We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Trinidad
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad
Save
You added Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad to your Saves list
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Jose Marti 262, Trinidad 62600, Cuba   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Trinidad
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sydney
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

The Iberostar Grand in Trinidad is the best accommodation we stayed at in Trinidad. It is streets ahead of the Iberostar in Havana, and has a true international flavour.

Staff are pleasant and well trained, treating guests with courtesy and helpfulness. Rooms are spotless, with lovely amenities, good showers and comfortable beds. We were well able to get around the beautiful old town of Trinidad, and thoroughly enjoyed our stay, perhaps most particularly in relation to the general absence of high end accommodation in Cuba.

A true delight.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Directortrinidad, General Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear KathySydney:

We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and wish to thank you very much for your gracious comments.

Staff members also thank you for highlighting the high service that you received during your stay.

Do not hesitate to contact us when you decide to come again to our Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad , we will very pleased to count you among our numerous repeat guests.

Best wishes,


Carlos Lázaro
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

802 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    551
    195
    38
    8
    10
See reviews for
93
485
29
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Brunswick, Canada
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

I travelled solo and stayed at the Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad for 5 nights in June, 2013. This lovely boutique hotel is the nicest hotel that I have stayed at in Cuba. The service is first class.

Check-in and Concierge:
The check in process was very professional, courteous, fast and accompanied with the presentation of a cold towel and welcome cocktail. Awesome!! Registration packets are prepared ahead of guest arrival which makes the check-in process seamless. The bellman service was instantaneous and chivalrous. There is always a security/door man presence which was reassuring and also an excellent source of assistance for directions, taxis, restaurant recommendations, and general inquiries.

Room:
The quality of my room easily matched a 5 star hotel in Canada and was very clean, comfortable and quiet. The view wasn’t great but I was hardly ever in the room during the day anyway. It was very quiet as it didn’t overlook the park.

Food and Beverage:
A buffet breakfast is included in the hotel rate and included an excellent selection and variety of breakfast fare. Service was very good. I only ate one other meal at the hotel as I wanted to check out the local paladars. The a la carte dinner menu was impressive and the tapas were essentially a work of art. Dinner service was excellent and was accompanied by subtle musical entertainment. The bar service was also excellent both in the lobby and in the bar just outside the dining room.

Location:
The hotel location is close proximity and within walking distance to historical tourist sites within the city (Plaza Mayor, Casa de La Musica, Architecture Museum, churches…the whole city is historical!) and accessible to bus or taxi transportation beyond the city to Escambray Mountains, Sendero Vegas Grande, Casa Del Café, Play Ancon, Valle de los Ingenios, to name a few. An ATM is a couple of blocks away to the right as you exit the main entrance of the hotel which accepts credit and Visa debit cards. Regular bank debit cards are not accepted. Cards affiliated with US banks are not accepted. Credit cards are not accepted in paladars, bars and by local artists. There are times when transactions cannot be completed at the ATMs. It is a heavy tourist area and the ATMs seem to either get depleted quickly or there is a glitch in the system network. It is wise to keep extra CUCs so you don’t get caught without funds. A couple of blocks to the left as you exit the hotel are a Cadeca and a bank. Water can be purchased at a store nearby which is much cheaper than at the hotel.

Other Perks:
WiFi is free!! The gift shop is very nice as is the lady (Tamara) who manages the shop. Towel art is the best in Cuba! Service by Carlosito, Jose Enrique, Tamara, Rafael and many others was impeccable. I was impressed by the constant presence of the hotel manager and his collegial interaction with staff.

Trinidad Tip:
If you are in Trinidad for a few days take a walking tour of Trinidad with a local guide. My guide was a teacher who spoke excellent English and was off for the summer break. The history of Trinidad is interesting and the walking tour allows you to choose the places you wish to return to and spend more time. Tourists, particularly those travelling alone, are approached alot so confidence and continuing to walk with a polite “no gracias” is an essential tip. Be mindful of the extremely busy outdoor craft market area where you run the gauntlet of over zealous vendors and assertive women asking for your shoes, clothes and even your underwear! Keep your purse closed or better yet leave it in the hotel. It was amazing how quickly my purse contents were scanned when I paid for something and I was surprised by requests for “gifts” from the contents. My mistake and it only happened once. These tactics, however, do not reflect all local people and in many cases are frowned upon by other locals. Cienfuegos and Casilda were very peaceful.

Overall, I was very pleased with the Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad and would not hesitate to book with them again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Directortrinidad, General Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Mastercga.



It is always a pleasure to receive feedback and suggestions from our guests, but without fear of falling in flattery I must confess that the reading of your detailed " report" has left us very impressed. And surely trip advisor users will also be very grateful to you.

In the name of all the hotel team I want to convey their most sincere thanks and tell you that your words have really made ​​our day and they affirm us in our commitment to the total satisfaction of all our guests.

It will be a great pleasure to host you again , if you decide to come back to Trinidad.

Take care of yourself.
Best Regards



Carlos Lázaro
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

The hotel is in an attractive old building (like most good hotels in Cuba). It's on a square that's lively at night, but is actually a long, uphill walk away from the old town centre, which is what most people visit Trinidad to see, and from most restaurants. It's certainly attractively furnished, well-equipped and very clean, with good bathrooms and comfortable beds. But we found the service impersonal and it somehow lacked the character we often found in other, less posh, hotels. As another reviewer has remarked, there's no outside communal area -- balcony, terrace, patio, or garden -- where guests can just sit and relax with a coffee or a drink.

In a town as small as Trinidad there may not be many other options as far as accommodation goes, but we'd certainly recommend dining elsewhere: although breakfast was very good, the restaurant morphs into a "fine dining" establishment in the evening, with tuxedoed waiters and silver service -- and it's a sad experience. The bizarre menu includes lasagne in orange sauce, four kinds of pizza, fish with "Chinese sauce" and vegetable chop suey. Why? The prices are insane for Cuba, where you can eat simple, fresh, well-prepared meals -- including lobster, if you like -- in any number of local restaurants for a fraction of the price.

Although we had a pleasant stay, and appreciated the comfort and efficiency, we were left with the sense of a hotel which aspires to a degree of grandeur that isn't really necessary -- or deliverable.

Room Tip: Junior suites are spacious and comfortable, with a nice view overlooking the plaza.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Directortrinidad, General Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for selecting our hotel during your stay in Trinidad and also the time you have taken writing us your sincere feedback, which deserve our full respect and consideration.
Sorry that you have felt our service as lacking personality, although surely it may be improved, the vast majority of our customers have always praised the professionalism and politeness of our staff, in line with the category of the hotel.And for that reason, among many others, we can not compete on price with the other restaurants in the area.

Nevertheless, we have taken into account your comments about the food, service and prices and will discuss with our Food and Beverage Managers, in order to improve our standards, and to reach for a perfect service.



Yours sincerely


Carlos Lázaro
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rehovot, Israel
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

this hotel is one of the best hotels in cuba. clean, modern, proffesional staff english speaking, best location. resturant o.k but expensive relative to trinidad. go to vista gourmet restaurant half an hour before sunset, engoy the best daiquiri in cuba and a nice inexpensive dinner.

Room Tip: all romms have the plaza view, some rooms have a balcony, but realy not needed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Directortrinidad, General Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Dear Nir a:

Thank you very much for your nice comments and for the time it have taken to write them.

It is a pleasure to know that your stay with us has been entirely satisfying and we hope to have the opportunity to host you again in the near future.

Best wishes,


Carlos Lázaro
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
annasc
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

The staff in the hotel were very friendly and the hotel manager was super so helpful and friendly
I wou completely recommend this hotel.
The hotel is fab to stay in plus beautiful building
The rooms are very clean and nice big bedrooms
It in the perfect location

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Directortrinidad, General Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Dear Ceara d:

We would like to thank you for taking the time to send us your comments on your experience at our hotel.
It is a pleasure to know that we have contributed to the success of your holiday and thank you very much for your compliments and recommendations to other travellers.

We are keen to welcome you again to the Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad and I remain at your entire disposal.


Sincerely

Carlos Lázaro
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

The welcome is immediate- greeted at the door! The front desk staff are warm with impecable attitude. Although we were travelling independently with a hire car, our tour agent had made a mistake and booked us for 3 nights, from the day BEFORE they should. This was quickly sorted . Then - because of this - we were assigned rooms without a terrace- but we were switched when I asked if this were possible. to a huge corner room. Sadly I got food poisoning (NOT from the hotel food!!) whilst there and could not have wished for better surroundings. As a result, my family had dinner in the hotel one night, and then the next (when I was sort of eating) we had the bar tapas. all good. If you get a room without a terrace for me it would be a problem, as there is no outside communal area at all- no roof bar, or general terrace. No pool. This is the only weak spot for this beautiful hotel. We were fine with our amazing terrace, but otherwise would have felt too enclosed. As for the noise- the double glazing is excellent. And I enjoyed sitting on my private terrace listening to a great band playing Bob Marley whilst lightning flashed in the distance. And ear plugs were fine when a poor singer followed....

Room Tip: room 111 if you want a HUGE bed and terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Directortrinidad, General Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Dear MissFussyBerk.

Thank you for your valuable feedback on Trip Advisor regarding your visit to Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad. I was very pleased to read that you enjoyed our hotel facilities.
Staff members appreciate to know that their efforts have been recognized, thank you for highlighting the high service that you received during your stay.

Allow me to reiterate our gratitude for choosing Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad and for taking the time to share your comments with us.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad




Carlos Lázaro
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

the hotel is nice and small, and rooms are huge! with a balcony!

free wifi is available and reaches the rooms and staff are helpfull

the breakfast had not much choice but then again you are not going to eat a lot

overall I would return to this hotel

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Directortrinidad, General Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Dear Nikz1.

Thank you very much for your nice notes on your stay with us.
We are deeply pleased that you have come to Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad for your vacation and that you have encountered our service and installations first rate.

We look forward to welcome you and your family soon again.


Best regards

Carlos Lázaro
G. Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad

Address: Calle Jose Marti 262, Trinidad 62600, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Sancti Spiritus Province > Trinidad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Trinidad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad 5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Trinidad de Cuba is a 5-star hotel in the heart of Trinidad, a gorgeous town characterised by its elegant colonial architecture.The Iberostar Grand Hotel is perfect for couples and adults. A lower age limit of 15 has been set to ensure total rest and relaxation for our guests.The Grand Hotel guarantees visitors a truly extraordinary holiday, at any time of the year, getting to know the culture, the cuisine and the people.The Iberostar Grand Trinidad strives to bring together the great interest that there is in all things Cuban and a wide range of top of the range leisure. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Iberostar Trinidad

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.