We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great chat with owner about all things Cuba” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wakey Wakey & Shakey Shakey

Wakey Wakey & Shakey Shakey
Jesus menendez 205, Trinidad 62600, Cuba
+53 52743520
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 81 Restaurants in Trinidad
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Cuban
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Walkerville, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great chat with owner about all things Cuba”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Great food and music and our best and most insightful discussion for the whole trip. This is a brilliant place

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    26
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nis, Serbia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant with very frendly owners”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

The restaurant is nice, the interior is relative small and nothing fancy, but what is best in this restaurant is food, prices and most important extremely good service. They try hard to make you pleasant meal and we felt like we were their guest in their house, having a little chat, getting the complementary cigar at the end. Also think that we get a coffee at the end for free but not sure. They definitely know how to leads a restaurant. We were relaxed and really enjoy the dinner. I recommend this place as relative cheep, with good food, and relaxing atmosphere.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best dining experience in Trinidad!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

Read reviews and wanted to check it out and was the best thing we did! My boyfriend had an upset stomach and didn't eat much (I however had the best chicken dish and now understand what Cuban food is about)
The staff went beyond their duties, giving him herbal tea (which we didn't think of with it being so hot) and even gave us some to take to our casa along with some local cigars. All for free!
Was so awesome that they cared and were all so lovely and the singer just added to the overall great night. Please go!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best Food and Fun in Trinidad.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

We ate here twice out of our 3 nights in Trinidad. Probably the 2 best meals we had in Cuba in 16 nights. I had house special chicken first night and grilled prawns the second. Both excellent. My wife had lobster both nights which was really beautiful. Great value as price includes lovely fresh salad to start and desert. Had a fantastic time here with El Chino and his lovely wife. Best Mojito in Trinidad if not Cuba here too. Great atmosphere in a great setting which was helped by a wonderful young troubadour who sang beautifully. All in all, a wonderful experience. Thanks. Be sure and visit if in amazing Trinidad.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zürich, Zurich, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Come in here, dear boy, have a cigar. You're gonna go far....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

With so many touts on the street and over priced places to eat in Trindad this shines out.

It is no hassle owner operated (the guy who speaks great English) and great value. You can order to your mood/budget with more expensive food (lobster) and quick cheap options (omelet/sandwich). Again all great value, no hassle and top notch quality.

There was someone playing great music for tips when we visited and found free wine thrown in with more expensive items we ordered and on repeat business a few rum drinks came complimentary.

Plus, a cigar came often with the bill. Great Cuban food, great Cuban hospitality.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wakey Wakey & Shakey Shakey also viewed

Trinidad, Sancti Spiritus Province
Trinidad, Sancti Spiritus Province
 
Trinidad, Sancti Spiritus Province
Trinidad, Sancti Spiritus Province
 

Been to Wakey Wakey & Shakey Shakey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wakey Wakey & Shakey Shakey, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.