We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“public beach with beach bar” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ancon Beach

Ancon Beach
Peninsula Ancon | hotel Brisas, Hotel Ancon Hotel club amigo, Trinidad, Cuba
Improve this listing
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“public beach with beach bar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

enjoyed our afternoon immensely. whats not to enjoy on a chair, under the palms, with a cool refreshing drink a few steps away, warm calm aqua blue water.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,167 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    495
    463
    179
    26
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
SF, CA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Nice Beach not best in Cuba”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

We spent a few days in Trinidad and went to Playa Ancon. Nice long beach, some parts are better than other. I bring food with you in case no one selling food. We took the bus from central trinidad for $2 roundtrip about 20 minutes each way. First day we couldn't find anyone selling food so we walked the whoke beach and found a paladar. Second day there was a few people selling personal size pizza $2 each and fresh coconut juice $2. Bus run 9:30 and 11 to Playa Ancon and coming back from playa 3:30 and 6 to Trinidad. Definitely visit if you're in Trinidad for a few days.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
153 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Nice beach if you have a spare day in Trinidad”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

We had a free day between trips and fancied a relaxing trip to the beach. Dead easy to get to from trinidad - $8 each way in a taxi from the centre and I believe you can get there more cheaply by bus if you want. Nice Caribbean beach with cabanas and palm trees providing shade on the beach. Sun beds available for rent from hotel ancon too and the beach bar next to the car park does some good lunches. In fact the fresh grilled prawns we had were some of the best things we ate while in Cuba. Burgers, sandwiches, beers and cocktails all at very reasonable prices. We just sat and read between swimming but there are various water related options such as snorkeling if you want.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best Day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

Took the 9am bus and was at the beach by about 9:30.
Pretty quiet so got a great spot with chais loungers ($2 ea).
Was drinking coco-locos by 10:30! Freshly harvested and lots of rum ($3). Ate at the little snack bar. Typical Cuban sandwiches and such. Beach is FANTASTIC! Guard patrols constantly.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
62 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Lovely Snorkelling”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

Our cycle tour of Western Cuba stopped here for an day. It was a wonderful way to break up the trip and a very enjoyable beach. I took the catamaran out to the reef $10 CUC for a 1.5 hour trip. The guide threw bread in the water to attract the fish and it was like swimming in an aquarium. My wife and I enjoyed the water and sunning, taking refuge under a thatched roof. There is plenty of staff to come and bring you a snack or a cool drink from the hotel.

I'd recommend this beach; it is of high quality and close to Trinidad.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ancon Beach also viewed

Trinidad, Sancti Spiritus Province
Trinidad, Sancti Spiritus Province
 
Trinidad, Sancti Spiritus Province
Trinidad, Sancti Spiritus Province
 

Been to Ancon Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ancon Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.