We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best places to stay in Cuba” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hostal Amatista

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Trinidad
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hostal Amatista
Save
You added Hostal Amatista to your Saves list
Calle Piro Guinart no 366 entre Juan Manuel Marquez y Fernando Hernandes Echerri, Trinidad 62600, Cuba   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 234 Trinidad B&B and Inns
Marburg, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“One of the best places to stay in Cuba”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

Hiraida and Jose makes you feel at home at once . Our daughters had been there before and enjoyed the stay as much as we did. The dinner they cooked for us was the best we got in Cuba . A wonderful place for relaxing after the sightseeing is the terrace or the patio. The best mojitos we ever had ! We come back!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    13
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
22
61
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ballina, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

I can honestly say hostel Amatista was my most favourite memorable place i stayed throughout my stay in Cuba.

They were fantastic hosts who really made you feel that their home was also your's too.

One of my highlights was hearing them sing in the kitchen whilst they prepared our food, just bliss!

Highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loosdrecht, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

In the beginning of August we stayed in hostal Amatista for two nights, being with the four of us (two kids) in two very elegant and big rooms, each with its own bathroom. The big house still breathes the old colonial atmosphere. Besides two guest rooms and their private rooms, it consists of a big living room, two patios, a big kitchen and a cozy roof terrace. Being their only guests, they left us with all the privacy we wanted, but also the opportunity to join their company at night, sitting outside on the street chatting with all the neighbors (requires a level of Spanish) about anything, including the history of and life in Cuba. The house is well situated in the old village. We could safely park our car in one of the neighbor’s patios. Unfortunately already before arriving, our youngest daughter had turned ill. Jose en Hiraida have been very kind and caring, advising us on medical issues and even arranging for the local medicine man to heal our child! Unfortunately, due to our concerns on the illness, we missed most of Trinidad and surroundings and left too early. But if ever we return to compensate for the things we have missed, we consider hostal Amatista a perfect option for returning to.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We spent 2 nights here in September. The casa is in a great location, less than a 5 minute walk from Plaza Mayor's nightlife but sufficiently far enough away not to hear any noise even when sitting outside on the beautiful roof terrace enjoying a piña colada.

The casa is spotlessly clean in all areas. The rooms provide plenty of privacy, are big and charming with 2 very comfortable, double beds and come equipped with a fridge, TV, radio, fan and air conditioning. The en-suite shower room is in very good decorative order and provides good water pressure for hot and cold running water. The roof terrace is an absolute delight and is the perfect spot to chill after dinner with a drink and a cigar.

Hiraida and Jose are perfect hosts and make you feel very at home. They surprised us with refreshingly cool smoothies when we came home from an extremely hot day spent sightseeing. Their breakfasts are huge with plenty of choice. The evening evening meal they cooked for us was so delicious we decided not to go out to eat on our second night in Trinidad but to eat again at the casa. Again there was plenty of food and plenty of choice.

This casa is a tranquil retreat in a very laid back town. We highly recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We stayed two nights in July. The beds were relatively comfy, the shower and bathroom pretty basic with a plastic folding dividing door. Casas are generally quite basic though - so you may need to adjust your expectations. It's a nice chintzy family home with lots of family photos, ornaments etc - felt very authentic.
The family were lovely and friendly and made us several cocktails of an evening on their lovely roof terrace. They gave us a home-made fan each as a souvenir when we left! The breakfast was also delicious - and HUGE!
They do have pets - two dogs (sausage dogs if I remember rightly) and a cat. I didn't know this in advance and I really don't like dogs - but the owners did very kindly do everything they could to keep them out of my way.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Initially we wanted to stay for 2 nights, but we ended up staying for 4 nights! Jose and Hiraida are so nice, caring and entertaining. They even surprised us with a nice spontaneous salsa performance one evening. Breakfast and dinner (lobster) were delicious, not to mention the Mojito !!!
Our room was clean, pretty big and very nice. Nice terrace and quick laundry service!
We even got a nice little gift from them when we left.
We would love to come back one day!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandurah
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

Everything was good once we arrived at the casa. jose and Hiraida provided us with a tranquil space to rest and relax in a great location in historical Trinidad. just watch out for people who will lie and hassle and try to rip you off when you first arrive into the town.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hostal Amatista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Amatista

Address: Calle Piro Guinart no 366 entre Juan Manuel Marquez y Fernando Hernandes Echerri, Trinidad 62600, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Sancti Spiritus Province > Trinidad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 234 B&Bs / Inns in Trinidad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amatista is a beautiful colonial house, built in the 1700`s. It is located at the town senter, just 50 metres away from Plaza Mayor, and sorrounded by museums and history. Casa De La Musica, which offers cuban music and dancing, is only minutes away. Amatista has two airconditioned rooms decorated in colonial style. Each bedroom has a private bathroom with hot and cold water. We offer breakfast, lunch and dinner. You can eat a variety of cuban traditional dishes where tropical fruits stand out. In order to delight yourself along with your family and/or friends, we suggest you to enjoy the traditional cuban mojito. Mrs Hiraida Lopez Tellez and mr Jose Luis Garmendia welcomes you and wishes you a happy stay at their house. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostal Amatista, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.