We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ancon - Off season” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ancon Beach

Ancon Beach
Peninsula Ancon | hotel Brisas, Hotel Ancon Hotel club amigo, Trinidad, Cuba
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 14 Attractions in Trinidad
Type: Beaches, Outdoors
Attraction details
New Brunswick, Canada
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
“Ancon - Off season”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Travelled during low season. Plenty of palapas and beach chairs available. It rained hard every night so the water was stirred up so you couldn't see the bottom or tiny jellyfish that stung. Very nice stretch of white sand beach. Food and drink facilities are quite good. Toilet facilities are not sufficient to accommodate beach guests who are not resort guests. Well worth paying $2CUC to access Club Amigo Ancon's palapas and beach chairs and banos.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

779 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    341
    301
    115
    19
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
218 reviews 218 reviews
49 attraction reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
226 helpful votes 226 helpful votes
“Great way to spend a day, nailing cocktails and chilling out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

We cycled down here from Trinidad because LP said that it wasn't that long. Can I STRONGLY recommend that you thoroughly inspect the bikes in advance. Once you arrive there's places for you to lock your bikes and there is a guy who keeps an eye on them (for a fee).

Ancon beach is pretty and worth the journey especially if you want the opportunity to swim in the Caribbean Sea and this is your only chance while in Cuba. The water is warm and very clear. It's really nice to swim in and I did go in quite a few times without the desire to leave. You can also rent boats to paddle around - these were quite popular.

It's a fantastic way to spend a day. Lying on the beach, buying drinks at the bar (beer, cocktails, soft drinks), reading a book and listening to guys walking laps up and down the beach trying to extract 1CUC from you for doughy (but not bad) mini pizzas.

There are taxis here which can take you back to Trinidad too if you need it (read: our bikes were super uncomfortable so we stuffed them in the trunk.)

Note: you need to get cash out before you come here. There is a hotel nearby but I don't know if they have cash machines or not.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“amazing beach!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Go to the free public section of this beach between the two resorts, if you don't mind no changing rooms and bathrooms (you'd have to walk to the resorts for his and we have not tried that). This is the beach for the Cubans who take the family to the beach for a day. The beach is pristine, white sand, quiet on week days, a stand for drinks and food, beach chairs and catamarans for rent. Lovely!!!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We stayed here while visiting Trinidad for 5 days. The beach was excellent and very safe for the kids. We stayed at Club Amigo Ancon, which was not excellent, but we still enjoyed ourselves. Try Club Breezes instead.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful Beach, but watch out for jellies in July”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

This huge beach is really scenic and a wonderful place to spend the day. We cycled from Trinidad (32km return) which was crazy hot and we were exhausted after so I'd do this in cooler months only and should be reasonably fit. The water wasn't as clear as Cuba's northern beaches, there's a fair bit of weeds once you wade out from the first 20-30 feet of sand. When I snorkelled from the beach out about 300 yards, I found a huge swarm of Medusa Jellies (which burn and hurt, but aren't lethal as far as I know). There were many people with burns along the beach and a couple next to us swam in and were also burned by what must have been a jelly. I'd just swim to cool off and get out quickly, perhaps with long sleeve quick dry. Though a lot of people did seem to be swimming without incident.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ancon Beach also viewed

Trinidad, Sancti Spiritus Province
Trinidad, Sancti Spiritus Province
 
Trinidad, Sancti Spiritus Province
Vinales, Pinar del Rio Province
 

Been to Ancon Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ancon Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.