We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful situated...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Los Helechos

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Trinidad
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Los Helechos
Save
You added Hotel Los Helechos to your Saves list
Topes de Collantes, Sancti Spiritus, Cuba | Sancti Spíritus, Trinidad 62600, Cuba   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Trinidad
Havana, Cuba
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Beautiful situated...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

The Los Helechos Hotel is a 70ies, somehow East German style hotel in a beautiful mountainous surrounding which lowers the somewhat cold feeling the architecture breathes. However, the rooms are quiet and vary spacious. As in many other places (warm) water is only available during certain hours (from 7am in the morning).

The garden and the surrounding mountains are beautiful. In March the weather is cooler then in Trinidad (you need a sweater in the morning and evening) which can be very pleasant and could be an alternative to a noisy Trinidad hotel.

The food is ok (buffet) according to Cuban standards, service staff not super friendly but attentive and fast. Understandable as the hotel is a place for many groups and not particularly for individual travelers.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    20
    49
    22
    6
See reviews for
10
54
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here one night as part of the topes overnight tour. Arrived in the evening, check in was easy and we received a free welcome drink.
One thing not to miss was the bowling alley. The rest of our tour went to bed early to rest for the next day, but took our tour guide out to the bowling alley which is on site and played. It was one of the hi lights of my whole Cuban trip. All the locals hang out there, bowl and play ping pong. Bowling was 1 peso/person/round I believe. So much fun.
The room had two double beds which we pushed together, a leaky toilet in the bathroom and wicker furniture. Nothing special, but sufficient to stay the night in.
Breakfast buffet was basic, but good.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montrea
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014 via mobile

stayed here for our excursion Topes overnight. the trip included travel to and from cayo santa maria, visited trinidad and topes all for 99$. did not expect much but i was impresses. though very very simple, it was very clean. spotless. the bathrooms seemed redone and comfortable. good for 1 night stay. breakfast buffet was mediocre but for the price, cant complain! would go again.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
170 helpful votes 170 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

We stayed at this hotel on an overnight excursion from Havana to Trinidad and other cities.
It served its purpose, but I would have preferred staying closer to Trinidad. The hotel was OK, serving the purpose of hosting guests for one night only. The room was clean, beds good, bathroom newly renovated. But the bathroom came with no shampoo, no floor carpet. Just the basics.
The food in the restaurant was edible but really not very good, leftovers from previous dinner were seen back on the breakfast buffet.
But I guess, if you are on an organised tour, it is OK, as the "russian truck to the national park" excursions start from here, as do the more recent hiking or biking tours.

There is only one computer with internet access in the lobby (no wifi), and the computer is most often booked, and costs money yo use.

Note that this hotel is in the mountains, quite far away from Trinidad. In other words, if on an overnight tour, you will not be able to see Trindad in the evening. On the other hand, as the hotel is at around 700 or 800 m altitude, nights are relatively cool, and off the hot summer season, you will not need the air-conditioning (a separate unit in the windows).


For being in Cuba, OK - otherwise, I would not have given it more than 2 stars

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

This is for a one night stop when doing an over night trip to Trinidad. Clean and food was good. ventilation in room worked. Interesting stay it felt like a hotel in the Soviet block in the 1970s so interesting for this alone. Nice people. Really interesting trip to mountains/waterfalls on russian trucks.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

This is one of the best hotels we've had in Cuba. The rooms were renovated, with a small but nice and clean bathroom. The restaurant is quite good, and the best we've had in the government owned hotels. It is on walking distance of the fantastic city of Trinidad, therefore you can easily go into the city during the night.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

This is the best place to stay in the Tropes de Collantes national park but it has its limitations.
We stayed 2 nights in one of the 'bungalows', in a chalet complex reminiscent of Butlins at its best. The architecture is as curious as described elsewhere and as well maintained (March 2013) as possible in a sub-tropical climate. Occasional insects must be expected to wander indoors when surrounded by such lush vegetation; what do people expect? Aseptic clinical areas prepped for surgery?
Our room was cleaned immaculately by 'Baby' who left wonderful entertaining sculptures of towels and blankets, using flowers for eyes. The shower is the most powerful in Cuba and better than most Brits are used to at home. Exposed wiring is par for the course in much of rural Cuba.
The buffet dining area took the Butlins theme to a new level of realism, day 1 was grim and soggy and prepared by unseen hands who never showed their faces in the dining area, and with waiting staff to match, led by Rosa Klebb. Day 2 however, was much better with the chefs & kitchen crew proudly standing in a row, either to accept responsibility or to prove that they were a different lot from those on day1, and with polite and attentive waiting staff.
There is a swimming pool we didn't try, with a mobile disco the day we passed it, children's activities we're too old for, and organised excursions we didn't need. The nearby visitor centre has very helpful staff who will explain walking routes to local attractions. Visiting Tropes de Collantes without walking to the waterfalls and swimming there would be a foolish wasted opportunity.
There are other hotels in the complex, but only 2 open to international visitors.
We wish we'd stayed longer for the fabulous walks and waterfalls in the area and we will return on a future Cuba trip.

Room Tip: The bungalow chalets are fine, we cannot comment on the main building. Do walk to the waterfalls, d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Los Helechos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Los Helechos

Address: Topes de Collantes, Sancti Spiritus, Cuba | Sancti Spíritus, Trinidad 62600, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Sancti Spiritus Province > Trinidad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Trinidad
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Los Helechos (The Ferns Hotel) Complex offers hosting services, buffet or a la carte diners, snacks, national and international drinks. The resort is located and runs a protected area, with management category of Protected Natural Landscape. In its public use areas programs of Specialized Tourism or Nature Tourism are developed, extra-hotel services are structured in six Natural Parks with their respective gastronomic services, one of them on a cay just 12 nautical miles from the Ancon Peninsula and the rest in the mountains. This site is located 800 meters above sea level and is an ideal heaven for singles, couples and families that love nature. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Los Helechos Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Los Helechos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.