We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and Full of Music!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hostal Amatista

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Trinidad
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hostal Amatista
Save
You added Hostal Amatista to your Saves list
Calle Piro Guinart no 366 entre Juan Manuel Marquez y Fernando Hernandes Echerri, Trinidad 62600, Cuba   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 234 Trinidad B&B and Inns
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Friendly and Full of Music!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

Hiraida met us at the bus station with an enthusiastic smile!! From the first moment we met her until we left, her casa is a place full of great music, lots of love and great food!

We has all of the amenities we needed, our room was clean and this casa is right in the middle of town - close to the center square, yet far enough we didn't hear music all night long.

I would highly reccommend this place to stay, as well I found out while we were there Hiraida teaches latin dance to those interested. If we were staying longer than a few days I would have jumped on board!!

Room Tip: The room closer to the front of the house is larger, however right by the street. We stayed in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    13
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
22
61
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
järvsö
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

lovely people, full service, exellent food, center of the city but very quiet and a very beautiful, charming, old, but full modern house. We lived like royalties!!!

Room Tip: Meet people outside the busstation and trust your intuition!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

I've been travelling to Cuba for 10 years and have stayed in several casa particulars in different cities over the years. This was my first time in Trinidad and I will say it was the best Casa I've ever stayed in. Iraida and Jose are exceptional hosts, available to tend to your needs and just as friendly as everyone here says. The room was big and beautiful (make sure you ask if the big room at the front is available, it sleeps 4 people so if it's just the 2 of you then it might be tricky), and the food is the best you'll ever get in Cuba without forking out top dollar for a 5 star resort.

Location wise, it's walking distance from everything, we never had to take a taxi.

A few things to note. If you're taking a taxi in from another town, make sure you get detailed directions as we were lost. And if you're taking a bus, don't let anyone take you to another house, make sure the address matches. People will make up stories that they are booked or the are no longer running the casa. Also, if the hosts hook you up with a guide, agree on the cost up front. I was given someone with 2 horses and it cost $20 a person. Way too much. The horses were bony and it looked like they weren't fed enough. I won't do that again. That would be my only complaint but very minor. Gracias Iraida y Jose!

Room Tip: Ask for the front room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

A very convenient location, not too far from the bus stop and the main square with Casa della Musica. A lovely, big, clean house with a very nice couple who run it. A sweet little outdoor terrace where meals are served, breakfast being wonderfully abundant - the fresh banana and guava juice was absolutely sensational. We had dinner twice here which was also very good. The casa also have a rooftop terrace where we spent one night after dinner with a bottle of wine and cigar. The only slightly negative points we can make is that the bed was too bouncy and the water pressure in the shower a little weak. This may be a common issue amongst casas in Trinidad, not sure, but just thought we'd point it out to give a fair and rounded assessment of the casa. Everything else, though, was fantastic. Overall we were very satisfied with our stay and would not hesitate to stay there again if we were to ever return to Trinidad. A big thank-you!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

Spend 3 nights to this Casa ... Its perfect on everything Clean..well located..nice family atmoshere .. and you never feel to disturb them!!!Helpful with any information in Trinidad!!! Meal was sometimes to much portion!!! Good thing for me!!!!
lolll
I been invited for the new eves meal with the family FANTASTIC!!!
Even if i want to see more of Cuba next time I have to return there and I will recommend to everyone

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

PAUL R

Stayed for four nights. Excellent location next to Plaza Mayor. Food delicious and generous portions. Hosts were very helpful and friendly - charming house, very comfortable accommodation. Would recommend a stay here. Thanks Hiraida and Jose.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Escorial, Spain
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

Iraida and her husband received us very warmly, the hostal is a 18th century house really nice an very well located and the food was excellent. Thanks, Iraida!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hostal Amatista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Amatista

Address: Calle Piro Guinart no 366 entre Juan Manuel Marquez y Fernando Hernandes Echerri, Trinidad 62600, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Sancti Spiritus Province > Trinidad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 234 B&Bs / Inns in Trinidad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amatista is a beautiful colonial house, built in the 1700`s. It is located at the town senter, just 50 metres away from Plaza Mayor, and sorrounded by museums and history. Casa De La Musica, which offers cuban music and dancing, is only minutes away. Amatista has two airconditioned rooms decorated in colonial style. Each bedroom has a private bathroom with hot and cold water. We offer breakfast, lunch and dinner. You can eat a variety of cuban traditional dishes where tropical fruits stand out. In order to delight yourself along with your family and/or friends, we suggest you to enjoy the traditional cuban mojito. Mrs Hiraida Lopez Tellez and mr Jose Luis Garmendia welcomes you and wishes you a happy stay at their house. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostal Amatista, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.