We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A short stay, but an excellent one” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Mirelis

Casa Mirelis
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Trinidad
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa Mirelis
Save
You added Casa Mirelis to your Saves list
Calle Colon 355, Trinidad, Cuba   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #82 of 230 Trinidad B&B and Inns
Cairo, Egypt
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A short stay, but an excellent one”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

We were only there for one day in december, but it was a very good experience. We arrived from a long trip from Santiago De Cuba late at night, but were shown our appartment by Mirelis. She is very friendly, and the appartment has almost everything you need. A nice beedroom with both a double bed and a single bed and aircondition, a good bathroom and a kitchen/living area with a fridge. Everything is clen and in good shape. We got a very good breakfast served at the rooftop of the appartment, and it was a joy looking over Trinidad, and the breakfast was very good. A short stay, but it was absolutely an excellent one. Would recommend Casa Mirelis to anyone coming to Trinidad.

Room Tip: There is just one room, and it is very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    2
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
4
9
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
217 reviews 217 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
226 helpful votes 226 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

This casa was recommended to us by a family with whom we stayed in Havana. We were told that they were a well-known casa in Trinidad. Casa Mirelis even knew of a taxi that would drive us from Havana to Trinidad - if you can get this I strongly recommend it as it is a long drive and it was a modern, comfortable car.

The house is located on Colon which is a good street that cuts through a lot of the main streets in Trinidad. It's also not a very big city so you'll be fine walking around especially from this location. It is very close to the Plaza Mayor, bars, restaurants etc.

Our room was very large with two large beds, a very good bathroom and a fully-functioning air conditioning unit. We were in the upstairs bedroom, there are two rooms and if you want a room with living room table directly in front of your room then ask for the downstairs bedroom.

The breakfast here was very good in a charming setting. There is an upstairs roof terrace complete with lush green vine sheltering you from the direct sun, other palms, plants and flowers surrounding you. There is also colonial style metal furniture and a water feature. The breakfast was typical Cuban breakfast with eggs, fruit, juice, bread, honey/jams, coffee etc. There is a lot of it too and the hosts are very generous with the portions.

The host Mirelis and her husband run the place. They are very kind and, if you speak Spanish or a little bit, they are more than happy to talk to you. They are also very good with providing directions and they also recommended the place eventually stayed in when we moved to Cienfuegos.

I would happily stay here again and recommend it heartily to anyone who is in Trinidad. If you have not stayed in a casa before, then I highly recommend starting with this one. It's a great place.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armstrong, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

I have stayed at Casa Mirelis 2 or 3 times a year for the last 4 years so obviously I love it! It has a great location close to all the music venues and also close to the tourist markets and central shops. The house is very old and unique with lovely antique furniture, paintings and fixtures. I have also enjoyed some great meals on the terrace where one has a good view of the city. The rooms are large and private, with good bathroom facilities. I highly recommend this as the best private accomodations in Trinidad.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights, in the very large bedroom upstairs. Everything was newly painted and spotlessly clean. Best shower we have had in Cuba!
There is a living room and 'kitchen' (no cooking equipment, but with fridge and sink) downstairs. The casa has a beautiful roof terrace with rocking chairs, lots of plants and ocean views!
The family was very friendly and helpful. Good food as well.
The location is perfect for going out in the evening and exploring the town. There is a possibility to park the car in an enclosed area at one of the neighbours for a small fee.

Room Tip: There are two rooms, one is downstairs which sleeps 3, the other one is upstairs and sleeps 4.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012

That's not our first time in Trinidad and we still love this city. This casa is well located, close to all Trinidad night life and at the same time in a very quiet street. The terrace is very relaxing, vegetation roof, nice view of the city. The owners are nice people and are always happy to answer whatever question. Clean room, quiet and big enough. The house is independant from the owner's house, you fill at home. Breakfast and diner in the terrace are peacefull moments.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Mirelis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Mirelis

Address: Calle Colon 355, Trinidad, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Sancti Spiritus Province > Trinidad
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 230 B&Bs / Inns in Trinidad
Number of rooms: 2

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Mirelis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.