We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food and Fantastic Service !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Paladar la Marinera

Paladar la Marinera
Jovellanos 178 e/ Iglesia y Perla | Casilda, Trinidad 62600, Cuba
99 5454
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 81 Restaurants in Trinidad
Cuisines: Cuban
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Miami, Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Food and Fantastic Service !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

A delicious and well done food in a restaurant that provides an exceptional and professional service is the perfect place to enjoy a mouth watering paella ( Spanish rice ) perfectly cooked. The portions are generous and the restaurant is neat and well kept, it is run by a talented young local chef who knows the secrets of the local traditional seafood recipes.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    9
    4
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
220 helpful votes 220 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

With all the glowing reviews, I really wanted to love this place. But it was not meant to be. The setting is rustic and there is a garden out back which was very pleasant. The service was good but I felt that the food was overpriced and really not that good. I had the shrimp soup (with vermicelli, wasn’t expecting that) which was quite bland. The shrimp and rice were good, but again bland. One of our party ordered the chicken (never a good idea in a seafood restaurant) and it was tough. The worst part – the flies – the moment the food arrived we were inundated with flies. I couldn’t even finish my Sangria since there were so many flies in my drink. And the flies on the food – oh my, it was definitely a battle which makes on lose your appetite ! For what we paid, and then add the cab ride to & from Casilda, I think you can do much better in Trinidad.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“tucked away local find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

unfortunately we didn't know we had to order the famous stuffed fish (with lobster and shrimp) ahead of time, but enjoyed the consolation dishes immensely. We all ordered fish of all kinds which was presented beautifully and fresh tasting. lovely al fresco dining.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnaby
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A Savoury Diversion!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014 via mobile

On a recent group trip to Cuba, we were pleasantly surprised to visit Paladar la Marinera off the beaten track in Trinidad. Our lunch was impeccably prepared from start to finish, especially our salad with fresh ingredients from the on-site garden and seafood cooked to perfection. This experience is one of my favorite memories of a week long visit to Cuba. A location not to be missed!!!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Incredible food and very fresh salads...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

We had previously been informed about La Marinera outside of Trinidad. It is well worth the drive! Our group of 25 arrived in mid-afternoon and were greeted by the friendly staff. Our table had been prepared and we sipped on a rum drink from a fresh coconut while awaiting the waiter to take our orders. The choice was pork, fish, shrimp or lobster tail. I think 17 of us chose the fresh lobster! Our drink orders were taken and promptly delivered. A very fresh salad accompanied the meal with ingredients from their garden. The lobster was excellent!!! We finished the meal with an extremely tasty fruit cocktail and coffee. Would we recommend this place? Definitely!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Paladar la Marinera also viewed

Trinidad, Sancti Spiritus Province
Trinidad, Sancti Spiritus Province
 
Trinidad, Sancti Spiritus Province
Trinidad, Sancti Spiritus Province
 

Been to Paladar la Marinera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paladar la Marinera, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.