We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Cuban Dancing!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Plaza Mayor

Plaza Mayor
Trinidad, Cuba
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 26 things to do in Trinidad
Activities: City walk sightseeing
Attraction details
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Great Cuban Dancing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2015 NEW

Plaza Mayor was a lovely area to visit. The Cuban band and lots of dancing was lovely to watch either from the restaurants and bars or just sitting on the steps. Plaza Mayor is definitely a place to go and have a walk around.

Visited July 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

920 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    593
    275
    47
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
58 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Beautiful Plaza in Center of Trinidad”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2015 NEW

The most beautiful Plaza in well conserved condition sets you back in time. You are back in 18th Century and can imagine how life was in these days. Look into som of the museums around and you will get the feeling.

Visited July 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
39 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“There is something rotten about this town”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2015 NEW

Have you ever bitten in a beautiful apple, just to discover that it is rotten to the core?

I really did not enjoy this town. Nowhere else was I bothered as much by touts - within 10 minutes of walking out of my casa, I was asked for soap, pencil and sex (rudely), and it kept coming non stop. It also felt like oven, for some reason it was worst than anywhere else in Cuba. I ended up detesting the place very soon and without remedy.

To add to my suffering, it turned out that the bus was booked two days in advance because this is the most touristy place ever, so I took a shared taxi just to go anywhere else but there. Also the worst casa I stayed (Independencia 67), no hot water, aircon not really working, on last day the owner just came in the room and like just stood there for five minutes while I was sitting on bed, as if I was not going to be on my way in 10 minutes anyway. Serving rotten papaya for breakfast was piece de resistance, garden was nice, but smelled of pigshit because neighbour keeps one. Otherwise owners seemed nice enough people, but it was really bellow any standard. Not to seem like an absolute crank - I went on tour to mountains, and it was great, easy walk trough beautiful jungle and great views. So there was that silver lining to my cloud.

Visited July 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice place - good cocktails and music”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2015

We where traveling with a child, not have not been there late evening, but it is a very cozy place, lot of people enjoing the music and the cocktails

Visited July 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful city center”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2015

Old and mystical town, this city center takes you back in time when Cuba was a colony of Spain. Big square with a garden, churches and old colonial houses surround the square. There are restaurants and bars with live music in the near of the square.

Visited April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Plaza Mayor also viewed

Trinidad, Sancti Spiritus Province
Trinidad, Sancti Spiritus Province
 
Trinidad, Sancti Spiritus Province
Vinales, Pinar del Rio Province
 

Been to Plaza Mayor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Plaza Mayor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.