We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Should have stayed two weeks” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Brisas Trinidad del Mar

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Trinidad
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Brisas Trinidad del Mar
Save
You added Brisas Trinidad del Mar to your Saves list
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Peninsula Ancon, Trinidad, Cuba   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Trinidad
Laval, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Should have stayed two weeks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

Choosing a four-star resort in Cuba is the thing to do. The hotel and the lot are kept at the best possible. This means that there will be some repairs to be done here and there. Small things. My room was clean, had a good size, location and comfort (6201). Yes, the water pressure is poor in the shower. But never missed hot water. It is a beau-ti-ful location, between ocean and mountains. The staff members are pleasant people, for the most. Douglas, the animator, is one of the nicest staff member. Available to help and guide. Will gather people for a night out in Trinidad. A very good dance teacher too! The dinning room is of average quality but the staff make it stand out: they give little gifts to their guests. Good idea to get tips, but I see it as a sweet token of their appreciation of their guests. The evening activities are quite the same as in other resorts but the artists are very good. I would eventually go back to this resort. But so many places to visit!

Room Tip: The A la carte restaurant was closed due to the small number of guests. I did not get to go on the e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

882 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    272
    261
    157
    110
See reviews for
162
385
38
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012 via mobile

A truly awful hotel. On the surface it looks fine, but we were counting down the minutes till we could leave. The staff attitude was terrible. We spent 15 minutes when we arrived waiting in reception till we were acknowledged by a staff member. There were a couple of staff having a chat that did nothing to help reduce the queue of people waiting to check in. Like a lot of hotels in Cuba you cant check in until after 4pm so we had to waste time waiting for the room to be cleaned. The shop member of staff walked off to have a chat to her friend when we approached the counter to pay. The snack bar staff member threw the food we ordered down on the table. All of the staff looked like they could not be bothered when you asked them for anything (except one chap in the restaurant who was really friendly). The standard of hygiene was astonishing. I saw in the snack bar the staff member handle raw meat then bread and salad without washing his hands. The counter top was filthy. The floor of the buffet restaurant was filthy and full of flies all over the food. The resort was full of stray cats. The room was ok, but no hot water throughout our stay. I mentioned to the receptionist that I had read reviews about this on trip advisor and nothing had been done to sort it. She said it was a 'technical problem' and had only been an issue for a couple of days. The aircon made a lot of noise but did little. The water pressure was so low that no water would flow out of the shower head in any more than a trickle. On a positive note, the beach was incredible. It was easy to get on to hopper bus into Trinidad - although it was very poorly signposted where we were dropped off into the central square . I would recommend visiting a part of a organised tour group.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

We had three nights at the Brisas in Trinidad. Great location with pool and beach. Choice of restoraunts with plentiful good fresh food. Built in the style of Old Trinidad so quaint and sympathetic in its design.
Staff were delightful and rooms were lovely. We celebrated our 25th wedding anniversary in the a la Carte Restoraunt where we had great service.
Only issue is the low water pressure and lack of hot water at "rush hour".
We would go back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

Great location on the beach and a cheap taxi ride to Trinidad. Cleanliness is very poor both around the resort and in the rooms. Breakfast & dinner buffet was terrible and the quality of thre drinks was poor. The resort is very poor maintained which is a pity.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012 via mobile

This hotel managed to be the worst hotel I've ever stayed at, and I already slept in asian hostels for 5$/night. The latter lacked a proper bed but at least you paid what you get and didnt pay 4* and got -4*.
Everything started when we arrived and out of the three rooms we had, two (!) had broken toilets (the pulling thread with which you can flush was ripped off) and a dead wesp lied on the floor. After twenty minutes in the hotel, the water of the whole hotel stopped running which led to funny encounters on the hallway of many people full of soap wrapped into their towels. The rooms are shabby and seem to be quite run down, which is rather an achievement if one considers the actually modest age of the hotel. The real fun part is yet to be mentioned though: the shower had no warm water in one room, while the cold water came out of the sink tap, and when you try to use the bathtub tap instead of the shower head, everything splashed around as obviously a pipe is broken. The hotel kindly repaired the shower after two days (!) however, hot water was still not available.
Im sure it wont surprise you to hear, that the food was of low quality and very blant. 
I know this reads like it is too bad to be true, but I promise, it is what we experienced (or rather "lived through"). The 4* the hotel got from the (governmental) rating agency are  nothing but a bad joke.
To sum things up allow me to quote a desperate employee trying to fix the aformentioned toilet flush:
"Ayyy Cuba!"
Ps: one reviewer lauded the minibar and the quick response of the reception. First, our minibar had been removed. Second: our phone had no wire. Maybe thats the cuban interpretation of wireless...

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

We began our holiday in Havana and were advised to take a trip to both Cienfeugos and Trinidad. The hotel we wanted to stay at in Trinidad was full so we had to book this resort. This has to be the most disgusting place I have ever stayed at in my life. The rooms were dirty and the hotel very rundown (despite it only opening in 2007). On the night we were there, the a la carte restaurants were closed (the lady at the front desk was unable to tell us why) so we attempted to eat in the buffet. I say attempted as the buffet items were covered in flies. One of our waitresses also tried to sell us cigars whilst serving us. I have also been covered in bites since leaving. I am sure the place would be shut down if visited by a health inspector.

Room Tip: I wouldn't even leave a dog here for the night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arad, Israel
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

Stayed here one night (alas) on a group tour of Cuba, arriving from Camaguey. What a difference!
This is an "all inclusive" resort and a good one , certainly by Cuban standards.
The rooms are big and spacious, the open spaces well maintained and nice, the dining room with a reasonable choice of food.
The beach and the sea were fabulous, with clear turquoise water and white sand.
Certainly one of the highlights of our tour.
Warmly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Brisas Trinidad del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brisas Trinidad del Mar

Address: Peninsula Ancon, Trinidad, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Sancti Spiritus Province > Trinidad
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Trinidad
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Brisas Trinidad del Mar 3.5*
Number of rooms: 241
Also Known As:
Brisas Trinidad Del Mar Hotel Trinidad
Brisas Hotel Trinidad
Brisas Resort All Inclusive Trinidad

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brisas Trinidad del Mar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.