We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One night stay during a tour” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Los Helechos

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Trinidad
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Los Helechos
Save
You added Hotel Los Helechos to your Saves list
Topes de Collantes, Sancti Spiritus, Cuba | Sancti Spíritus, Trinidad 62600, Cuba   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Trinidad
Saskatoon, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“One night stay during a tour”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012

We stayed here on an overnight trip with a group for a hiking tour in the mountains. The staff were very welcoming, the food was good, rooms were clean and showers were hot. I would have loved to have stayed to get to know the area better. I've seen complaints on here that there were dead flies/mosquitos, beds are clammy, rooms are damp..... you're on a mountain in the rainforest, be realistic! We loved it and wouldn't have any problem going again or staying longer!!!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    20
    49
    22
    6
See reviews for
10
54
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

I stayed here during an overnight trip with a tour group for hiking.

pros: friendly staff & nice surprise from housekeeper with sense of humour. Good for nature loving couple as it is in the middle of the woods in the mountains.

cons:Ice cold showers, dead flies/mosquitos everywhere
blood stains on bed sheets, jammed door (hard to open)

I will not come back, ever.

"just one night"
is a what helped me make it through the night.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2011

Nothing wrong with the Hotel. Clean, very good showers etc and food perfectly adequate. I would have no problems with staying there in the future. Go for it!!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

We stayed at this hotel overnight as part of an excursion which was fine as we could enjoy the romance of the adventure, the doors were old and creaky and the rooms were basic where nothing worked, but the maid had tried hard, it was clean and she'd made towel sculptures.The other staff werent particularly friendly and the buffet was pretty awful, but the soup and pasta was tasty. The hotel is very run down and completely over run with mosquitoes. The pillows hurt your neck, but it was fun to explore iits run down buildings. There was loud talking and chattering coming from the floor above us...except it was a one story building with no floor above us....creepy.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glossop, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

This hotel is in a stunning location, high on the hills in the forest above Trinidad. We stayed here on the Santa Clara, Trinidad, Forest Trek excursion from Varedero. There is not actually anything really wrong with the hotel, just also there is not alot right. It is basic, clean, the beds are comfortable, and the resturant food is edible. It is fine for a 1 or 2 night stay in the woods, so dont worry about staying here. Probably what makes it feel worse is that for most people you stay here after staying for at least a few nights in Varadero, so it feels like a bit of a let down, when actually viewed in its own right it is a basic, ok hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath UK
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2010

The room ladies certainly make a big effort with the bed covers and towels to make the rooms look nice and different with swans, babies and putting a blanket inside my nighty to look like someone lying on top of the bed. The rooms in the main hotel building had balconies but noise from what looked like holiday camp blocks went on late into the night. There is an indoor large swimming pool with loud music and the restaurant was quite good with plenty of choice - one of the best in my 2 weeks in Cuba.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2010

I stayed at Los Helechos as part of a two-day Cienfuegos-Trinidad-Topes des Collantes tour we booked through our resort in Varadero. I should add, the tour was a lovely two days even for a person like me, who doesn't usually do so well on structured tours!

Overall, the hotel was quite adequate. The staff were helpful and efficient. Unlike Varadero where most people speak some English, a little Spanish does come in handy out here though. Our room was clean and smelled of fresh mountain air and pines. Everything worked as it should. The buffet supper was limited in choices compared to the mega-resorts of Varadero, but very tasty and quite Cuban (yummy cream cheese soup, roast pork and chicken, yucca, plantains, rice and beans). The omlette station was closed the next morning, but the breakfast buffet was certainly adequate to get us ready for a day of hiking in the mountains.

The whole experiece of staying at the mostly empty and somewhat isolated Los Helechos was a little surreal, although not at all unpleasant. As a homebase for exploring the mountains, Los Helechos was perfectly acceptable.

  • Stayed February 2010
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Los Helechos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Los Helechos

Address: Topes de Collantes, Sancti Spiritus, Cuba | Sancti Spíritus, Trinidad 62600, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Sancti Spiritus Province > Trinidad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Trinidad
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Los Helechos (The Ferns Hotel) Complex offers hosting services, buffet or a la carte diners, snacks, national and international drinks. The resort is located and runs a protected area, with management category of Protected Natural Landscape. In its public use areas programs of Specialized Tourism or Nature Tourism are developed, extra-hotel services are structured in six Natural Parks with their respective gastronomic services, one of them on a cay just 12 nautical miles from the Ancon Peninsula and the rest in the mountains. This site is located 800 meters above sea level and is an ideal heaven for singles, couples and families that love nature. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Los Helechos Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Los Helechos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.