We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“home away from home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tamargo

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Trinidad
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tamargo
Save
You added Tamargo to your Saves list
Francisco Javier Serquera 266 | Entre Marti y Maceo, Trinidad, Cuba   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 247 Trinidad B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“home away from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

Trinidad is a splendid town and Casa Tamargo, owned and operated by Felix and Matilde enhances the stay so much. Excellent locati, ' beautiful grounds, room and yar, 'everything is well maintained and carefully taken care of.
Felix and Matilde will be glad to help you plan your stay. A warm and friendly couple, will make you feel at home once you entered their beautifulcasa behind the huge wood door.Tthey will provide perfect directions and map and open their heart to welcome you into their casa. This was the best place we stayed in during our trip. Make sure you e-mail ahead of time to ensure confirm your reservation. If you want to reach the beach' the bus is two houses away as well.We rate it excellent plus.

Room Tip: The large room is a liitle more but worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
74
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
On The Lake
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

Our first B&B in Cuba of the three we went to - it was just great and more than expected! Mathilde and Felix along with their staff were very accommodating and they work hard to please guests. Even with our very limited Spanish we made it thru with lots of smiles and hand signals - a great experience overall! The well located casa has been in the family for a long time (Mom is 93 and lives there too), it is very clean and very well kept with lots of history and pride in detail. Our room was spacious, had a good shower and AC. Breakfast was good (not sure about dinner as it wasn't offered, so we ate out). There is beautiful plants in courtyard and on terrace with lots of seating areas - there is no street view from either but it was all together very relaxing to come back to after checking out all the beautiful sights Trinidad has to offer. Each room has an individual key and you just ring the bell to come and go at whatever time you need (it's easy to be out late into the night with Trinidad's amazing music scene)!
We came in by Viazul bus and the station is a complete mad house - with tons of people clamouring for your attention to stay at their place or take a taxi ride with them....it is very overwhelming - if you can, ask Felix or Mathilde to meet you as even though it is very close - the streets are confusing particularly if you come in the dark. Do not pay more than 3 cuc to get to their place as it is just a couple minutes by walking or bike ride.

Room Tip: Our room had one large bed and two smaller ones in it, along with a closet - very spacious as there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

Mathilde and Felix welcome you into their home like you're long lost relatives and the welcome starts even before you arrive. They provide loads of information beforehand to prepare you for your visit to Trinidad. My wife and I stayed here for 3 nights and there isn't a single thing that we can complain about. Casa Tamargo must be one of the best casas in the whole of Cuba! The location in Trinidad is unbeatable and the atmosphere and personality of the place and hosts is welcoming and relaxed.
The focus of the casa is the courtyard and veranda. Loads of patio furniture here to relax on, but most guests end up talking and exchanging stories around the gigantic breakfast / dinner table - like a big family.
Rooms go off the courtyard and our room had an on-suite bathroom (like all rooms at the casa I think), a roof fan and air conditioning. They also offer a washing service which we used as at that stage of our travels we've been in Cuba for a while.
The roof terrace has a charming roofline view of Trinidad, but still feels secluded.
Breakfast is truly amazing and includes fruit, bread, eggs, coffee, freshly squeezed juice, and some awesome homemade guava jelly. Dinner is actually the real treat foodwize at Casa Tamargo and we regret not eating here every night! Mathilde, Felix and their crew really go out of their way to make you feel part of the family and that is what it felt like when we left. It was really sad leaving and you can see it touches both Felix and Mathilde every time guests leave.
As a non-Spanish speaker, communications wasn't impossible, but it was difficult at times. We did manage every time to understand each other though and it has inspired me to start learning Spanish!
Casa Tamargo is a very popular casa and it is obvious why, but if you do manage to get a room here you won't regret it for one second!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucerne, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

After a really terrible casa in trinidad, this place was recommended to us, and it felt like being in heaven. nice and clean. perfect inner yard and roof terrace. its in the town center and a supermarket is across the corner. nice hosts and good food. its better to book this place in advance, because it seems to be really popular among travellers.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

We stayed in this Casa during May and it was great. Location is perfect and you can walk everywhere in town. Matilde and Felix are unbelievably nice. It was the cleanest Casa I was in and very comfortable. The terrace was great and the food was better than restaurants I went to in Trinidad. The room was a little hot at night but other than that I could not fault this Casa. It was really great to feel so at home.

Room Tip: Ask for the larger room, it might be a little cooler at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Casa Tamargo could not have been better - well-situated, clean and attractive. Matilde and Felix were delightful hosts, solicitous but not intrusive. Matilde prepared the best food in Trinidad, while Felix mixes a mean Mojito or Daiquiri. The house is in the historic centre of this beautiful old town, so all the places of interest are only a short walk away. Returning to the house to relax in the quiet courtyard or on the roof terrace was also a pleasure.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We spent 5 days at the Casa Tamargo in February 2013. It was the best stay we had in our round-trip in Cuba. Felix and Mathilde are hosts who treat their guests in a professional way. The meals they served us, were much better than in any of the restaurants where we ate. We had a nice room, and the patio and sun terrace were nice places to relax. Oh, it is true that Felix serves the best drinks in town. His Pina Colada was so good!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tamargo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tamargo

Address: Francisco Javier Serquera 266 | Entre Marti y Maceo, Trinidad, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Sancti Spiritus Province > Trinidad
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 247 B&Bs / Inns in Trinidad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tamargo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.