We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A proper first class hotel; well-located in a lovely town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Trinidad
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad
Save
You added Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad to your Saves list
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Jose Marti 262, Trinidad 62600, Cuba   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Trinidad
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“A proper first class hotel; well-located in a lovely town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

The Iberostar in Trinidad, Cuba is a proper 5-star hotel, with all the facilities you would expect - even in Cuba! The hotel has a lovely foyer and the WiFi works there and in your room (and the restaurant), although it might be a different router as you move around the hotel, so you need to have the password written down. Actually the WiFi works better than the desktop computers in the Business Centre. I had assumed the opposite would be true, but after fifteen minutes of waiting for a website to load on the desktop computer, I reverted to using my iPhone in the Lobby: much better...

The airconditioning works, the hot water is hot, the TV works (actually it didn't at first, but an expert fixed it in about ten seconds), reception is efficient, staff organise things for you if you ask them. In fact it was almost rather boring after some of the more authentically Third-World experiences we had been suffering in earlier parts of our stay in Cuba.

Even breakfast was quite good, although, one morning they did have smoked salmon, but not papaya - but then the papaya did turn up later, so I couldn't complain.

We stayed three nights in Trinidad and had an excellent room at the front of the building, with a terrace that gave us a view over the square - although, with no shade, we couldn't use it until late afternoon - but this was not a problem as we were generally out being tourists until then.

The hotel is well located within close walking distance of the Plaza Mayor, all the attractions of Trinidad and lots of small restaurants.

On our second day, we organised a taxi to take us out to the Mirador over the Valley and to the tower of Manaca Iznaga, where we had a snack at the restaurant. We were away for about two hours or so and the (pre-arranged) price for the taxi was CUC30. Definitely worth doing.

Room Tip: Our room at the front on the first floor (109) was excellent and very large and had a terrace. We ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Directortrinidad, General Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Dear Peter3101,

We thank you for having taken the time to translate your favorable impressions of our hotel and city on Trip Advisor.
We value too your detailed comments that illustrate and help other travelers to facilitate the decision when planning their trips.

We are also more than glad to know that you had a pleasurable time at our outlets , and we are
looking forward to host you in the near future,


Yours sincerely

Carlos Lázaro
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

706 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    500
    157
    36
    5
    8
See reviews for
84
429
26
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

We stayed in the Iberostar in Trinidad and it was a wonderful experience from the time we arrived until our departure. We were hot and tired and greeted by a very welcoming reception and immediately provided with a cool drink. The room was immaculate. Everything was spic and span and to our surprise all of the facilities worked perfectly. WiFi was a little slow but reliable.

I would certainly recommend the Iberostar in Trinidad

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Directortrinidad, General Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Dear Martin F.

We greatly appreciate your complimentary comments about our hotel and your kindly recommendation. We are glad we could have contributed, if only in a small part, to the success of your holidays and hope to have the opportunity of hosting you again before long.

Best wishes,


Carlos Lázaro
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

To enjoy a stay in Cuba is to accept the limitations of shortages of this or that, be it milk for your coffee or half the items on any restaurant menu being unavailable at any time. This hotel was remarkable for its standard of service, range of available food and cleanliness amongst all the places we stayed in Cuba. Admitedly we were lucky to be upgraded to a Junior Suite for our four-night stay, but for us that just meant a larger room with a better view. If this hotel were in Barcelona, Seville or Lisbon I would be quite happy to just rate it as excellent. Given the added challenges of providing "normal" service in Cuba, this hotel is remarkably good - and a credit to its management and every one of its staff. Not the "real Cuba" (for that you would have to accept many more limitations) and comparative luxury (as it would be almost anywhere), but probably the best place to stay in Trinidad.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Directortrinidad, General Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you for your valuable feedback on Trip Advisor regarding your visit to Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad. I was very pleased to read that you enjoyed our hotel facilities.
Staff members appreciate to know that their efforts have been recognized, thank you for highlighting the high service that you received during your stay.

Allow me to reiterate our gratitude for choosing Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad and for taking the time to share your comments with us.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad

Best regards


Carlos Lázaro
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hove, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
316 helpful votes 316 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

There really aren’t any other top options here.

Well located in a busy square just 2 blocks from the main square. Attractive lobby, games room with pool table and 2 extremely slow free PCs which are too slow to be much use.

The key factor to be aware of is potential noise from the busy square. There was a special ‘cultural week’ to celebrate 499 years of the city. This meant very loud pop music from both sides form mid afternoon until after midnight. The staff were v honest about this on arrival and offered us either a quieter basic room at the back which looked a bit dark, or a lovely large suite at the front with a huge terrace overlooking the square which we took. We wore earplugs and slept fine but light sleepers who hate noise should opt for the back and check if events are happening. Shame the music was modern dance pop rather than evocative local music which would have been fine, but the room was lovely so we were happy with it. Great to people watch from the terrace and lovely sunset photos of the church across the square.Enjoyed the quirky towel sculptures left by the maids too!

The restaurant food is outstandingly good for Cuba with an excellent fresh buffet dinner selection.
We felt sorry for the musician duo who gamely tried to sing while being drowned out by the amplified music outside – better to let them rest for the week as they couldn’t really compete!

As long as noise won’t bother you this is a really excellent place to stay, feeling much friendlier than the big Havana iberostar.

Room Tip: people watching at the front, but gets noisy at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Directortrinidad, General Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Dear Roy999,

I want to thak your rewiev and especially your understanding and good mood with the special situation during the cultural week. We want let you know that it is not always so in Trinidad, so we encourage you to visit us a next time on other dates.

Yours sincerely

Carlos Lázaro
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Trinidad consists of one superb historic building after another but this is not one of them. Nevertheless the hotel enjoys a great international reputation, and is almost always fully booked. The lobby area is a gracious tiled square and the dining room and bar have a 5 star feel. Yudi, the Reception Manager, could not have taken more trouble to see that every need was met. We had a room at the back of the hotel on our first night, and one overlooking the Plaza de Cespedes on the second. Our experience was, and we looked at several other rooms, that the rooms at the back are dark and cramped, and the rooms at the front are very noisy. We arrived on a hot and humid afternoon and would have loved even a small swimming pool. The restaurant is said to be good but it wasn't cheap and it wasn't Cuban, so we ate out.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Directortrinidad, General Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Dear guests,

We thank you very much for having chosen our hotel in your visit to Trinidad, and appreciate the sincerity of your comments. We are very sorry to hear that the location of our rooms has not fully met your expectations, but in that sense is not much we could do to change it. However the great majority of our guests have a different opinion than yours. Despite of all your appreciation of the good work of our staff , in this case Yudi, fills us with satisfaction.
We plan to build a swimming pool in the forthcoming enlargement of the hotel , since it is a facility increasingly demanded by our guests.

Yours very truly

Carlos Lázaro
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Orange,NJ
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We stayed here for two nights in January 2013. We really enjoyed this hotel. It's much smaller than it's sister the Parque Central in Havana but the rooms, food and service is just as good. This is very much a 5 star hotel. We loved it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Directortrinidad, General Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Dear Scubavid.

We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and wish to thank you very much for your gracious comments.

We are keen to welcome you again to the Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad and I remain at your entire disposal.

Yours sincerely

Carlos Lázaro
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burton On Trent
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

We recently stayed at the Iberostar Grand for three nights and couldn't have been more delighted.
The hotel is situated a short walk from the historic centre of Trinidad and the hotel staff were really helpful in giving us directions to places of interest, bars, live music venues and restaurants.
Our room was spacious and clean with a large bathroom and comfortable bed. Our visit coincided with Trinidad's 499th anniversary celebrations and when this first struck up I did think it might be rather noisy in the room. However it turned out to be a plus rather than a negative as we got into the spirit of the celebrations.
We eat in the hotels restaurant on our first night. Food was delicious and reasonably priced by UK standards although, as we wished to explore the town more, we did eat elsewhere on subsequent nights and found prices to be a bit less. Breakfast was buffet style and had a good selection.
A lovely hotel in a good location with pleasant friendly staff.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Directortrinidad, General Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Dear Pete_Coxhill

Thank you for your valuable feedback on Trip Advisor regarding your visit to Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad. I was very pleased to read that you enjoyed our hotel facilities.
Staff members appreciate to know that their efforts have been recognized, thank you for highlighting the high service that you received during your stay.

Allow me to reiterate our gratitude for choosing Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad and for taking the time to share your comments with us.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad


Best regards

Carlos Lázaro
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad

Address: Calle Jose Marti 262, Trinidad 62600, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Sancti Spiritus Province > Trinidad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Trinidad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad 5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Trinidad de Cuba is a 5-star hotel in the heart of Trinidad, a gorgeous town characterised by its elegant colonial architecture.The Iberostar Grand Hotel is perfect for couples and adults. A lower age limit of 15 has been set to ensure total rest and relaxation for our guests.The Grand Hotel guarantees visitors a truly extraordinary holiday, at any time of the year, getting to know the culture, the cuisine and the people.The Iberostar Grand Trinidad strives to bring together the great interest that there is in all things Cuban and a wide range of top of the range leisure. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Iberostar Trinidad

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.