We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best casa in Trinidad - charming” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hostal La Casona 254

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Trinidad
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hostal La Casona 254
Save
You added Hostal La Casona 254 to your Saves list
C/General Lino Perez (San Procopio), no 254 | E/Miguel Calzada (Borrel) y Jose Marti (Jesus Maria), Trinidad 62600, Cuba   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #75 of 247 Trinidad B&B and Inns
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Best casa in Trinidad - charming”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

You can't beat this casa. We have been to many casas and this ranks as absolutely superb.
The rooms are beautiful. The beds are comfortable. The people who run it are giving, generous and thoughtful. A bonus is that the hostess Yaime speaks some English, which can really help.
The house is in the colonial style, with high ceilings, elaborate ceiling fixtures and intricate mouldings. Very clean. Towels and soap are provided. The air conditioning is very new and silent. There is a fabulous balcony that overlooks the street, and a covered terrace where meals are served. This is a very well appointed casa. The meals - tons of food, far more than we could eat. Breakfast included an array of fresh tropical fruit, eggs - done how you want - prosciutto, cheese, bread, cake and/or muffins, cafe, with hot milk if you like, a jug of fresh juice, jam...it was overwhelming! They will serve dinner if you like, very generous portions.
The family will help you with whatever you need and are very giving of themselves.

We travelled there as two middle aged Canadians, with our two teenagers. You can not lose with this charming casa.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    7
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
2
20
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

From the moment we arrived in Trinidad, everything went superbly. Yaima and Jesus met us off the bus, with Jesus insisting he carry the suitcases. We were immediately given a welcome drink and shown our good sized room together with en-suite bathroom.

There was a large and airy balcony to sit out on, and Yaima told us a lot about what to see in Trinidad. The location was perfect being only about 100 metres from the main square which was the pick-up point for all the buses Our evening meal (optional - 10Cuc extra) was really well cooked by Yaimaris and was excellent value. Yaimaris also prepared and cooked our huge breakfast each morning. Although we went on to a fully inclusive hotel after our stay here, and had stayed in other casa particulares previously, this was the best and most varied and well prepared food we had during our whole stay in Cuba.

Yaima's daughter gave my wife a crocheted sun hat, and their whole family was exceptionnaly friendly during the whole of our stay.

When we left, Yaima had already checked our leaving arrangements (which was fortunate as they were different to the instructions from our travel agent) and Jesus again carried our suitcases to our taxi.

Really well looked after from start to finish, I cannot recommend this Casa Particularis too highly. Excellent in every way.

Room Tip: As with most Casa Particulares, there were only two rooms, each of which were excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

We stayed in "casa particulare" Casona La 254 at Calle: Lino Perez, Trinidad, Cuba for 3 nights March 2014. We had a very nice stay. Compared to even 4 star hotels, we stayed at in Cuba, this was much better. The owners of the house: Yaima and Jesus were very friendly and helpful. The room and the casa in general were nice and clean, and we had plenty of good food. We are very happy to recommend the "casa".

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnaby, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

We just returned from 3 weeks in Cuba and stayed in 7 different casas particulares. In Trinidad, we stayed with Yaima and Jesus for 4 nights and were very pleased with everything. The room was perfectly clean, the location central for exploring Trinidad and the food (3 course dinner for 10 CUCs) was the best of all 7 casas ... and served with more flare and variety as well. Breakfasts each day included fresh fruit and juice, bread with butter and honey, omelet or fried eggs, cheese, and a good-sized pot of delicious coffee with hot milk. Our farewell dinner consisted of shrimp cocktail, garlic lobster, and fresh lightly-poached papaya.

The casa was in the ideal location for watching the day to day activities of regular Cuban people ... and for star gazing from the roof (we saw the International Space Station one night at 6:58 pm).

We really connected with Yaima, Jesus and the two staff. Everyone was so thoughtful and sweet to us. Jesus arranged a taxi to and from Playa Ancon where we had a wonderful snorkeling experience, sailing out to a coral reef on a small hobie cat, then bought cold beer and icy pina coladas with a dash of cinnamon on the beach. Yaima organized a modern taxi (i.e. with A/C) for us to the Varadero airport for 30 CUCs less than we had found on our own.

There was music everywhere in Trinidad - 90% of it really good! Everywhere you look provides a colorful photo-op as well.

We were in the room backing on to the veranda - no noise problems from the street or from within the house ... or from the quietly efficient split A/C.

Decor, bed, pillow, water pressure were as good as possible given Cuban life circumstances - we were satisfied with all aspects of our stay in Casona 254 and hope to return in 2015.

Room Tip: We preferred the room adjoining the veranda (can't remember which number it was).
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014 via mobile

We spent 5 days at this wonderful family's home, 2 years ago. They were not on trip advisor at the time. Yaima and Jesus went out of their way to make us comfortable, informed and welcomed. We had enormous fresh breakfasts every day and also many tasty dinners. We respected that they utilized whatever foods were available on any particular day. The place was clean and the a/c worked well. It was close to the town square and central to everything. The bed was a little small for NA standards but we knew this was not NA but Cuba. We have been in Cuba a number of times and we would highly recommend the World Heritage town of Trinidad and this particular place to stay while there. If you are looking for a friendly authentic Cuban experience this is the place for you.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

We stayed for 3 nights in February 2014. We are both in our later sixties and had no trouble with the stairs, which are narrow, because on both arrival and departure the hostess very kindly carried all our bags up and down for us.

Rooms were spacious and comfortable, although I found the beds, like most of those we encountered in Cuba were not terribly comfortable, just like most hotels around the world.

The food was plentiful, tasty, fresh and at less than £7 for an evening meal a bargain. Food would not be one of the reasons for going to Cuba and the menus are all pretty standard, but Casona La 254 tried to vary flavours and presented some beautiful meals. Breakfast was always too much, as were all the meals, but filled with fresh ripe fruit, juices, eggs to choice, fresh bread and cakes we were well prepared for our busy days. All meals were taken on the terrace and at night you got a real flavour of the place by people-watching from there before exploring the night life, music, bars and restaurants.

Casona La 254 is only a short walk from the main square and Trinidad is a brilliant city, intimate, historic and with a great street market.

The hostess, Yaimay Jesus, spoke more than adequate English and was present all the time during our stay, the cook was excellent and the waitress/chamber maid changed our beds after two nights and supplied fresh towels. Shower was not great but then that was a general issue throughout Cuba.

I would stay there again and happily recommend it to anyone who has travelled a little in developing countries and is used to not five star services. The gripes in the first review may have been fair for a five star hotel, I just think you need to take a sense of reality with you on some holidays.

When we left our hostess accompanied us to the square to ensure that we had no trouble meeting our taxi to the Bay of Pigs.

Room Tip: Ask for the room below the terrace, no window but good AC and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

We stayed here for two nights. The owners were very welcoming and on hand to help or answer questions anytime. We didn't notice any sort of noise disturbance like the review below. We were greeted with fresh guava fruit juice (which was lovely) and offered dinner (which we accepted on the second night). We were given breakfast which was plentiful. There was a range of fruit, bread, homemade cake (which was really nice), fresh fruit juice, coffee, eggs, meat, cheese - pretty much anything you could want in a breakfast. The dinner was 3 courses and we ate on the balcony upstairs which was lovely at night (in fact, I think all the meals are served up here). We had croquettes for starter, fish, rice and salad for main, which was tasty and well cooked, and an apricot pudding. I think it was about ten pounds each which wasn't much for the amount of food we were given.
The room was clean and comfortable, with it's own bathroom. The decor was homely - it's not all white walls etc if that's what you're looking for.
The owners were really helpful when we checked out and were on hand to help us sort out our transportation and bags.
Overall, a really nice place to stay for a few days.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hostal La Casona 254? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal La Casona 254

Address: C/General Lino Perez (San Procopio), no 254 | E/Miguel Calzada (Borrel) y Jose Marti (Jesus Maria), Trinidad 62600, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Sancti Spiritus Province > Trinidad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 247 B&Bs / Inns in Trinidad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two double rooms with all necessary facilities are for rent. It also provides catering services and other complementary services. The hostel has a great location, next to Cespedes Park, in the heart of the city of Trinidad. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostal La Casona 254, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.