We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Casa, Great Hostesses (Mangota)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hostal El Tayaba

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Trinidad
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hostal El Tayaba
Save
You added Hostal El Tayaba to your Saves list
Calle Juan Manuel Marquez #70 e/Piro Guinart y Ciro Redondo, Trinidad, Cuba   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 136 Specialty Lodging in Trinidad
kettering UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Casa, Great Hostesses (Mangota)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

It's worth staying in this Casa alone just for the super cheeky Iris!! Although she only speaks a little English, she's such an expressive person you won't stop smiling listening to her. The Casa is right next to the town centre and walking distance from the Viazul bus station. The Casa itself is beautiful and very spacious and the food here was probably the best we had during our two week tour of Cuba. We had breakfast every morning prepared by the lovely Rosita and dinner most nights, of which there was always plenty. As it was half way through our holidays we also had our clothes washed here at an additional cost (10cuc) but worthwhile as we had a lot of dirty clothes after hiking Sierra Maestra! The bedrooms are gigantic (huge colonial building) with plenty of fans to keep you cool. You also have your own personal bathroom and use of the communal fridge.

As an additional note, we were also here for the Easter parade and had ring side seats from our bedroom balcony.

I believe the internet was also available here although we didn't use it.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    12
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
7
25
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

I would strongly recommend Hostal El Tayaba!!! It is the best hostel in Cuba. Iris is a great hostess and very hospitable! The house is really well run and people very welcome. We had a fantastic stay there and made good friends with Iris. Going to Trinidad to Hostal El Tayaba, you will never regret it! Anna and Ruben

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

Iris is a fabulous hostess. The house is really well run and close (but not too close) to lots of entertainment areas and restaurants. Unlike other casas particulares that we stayed in, Iris' family have several rooms available for rent which meant we got to meet other travellers. We had a great time chatting over delicious home cooked food and a cheeky rum or two.
Would highly recommend staying here, especially if you're travelling by yourself - Iris is fantastic company and takes really good care of her guests.

Such great memories!

Mary y la rubia peligrosa!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2011

I strongly reccomend to stop at El Tayaba hostal while you Are travelling in Cuba. Simply you will feel like be at home with your family no matter if you Are thousand of miles away. The family is really kind and helpful. The house is clean, big enough and very well located. Lovely and unforgettable stay. Nicola

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

Thanks to Iris, Carlito and all for their hospitality during our stay. We arrived on a recommendation from Cienfuegos and we were not disappointed. Iris is an exceptional hostess and nothing was too much trouble. She took us to a salsa lesson and went with our offspring for a night on the town. Judging by the state of them next day, they had a real good time. She arranged taxis for us and made phone calls. Our Spanish improved also thanks to Iris and Carlito. The likelihood of us ever being in Cuba again is remote but if we are, we will stay at El Tayaba. Thanks Iris, my Facebook friend! Maaaaama Miiiiaaaaa!!!!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2011

Myself and my GF and two mates stayed here for two nights. Iris and her mother are wonderful hosts who cook fantastic meals (bountiful supply of lobster, pork, fried plantain). Iris showed us all around Trinidad both during the evening, taking us to amazing music bars and the cave nightclub (worth going to!), as well as coming to the beach with us during the day. She was also kind enough to come with me while I collected our rental car on departure; her translation services were valuable!

Room were clean, quiet, AC'd. Lovely inner courtyard and roof terrace looking over old Trinidad. The Casa itself must be in the most central locations of Old Trinidad, everything was right on our doorstep.

Thank you Iris and Maria!

Room Tip: Go for the courtyard rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2011

After a few nights moving around between some fairly poor hostels in Trinidad, me and my friend happened across this casa set just off the Plaza Mayor.

The room was clean and comfortable, accessed via a nice courtyard with steps to a roof terrace with good views over the town.

The main attraction has to be the bubbly hostess, Iris, who makes you feel very welcome in her home (unlike some of the casas!). I would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Salsa lessons can be arranged through the hosts
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trinidad
0.0 mi away
Ottley's Plantation Inn
Ottley's Plantation Inn
#1 of 6 in Basseterre
4.5 of 5 stars 388 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
0.0 mi away
Princess Heights Hotel
Princess Heights Hotel
#2 of 7 in Oyster Pond
4.5 of 5 stars 517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
A Peace of Paradise
A Peace of Paradise
#1 of 1 in Praslin Quarter
5.0 of 5 stars 28 reviews
0.4 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad
0.0 mi away
Brisas Trinidad del Mar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal El Tayaba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal El Tayaba

Address: Calle Juan Manuel Marquez #70 e/Piro Guinart y Ciro Redondo, Trinidad, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Sancti Spiritus Province > Trinidad
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 136 Specialty Lodging in Trinidad
Number of rooms: 2

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostal El Tayaba, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.