We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't look any further, book this casa” 5 of 5 stars
Review of A Bienvenido En El Holandes

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Trinidad
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
A Bienvenido En El Holandes
Save
You added A Bienvenido En El Holandes to your Saves list
Antonio Guiteras, 152, Trinidad 62600, Cuba   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 136 Specialty Lodging in Trinidad
Tilburg, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
116 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Don't look any further, book this casa”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

In Cuba you best stay in a casa particulares. This is far better than the hotels.
Staying with Herman and Yolande was a great experience. They are absolutely very hospitable! They have great rooms with private bathrooms. They have the best food in town! Herman is also a great guide and knows a lot of Cuba coming from his interest in history. So he can show you very interesting sites and also can arrange for many travels in Cuba, also outside Trinidad.

Room Tip: There is also a nice room on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    7
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
13
27
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria bc
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

We stay here one night but I wished we stayed another one. The place was clean although there was some ants spotted near the bed. Everything else was just perfect! We had a delicious dinner served on the terrace just beside our room and they even served us breakfast very early in the morning as we had to leave for the bus. I think that was one of the best breakfast we had in Cuba.
Thank you

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

We had a family holiday in Cuba this summer, most of which I organised from London by using Cuba Junky. I booked a selection of hotels, Casa Particulars, flights and rental cars. It was difficult logistically because none of us have very good Spanish and we were travelling as a family. In Cuba you really need good Spanish if you want to experience the real island at all, rather than just get the given tourist experience.
Hermann and Yolanda made everything easy for us. Once we arrived in Trinidad, we no longer had to arrange anything, because they arranged everything for us. It was like a holiday within a holiday. The Casa is clean and well-run but in a family kind of way: and they make you feel like you are part of their extended family, but in a non invasive way.
The food in house is great, and we could have as much or as little as we wanted, and only pay for what we ate, which after staying in a range of casas in Cuba was a real relief.
We went horse riding, scuba diving, swimming with dolphins, had quality beach time at Playa Ancon: all extremely memorable and unique experiences. Hermann drove us around in his vintage Chevvy and we knew we could rely on a comfortable return home to Trinidad in the evening. We only stayed five nights because that was all I allocated to Trinidad. We could happily have stayed longer.
I learnt a great deal about Cuban Life from talking to Hermann and Yolanda and their friends and family.

Room Tip: They hand out earplugs in case you're disturbed by bread deliveries in the morning. We never use...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aruba
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Last year we spent 4 days and wish we could have stayed longer. Trinidad and Casa El Hollandes is great. We celebrated new years eve with all the guests and family and had a blast. The way Herman and Yolanda treat their guests makes you feel you're part of the family. The house and rooms are nice and there's enough space to be on your own or be together with all the guests (having breakfast/dinner). Breakfast and dinner were both good and we liked it that there was real Dutch cheese. That's special, because it's very expensive to have it there. Don't miss the finca and the horseride! Or a ride in Herman's oldtimer. Trinidad is really nice and there's a lot to do in the area, ask Herman he knows. He also has a great knowledge and he likes to share it with you. Are you going to Trinidad? Don't miss this casa!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

We stayed at Casa El Hollandes for 3 nights and had a brilliant time. Everyone is very welcoming here. The food was great - I highly recommend the fish! The casa is only a few minutes stroll from all the sights of Trinidad. Our hosts organized a horse riding trip to the valley and a trip to the beach at Ancon which we really enjoyed. The casa is clean and our room was spacious. We would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

I spent 2 weeks with a few friends in this country and all three of us wish we had been able to spend more time in Trinidad with these wonderful people. 2 nights was not enough! All the ladies of the home were so warm and generous. Herman and Yolanda were out of town while we were there, but it didn't matter. Everyone was amazing. The food was delicious. Everyone told me i would starve, since I am a vegetarian, but these ladies cooked the best soups and bean dishes! The quiet gallop of horses down the cobblestone streets, was such a welcome relief after 5 days in Havana. We met another traveler at the casa that changed plans so he could enjoy the town and casa another night. When I return, I plan to spend more time at this partcular casa and the nearby beach. Definitely recommend!!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

This is a great place to stay, the food is amazing, (Especially the breakfast) and everyone in the house is extremely friendly. Herman and Yolanda know how to look after their guests and have great knowledge of the history and surrounding area. Herman has a lovely old 1956 American Chevy which we enjoyed on trips to the beach and other places. Our room was spacious and comfortable and we were glad of the air conditioning from time to time. If you're looking for a safe secure place in Trinidad, don't hesitate. We had a wonderful time there and hope to get back for another stay. John and Sher.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trinidad
0.0 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
0.0 mi away
Ottley's Plantation Inn
Ottley's Plantation Inn
#1 of 6 in Basseterre
4.5 of 5 stars 386 reviews
0.0 mi away
Princess Heights Hotel
Princess Heights Hotel
#2 of 7 in Oyster Pond
4.5 of 5 stars 517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
A Peace of Paradise
A Peace of Paradise
#1 of 1 in Praslin Quarter
5.0 of 5 stars 28 reviews
0.2 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad
0.0 mi away
Brisas Trinidad del Mar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Bienvenido En El Holandes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Bienvenido En El Holandes

Address: Antonio Guiteras, 152, Trinidad 62600, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Sancti Spiritus Province > Trinidad
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 136 Specialty Lodging in Trinidad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostal ¨el Holandés¨ is a Casa Particulare in Trinidad, Cuba. Trinidad is one of the most beautiful cities of Cuba and patrimonial of the Unesco.The ¨valle de los Ingenios¨ is the source of the wealth of Trinidad with once more than 60 sugarcane plantations.The ¨valle de los Ingenios¨ is still a beautiful place to be with interesting plantations in different stages of restoration, from ruins to completely renovated for the tourist trade.For unforgettable holidays hostal ¨el Holandes¨ offer:• 2 two persons bedrooms with private bathroom, 24 hour warm water, air-conditioning and nearby, 200m, from the central parque• We organize all the transport in Cuba by bus or by car. I.e. we can pick you up in Havana and organize your travel to Santiago de Cuba• The family owns a farm with cows, pigs, goats and horses in the ¨valle the los Ingenios¨ where you can take a look and enjoy yourself. From there you can go on a guided horse riding tour in the beautiful valley, to a waterfall and get a swim in the river• With a completely renovated Chevrolet 1953 we organize guided tours in the ¨valle de los Ingenios¨ to the different plantations, to the cities Cienfuegos, Santa Clara and Sancti Spiritus or to the nearby beach of Trinidad.• The Dutch owner speaks English and Spanish fluently and communicates in German and French ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage A Bienvenido En El Holandes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.