We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Laura y Ruben

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Trinidad
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa Laura y Ruben
Save
You added Casa Laura y Ruben to your Saves list
Calle Ciro Redondo (San Jose) #279 | Esquina Juan Manuel Marquez (Amargura), Trinidad 62600, Cuba   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 234 Trinidad B&B and Inns
Bath, UK
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

We also wanted to stay longer! Probably our favourite casa. Very welcoming hosts who went out of their way to be helpful. The casa is in a superb location - central but in a quiet street with a fantastic view from the rooftop seating area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    11
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
39
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

I initially stayed for one night on a recommendation. However, I liked it so much I went back and stayed for a further three nights. Beautiful, bright colourfully decorated rooms with an equally beautiful terrace and garden. Very relaxing. Laura and Ruben made me feel very welcome and nothing was too much trouble for them from a bus station pick up to beach bus times and bike hire. Laura speaks some English but I do not speak any Spanish however, I managed to converse with her like an old friend! During my time in Cuba this was by far the best Casa I stayed in ( thank you Jorge & Alicia or the recommendation). Breakfast was a feast & served in the garden. Great location too 5 minutes walk to Casa Musica and the cave. I would highly recommend it. A haven of calm and tranquillity in Trinidad.

Room Tip: The room next to the kitchen is lovely with it's own small private hallway. The bathroom is of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

My partner and I spent four nights at Ruben and Laura's casa particular - one of the most enjoyable stays of our 18 days in Cuba.

A beautiful casa - with an amazing terraced courtyard featuring towering mature mango trees - Ruben and his family were amazing hosts: friendly and helpful, but also relaxed and not at all pushy (as we found some other hosts at times).

The room was bright, clean and cosy - and whilst this section of the house had been extended and built during the previous decade, it retains and features signature aspects of trinidadian architecture (there's a cool architectural museum in town, highlighting the town's signature roof constructions etc) but in a manner fresh and contemporary.

Every meal was a treat - and whilst the standard casa dinner menu (pollo;cerdo;langosta; pescado) was on offer, guests were able to select from a number of styles of meal for each choice and these were unfalteringly delivered with aplomb. Yum! Delicious fresh mango juice too.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williams Lake, B.C.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

My husband and I spent three restful nights at Laura and Ruben's Casa. Although we arrived late in the evening Laura immediately asked if fresh shrimp would be alright for dinner and Ruben quickly mixed us a mojito;they served us in their lovely garden. Our room was clean and comfy and they had a menu that listed all the meals, refreshments, as well as the price of their efficient and appreeciated laundry services. Although our spanish is very limited they both made an effort to communicate with us; we learnt that they both have degrees in architecture, hence the lovely casa. Trinidad is seeped in history and we loved strolling the streets and spending a day at Ancon Beach, which is a short and inexpensive taxi ride away with beautiful snorkelling and scuba diving.

Room Tip: We stayed upstairs which was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laura a, Propietario at Casa Laura y Ruben, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Google Translation
Muchas gracias por su opinión amigos, que bueno que les haya gustado tanto estar en nuestra casa, esperamos verlos nuevamente. Saludos Laura y Ruben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We got the chance to stay for 2 nights at Ruben and Laura. Ruben was super nice to come and pick us up from the bus stop where you might be hassled a bit otherwise since the competition is fierce in Trinidad. They had a beautiful room for us on the first floor looking a nice scenery, the toilet was new and working. The casa were nicely located a block away from the church tower and in the center of Trinidad. We had a friendly dog to be our own pet while there, Ruben little dog was so sweet! The breakfast was awesome, the fresh fruits, fried eggs and delicious Cuban coffee and my favorite the peanut butter, it was delicious. Ruben said they come from Santa Clara oh and the cakes for breakfast, seriously we were so well treated. the streets nearby are quiet and you can find everything and go out at night easily. We felt like staying at our family! Thank you and we hope to visit Trinidad again one day.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laura a, Propietario at Casa Laura y Ruben, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Google Translation
Gracias, es un placer que se hayan sentido bien en casa, esperamos verlos nuevamente. Laura y Ruben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

just spent 4 nights in casa laura ruben. It was really good, room and bathroom excellent, clean and modern. Food, breakfast and dinner was the best we had in Cuba.. We had room upstairs near the terrace where we enjoyed wonderful views of the red roofs of Trinidad and the mountains beyond... They also know how to make good cocktails.. hated leaving. Joan and Mary

Room Tip: room near the terrace upstairs has two windows.... lovely breeze and views
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laura a, Propietario at Casa Laura y Ruben, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Google Translation
Gracias por su opinión, fue un placer recibirlos y compartir con ustedes. Laura y Ruben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

We had two wonderful days at the casa of Laura and Ruben. The couple lovingly furnished their house and garden. And don't miss the tasty shrimps, starters and breakfast!
Laura also helped us to plan our journey and gave us a recommendation for further accomodation.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Laura y Ruben? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Laura y Ruben

Address: Calle Ciro Redondo (San Jose) #279 | Esquina Juan Manuel Marquez (Amargura), Trinidad 62600, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Sancti Spiritus Province > Trinidad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 234 B&Bs / Inns in Trinidad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our house is located in the historic center of Trinidad at only three minutes from the Plaza Mayor. Our house has three air-conditioned rooms with private bathroom. We are two architects who built our house upon the remains of walls and foundations of an old building of the eighteenth century. We offer breakfast and dinners, also cocktails at clients request. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Laura y Ruben, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.