We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautifull House” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hostal La Casona

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Holguin
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hostal La Casona
Save
You added Hostal La Casona to your Saves list
Calle Maximo Gomez, 270 | e/Frexes y Aguilera, Holguin, Cuba   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 19 Holguin B&B and Inns
St. Petersburg, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Beautifull House”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

As mentioned by other reviewers, they have probably the best and most efficient reservation system from the hole country ;)) They have replied all our questions via E-Mail very very fast and could arrange even a third room for our group.
Very nice and gentle people, as we arrived they were doing some papaya juice and share with us without asking the typical "1CUC for everything"
The rooms are really simple and have only the basic, but this was the only house where we found a working safe box ;)), besides that...what else do you need in a room on holiday?...just a clean bed, a lamp ( if you like to read) air conditioner or ventilator (if it is hot) and hot and warm water...and all that was there!!
At the main room (street side) is really very noisy. The room at the terrace is very quite!...but anyway...who needs to sleep on vacation??? ;))
This house may not have lots of cheesy and unnecessary ornaments or decorations, but it has all what a traveller might need ;)) like adaptors for the handy charger, computer to copy your photos to a Disc, power supply 110//220 not only in Bath ( as in the hotels ) but also in the room ( very nice when you want to charge your phone and play at the same time as you lie in bed).

It has a kitchen that the people can use for free!!! ( very usefull if you want to prepare some snacks), a refrigerator with drinks ( just in case you forgot to buy your water or want to drink a beer at midnight) We could even find some fruits boxes for just 1CUC...
but the best part was the backyard... with this beautiful swimming pool, that we could use until very late in the night. Dalia had no problem in playing some Cuban music and let us have our own pool party, it was really refreshing after the heat all the day at the city tours.

For us it seems like these people really know what is really important for a traveller and there is where they have started. We could talk with Liset, the daughter from our hostler, who speaks very good English and German and she explained us many things from Cuba and gave us many useful tips for our journey. She even offers herself to drop us at the bus station on the last day and after completing the third trip ( we were 8people) she didn't accepted any payment. That was the first and only occasion / house where we've gotten something for free ;))

We can honestly recommend this house and in fact is the only one we are reviewing here ( the rest was too "normal") And not because they have given something for free, but because that's the only place where we could feel really SAFE and had the impression of been treated as humans and not just as Money income source!!!

Room Tip: Take the room at the terrace, even without air conditioner it is the best one ( for us )
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lissethe G, Public Relations Manager at Hostal La Casona, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear friends,
Thanks a lot for your review ;)) We are very happy to hear that you had a great time while you visit our Hostal and that you liked the juice ;))
Hope to see you soon!
Greetings Lissethe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    2
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
14
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Hostal La Casona was the quickest and the most attentive answering emails and explaining all the details prior to our trip. They even sent a PDF file with a kind of a pre-bill and a slogan on its head - "un lugar para conocer la diferencia" ("a place to know the difference"). So, something really progressive, maybe even with a WiFi was expected. But what we saw upon arrival was... nothing but clear walls. No, I don't mean something to go wrong: the room though was prepared, our car was placed into a garage for the night, the breakfast was yummy and so on. But even for Cuba, everything seemed so basic, simplest than wherever (im comparison to other casas we've visited during the trip). It wasn't possible to lock the room from outside. There wasn't a a TV, neither a minibar, nor even a chair. Just beds and a little table with a lamp on it, no more. The air conditioner worked so loudly, that I really worried if it had been still possible to use it. And the walls were so thin, that every sound from the street I could hear so clearly as if it's source had been placed right under my bed. As the location of the hostal is nearly the center of the town, nobody of us couldn't get any sleep till the party men from the block got lost into their homes, and afterwards we had to wake in the earliest morning (like 5:30am or so), 'cause a KRaZ (a huge soviet truck) passed by...

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lissethe G, Public Relations Manager at Hostal La Casona, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. We really appreciate that you've taken you time to comment your experiences and opinions about our Hostal, that's the only way for a young business as ours, to find out where do we have to work harder. ;))
Since we opened our Hostal in February 2011, we have being renovating the house, to improve the lodging conditions for the guests, but we know that we still have a lot to do in this direction.
Decorations are very important and we are constantly changing it, but we decided to start with more practical things as:
Safe box,
Univ. power outlets with 110/220 Volts
Clients Kitchen and
Swimming pool
However, we hope you could spend a nice time in our Hostal and would like to invite you to visit us again on your next travel to Cuba.
Thanks again
Lissethe
La Casona Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

We arrived very late in the night and still the owner was very kind and offered us drinks and snacks, we feelt very welcome from the first moment.
The room we got is big and clear, the bed is confortable and very clean. The bathroom, located just few steps outside of the room ( but for our private use ) was also very clean and water was never a problem.
The owner was very helpfull to us, she even make the reservation for our going on travel to Santiago.
We could spend couple of hours at the colonial terrace and even jump into the pool...that was great becuse outside was really hot.
we had a very nice time at this house and would like to recommend it to every one.

Room Tip: There are enough Restaurants and snacks bars around this house. You can buy drinks at the shops arou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hostal La Casona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal La Casona

Address: Calle Maximo Gomez, 270 | e/Frexes y Aguilera, Holguin, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Holguin Province > Holguin
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Holguin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A newly renovated traditional colonial architecture house on Máximo Gómez Street, 200 meters from the city downtown area. Offering an intimate and cozy atmosphere, the house features an ensuite master bedroom, small swimming pool and a nice terrace as well as a kitchenette. A small bedroom, detached from the main suite, is also available.A 24/7 food & beverage service is one of the highlights of this comfortable house. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hostal La Casona Cuba/Holguin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostal La Casona, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.