We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very inviting restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurante Museo 1514

Restaurante Museo 1514
Simon Bolivar #515 e/ Juan Manuel Marquez y Fernando Hernandez Echerri, Trinidad, Cuba
+5341994255
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 87 Restaurants in Trinidad
Cuisines: Caribbean, Cuban
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Trinidad
Level Contributor
79 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“very inviting restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

we asked several people in Trinidad to recommend a good restaurant with delicious food where we could hear live music. the answer was always the same - 1514.
we were not disappointed!
From the moment we entered, we wanted to stay there and in fact we stayed for a number of hours enjoying the attentive service, delicious food and excellent entertainment, which alternated between romantic ballads and rythmic trova.
absolutely a gen in Trinidad!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    128
    40
    10
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beware!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Wonderful on the exterior - you are enticed in by Cesar, the Patron/smooth talker doorman, call him what you will. If you are dressed the way he thinks will enhance his dining room or if you look rich enough he will probably offer you a drink 'on him' at the bar whilst he decides where he will allow you to sit and/or grace his restaurant or not. The restaurant inside is eclectic and full of the usual variety of china and glass that you get used to seeing. The food is revolting and beware of his drink prices..we ordered a bottle of the normal Vin y Sol that we had been drinking everywhere for 12 pesos...when our bill cam he charged us 36 pesos plus the cost of the 'free' drink earlier!! Go to Sol y Sun in Trindad, the food is amazing, ambience so much better and staff charming and prices about half.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilperton, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great decor and tableware, poor food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

The quality of food did not match the venue, prawn cocktail served with worringly warm prawns, no lettuce and tasteless dressing. Don't have the pork with parmeasan as there was not a hint of cheese on it (pork covered in warm mayonnaise.) very dissapointing especially if you are visiting for the food.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Looked good but disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Looked stylish and the waiters were very attentive. The food though was on the expensive side on the lobster wasn't the freshest. We were also ripped off on drinks, paying 20 CUC's for 4 shots of rum that cost 7.6 CUC's elsewhere.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Fascinating Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Full of antiques! We didn't have a huge meal here as one of us was only able to stomach chicken soup! The location is lovely though. Bit pricey. Staff friendly.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante Museo 1514 also viewed

Trinidad, Sancti Spiritus Province
Trinidad, Sancti Spiritus Province
 
Trinidad, Sancti Spiritus Province
Trinidad, Sancti Spiritus Province
 

Been to Restaurante Museo 1514? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurante Museo 1514, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.