for all your needs including transportation. Within 5 minutes a friendly staff person will pick you up and take you to the lobby; beach; restaurant.

Butler Service - A very special thank you to Hector - he took care of all our requests in a very professional and friendly manner. Nothing was too much for him. He has been there since the hotel opened and it is very obvious he loves his job.

WIFI - ok, if you need to stay connected, this is NOT the place for you. Although the internet is free for RS guests, there are only 2 desktop computers and the speed isn't great. OK if all you want to do is check email once in a while....

Going back? ABSOLUTELY...and this is unusual for us. By the time we are leaving a resort, we are talking about where we should pick for next winter. This time - no doubt about it - Paradisus rio de oro again next year!!

Note to the GM, Lorenzo Rubio Planellas, please give a special thanks to Hector, who definitely is making our decision to go back next year an easy one. A special thank you to Yunor, another butler as well - he took great care of us for our last two days when Hector was off for a day and changed shifts the final day. Nancy & Sandy

Room Tip: If you are doing Royal Service, all rooms look great, but would avoid 9311/12 rooms as they are clos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

We stayed in the Royal Service section of this resort, for the second time, in December 2012. The overwhelmingly postive reviews are well-deserved.

Upon arrival, it's evident that this resort is something special. We received a very warm welcome in the spectacular lobby. Check-in was very quick and efficient. The room was large, spotless, very luxurious, and had a partial oceanview.

Included in the price, is butler service. Reynaldo was our butler and he was outstanding. He arranged our dinner reservations at the a la carte restaurants and lunch on the beach one day.

The grounds were beautiful, the gardeners work very hard to maintain the colorful and fragrant plant life all over the resort.

The food in the buffet restaurant in the main part of the resort and all of the a la carte restaurants was excellent. Eating breakfast every morning outdoors at the Royal Service restaurant was particularly memorable. The food at this resort was the best I've had in Cuba.

I can't say enough about the high level of service at this resort. I've done a fair amount of travel and I can honestly say the staff here are second to none. One example I'd like to share (there were many to choose from) was on last day at the resort. Our taxi to the airport left before the a la carte restaurants opened for dinner. We asked if it would be possible to have some sort of snack prepared before we left. An employee actually handed us the menu to the Royal Service restaurant and they prepared a full course meal!!! Absolutely amazing.....

I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this resort to anyone wanting a quiet, relaxing holiday in a tropical paradise.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkton, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

We had the pleasure of a two week stay here and what a fantastic stay it was. All of the staff go over the call of duty to ensure your stay is everything you hoped for. From the chamber maid, bartenders, front desk, restaurant etc. they made our visit exceptional. The buffet has ready to eat and cook on the spot beef, pork and fish all for lunch and dinner. Breakfast is more choices than I needed to face in the mornings.

The room service was better than expected, and the daily top ups of the beer and water fridge always on time. The beach restaurant Santa Maria run by Roberto deserves special mention as to quality and service, love their cheeseburgers as a change and the Paradisus Rio de Oro salad is worth a second trip to the beach.

The archery and air rifle ranges are limited in the supplies but the staff are fantastic, knowledgeable and helpful especially with beginners. The beach is good and sun loungers comfortable, a gentleman will drag the chairs wherever you wish. The hobby cat is a good ride and Junior was very informative about the area and locals.

The Lobby Bar is a great place to wind down before dinner and smoke a Cohiba. In the evenings the entertainment was quite enjoyable and varied, but was always professional in quality. The bartenders, waiters and waitresses have some special drinks of their own design that surprised us.

The a la carté restaurants were good with the Japanese standing out above the rest. The staff seem to rotate between the restaurants and we did not try the La Luguna Snack Bar BBQ.

All in all we loved the place and the age restriction. Average age was around 55 yrs. and the place even though booked solid was not packed like Varedero, with lots of room and privacy on the walkways.

We hope to get back and stay here again.

Room Tip: Junior suit on the upper level was roomy and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, General Manager at Paradisus Rio de Oro Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear guest,

It is an interesting & detailed review about our Paradisus & services. We enjoy so much reading this kind of reviews & encourage us to work harder. You are right about our services & our Staff, like Roberto at the Beach Restaurant, entertainment team, all our Staff, which is a credit to our hotel.
We are Adults only Resort, therefore hotel is more peaceful.
We trust to have you back in the future.
Thank you once again for posting about our Paradisus.

With warmest regards,
Lorenzo Rubio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Paradisus Rio de Oro Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradisus Rio de Oro Resort & Spa

Address: Playa Esmeralda, Crta Guardalavaca, Holguin 007, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Holguin Province > Holguin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Holguin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Paradisus Rio de Oro Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 354
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Bahia de Naranjo Natural Park, in Playa Esmeralda, on the northern coast of Holguin province. Five-Star Ultra All Inclusive Eco-Resort with 354 rooms. Conceived only for adults aged 18 years or more. Maximum comfort and perfection in its private Royal Service area for a fabulous experience in a world apart. Recommended for weddings, honeymoons, incentive trips and wellness/spa.Guest Rooms 354 rooms: 254 Junior Suites, 24 Junior Suites Deluxe, 16 Junior Suites Deluxe Ocean View, 2 Suites Deluxe, 36 Master Junior Suites Royal Service, 14 Master Junior Suites Ocean View Royal Service, 6 Master Junior Suites Luxury Royal Service, 2 Garden Villas Royal Service. Dining: 8 Restaurants (A la Carte, Buffet), 5 Bars. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Paradisus Rio De Oro Resort And Spa
Paradisus Rio De Oro Hotel Holguin
Paradisus Hotel Guardalavaca
Rio De Oro Paradisus
Paradisus Rio De Oro Cuba
Hotel Paradisus Rio De Oro
Paradisus Rio De Oro Resort & Spa Cuba/Holguin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paradisus Rio de Oro Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.