We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Iberostar at its Best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Trinidad
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad
Save
You added Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad to your Saves list
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Jose Marti 262, Trinidad 62600, Cuba   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Trinidad
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Iberostar at its Best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

What can we say..... My son and i arrived in Trinidad late at night after driving for 6 hours, and I had briefly read that this hotel was in Trinidad before we left home, so we asked directions and our surprise we where only a few meters away and as we pulled up, the doorman came straight out and opened my door and after a quick conversation we where told that they had rooms available. The receptionist was such a delight in accommodating us, we whizzed around to check that our luggage was nearby us, and a welcome drink was served to us. We where both thinking, yes this is the life. As we went up to our superb rooms and quickly showered, we went down to the restaurant to see if we could get a meal. Nothing was too much trouble at 10 o'clock at night for the friendly staff and the meal was superb. Then we clambered upstairs for a well earned sleep after 6 hours of driving and sunk into the bed till the morning. The rooms where very large and the bathroom was unbelievable I think it was even larger than my kitchen at home and so modern.we felt like we knew the staff at the hotel as they had a warmth around them in every word they spoke and accommodating to the smallest ask...When we checked out these same receptionist asked us what we thought of their hotel and we of course replied Superb in every aspect and then she proceeded to tell us it was the best rated hotel in Cuba.we stayed also at the Iberostar in Havana which was excellent, but this was tops. Thank you to the staff at the Iberostar.

Room Tip: Do not hesitate to stay here, the rooms where very quiet and superb
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Directortrinidad, General Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Dear Angela K

Thank you for your valuable feedback on Trip Advisor regarding your visit to Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad. I was very pleased to read that you enjoyed our hotel facilities.
Staff members appreciate to know that their efforts have been recognized, thank you for highlighting the high service that you received during your stay.

Allow me to reiterate our gratitude for choosing Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad and for taking the time to share your comments with us.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad


Yours very truly


Carlos Lázaro
G. Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

711 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    503
    159
    36
    5
    8
See reviews for
84
433
26
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orford
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Having stayed at the sister hotel in Havana I knew what to expect - a comfortable well-run hotel with an poor to average restaurant. This however is a well run hotel with an absolutely terrible restaurant. After trying various snack and al carte options we ended up eating plates of Serrano ham and pickled beetroot washed down with the excellent Torres red wines.

The low point was an attempt to get a plain grilled steak and vegetables just to get something to eat. It arrived covered in a foul tasting grease and was over-cooked, tough and inedible. It was quickly replaced by an identical but rarer version which was equally inedible. The restaurant staff were friendly, helpful and anxious. Anxious because they were terrified I would not leave a tip and quickly apologised and comp'ed the whole bill to guarantee their essential (they are very poor) tip. I paid for my wine and left a 20 convertible peso (about $20) tip and they were very happy although I was far from happy. A complaint to the management was listened to politely with no further action.

If you are going to Trinidad by all means stay here but do be ware that you will need some essential source of nutriment in your luggage.

Room Tip: The rooms on the second floor facing the square are every bit as comfortable as the more expensive j...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Directortrinidad, General Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear guest.

We really appreciate your visit and we are glad to know that your had fully enjoyed our hotel facilities and the service, if not for the food you have been served in the restaurant.
We have to apologize once again , as we did in that moment, for not have been able to offer you any other choice, since that was the only beef meat available we have got, and therefore we did not charge anything for it.
Let me explain you please that ,lately we have been having a serious shortage of supplies in import items (that includes beef meat) and we are forced to turn to the domestic market ,which unfortunately does not guarantee the quality or regularity in supplies.
To our relief there are not many complaints like yours , since the most of our guests rate the quality of our cuisine as one amongst the best of the island, as you can read in may comments in this site.

We express our deepest gratitude for your sincere opinions that help us in our commitment to reach the highest level in accomodation and service.

We hope to have the opportunity to compensate you with an unforgettable dinner next time.


Yours sincerely


Carlos Lázaro
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

In the usual Iberostar style this hotel provided the standard of hotel you would expect to find in a first world country so a little incongruous in its Cuban surrounding. Can't beat the location and quality. We arrived late around 9:30 p.m. with a group of 10 people. Our room was not ready but they did not advise us at reception. So we went up our room only to have to turn around and come back down. I expect more of Iberostar rated as a 5 star. Apart from that small inconvenience their service was very good.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Directortrinidad, General Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Dear Deneri,

It is really nice to read the detailed feedback you had placed at this Webpage. We do appreciate the time you had taken to share your valuable impressions to other users.

We are also more than glad to know that you found our service and facilities very satisfactory.

I would like now to apologize and try to explain the inconvenient with the room on your arrival:
Just short time before you got in the hotel another guest asked us to switch his room to another side; being the hotel full that night, we gave him the room we had assigned to you.
The chambermaid was going to clean your room when you arrived. In the front desk they should have explained the fact and aseked yoy to wait intil the room were ready , but unfortunately they did not do it. I assure you that these errors occur very rarely, but at least it is good to know that it was solved in the best possible way.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel or to any of our Iberostar resorts.


Yours sincerely

Carlos Lázaro
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

No complaints. Had large room (206) overlooking the square. As good as the best hotels we saw in Havana. Leo on front desk very helpful. And constant hot water! Didn't eat evening meal there so can't comment, but buffet breakfast was excellent.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Directortrinidad, General Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear XavierT.

I do thank you very much for the time you have taken to write your kindly comments on Trip Advisor.
It is a cause of satisfaction to hear that you have spent a wonderful stay at our hotel, and we look forward to welcome you again at Iberostar Trinidad or at any of our hotels worldwide.

Yours sincerely

Carlos Lázaro
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hitchin
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We all liked this hotel for its warm welcome, excellent service, comfort, cleanliness, good food and location. It was hard to fault, but we were kept awake the first night by the drums beating in the park opposite. It was good to be in the town centre, but we missed having nowhere to sit outside the hotel (except the park opposite) and no pool - but you can't have everything.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Directortrinidad, General Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Dear Margeret H,

We do appreciate the time you had taken to share your valuable impressions to other users.

We are also more than glad to know that you had a pleasurable time at our outlets, and that you found our food offerings satisfactory,

Once again I do thank you for sharing with us your kind notes.

Looking forward to host you in the near future,



Carlos Lázaro
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We rented a car in Havana and did not have hotel reservations as we went around the Cuba. We arrived in Trinidad and were fortunate enough to find a room available for 2 nights. The service was outstanding and was the only hotel that truly deserved a 5 star rating. The property was spotless and beautifully maintained. And the fact that wifi was available free in the lobby and in our room was certainly an asset. Although the food in the dining was not outstanding it was acceptable and convenient.

Room Tip: The junior suite was outstanding and even though we faced the square it was quiet enough.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Directortrinidad, General Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Dear guests,

We are deligthed to read your complimentary review about our hotel, and to know that we have provided our contribution to a pleasant holiday.
I tell you that we strive to ensure that our food is at a similar level to the other services, but I have to admit that supply constraints often prevent us from fulfill this objective.

I want to thank you very mcuh for sharing with us and the Trip Advisor community your impressions, and I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel in a near future.

Best regards


Carlos Lázaro
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Supposedly the best hotel in Trinidad, it is really nice, overlooking the (not too impressive) park. We had one of the four junior suites (205) with the advantage of a spacious room and the disadvantage of having to put up with quite a bit of noise during the night. (All four of the junior suites face the park). The bed was a little too soft for my liking; the bathroom nice. There were two computers (free of charge) in the business centre, with incredibly slow internet. Breakfast buffet was plentiful, with good selection of cold dishes, fresh egg dishes and very attentive service. The first evening we only wanted to have a snack in the bar, and asked for a hot dog, it was terrible. The second night we had a sandwich, which was OK. Drinks were good, service excellent.

Room Tip: Junior suites are nice but very noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Directortrinidad, General Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Dear Bobicsek

We are very grateful for your positive comments about our hotel on this site, and also, of course, for those that are not so favourable.
Outside is “the price we have to pay” for being located in the heart of a city as bustling as Trinidad. In terms of the quality of some food, the difficulties and irregularity of the supplies prevent us, at times, from reaching the levels of quality we would like to offer. As for the Internet connection there is nothing we can do to speed it up, for the reasons that I think you already know.


We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel or to any of our Iberostar resorts.


Yours sincerely

Carlos Lázaro
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad

Address: Calle Jose Marti 262, Trinidad 62600, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Sancti Spiritus Province > Trinidad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Trinidad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad 5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Trinidad de Cuba is a 5-star hotel in the heart of Trinidad, a gorgeous town characterised by its elegant colonial architecture.The Iberostar Grand Hotel is perfect for couples and adults. A lower age limit of 15 has been set to ensure total rest and relaxation for our guests.The Grand Hotel guarantees visitors a truly extraordinary holiday, at any time of the year, getting to know the culture, the cuisine and the people.The Iberostar Grand Trinidad strives to bring together the great interest that there is in all things Cuban and a wide range of top of the range leisure. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Iberostar Trinidad

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.