We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We had a lovely stay at Elio's place.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hostal Casa di Elio Ramos

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Trinidad
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hostal Casa di Elio Ramos
Save
You added Hostal Casa di Elio Ramos to your Saves list
Lino Perez #159 | e/ Frank País y Pedro Zerquera, Trinidad 62600, Cuba (Formerly Hostal Elio)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 233 Trinidad B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“We had a lovely stay at Elio's place.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

We had a lovely stay at Elio's place. He went out of his way to make us feel welcome, even sorting bikes out for us for a couple of days with no notice at all. We had a really great room with a large balcony to ourselves.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    352
    25
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
25
149
29
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

Hostal Elio was a perfectly fine place to stay. The accommodations are high end, everything was very clean, and the food was decent. If I were to return to Trinidad, I would probably look for another place to stay, but if nothing great was available, I would be fine staying with Elio again.

Elio is well-meaning and tended to us well during our stay. However, when we stayed there also happened to be a rather high maintenance couple staying, slightly older than us and also American. When we booked our room, we specified wanting the front room on the second level, and Elio confirmed. We arrived, checked in, and were waiting for the house keeper to finish preparing the room when the other couple arrived. Apparently the other couple was not thrilled with their accommodation in the back room on the second level, and though I don't know what was said, they requested our room instead. Elio approached us, saying he was in a rather uncomfortable situation, and indirectly and slightly unprofessionally asked us to give up our room to this other couple. We had just arrived after a 6 hour cramped taxi ride from Vinales, so perhaps our patience was a bit thin, but we politely explained that we had intentionally booked this room, and there was really no possibility of switching in our minds. In order for Elio to drop the request, we had to threaten to find another hostel. After that, Elio did let it go, but overall the situation was very uncomfortable and not particularly welcoming after such a long journey.

The following night, we ate dinner at the Hostal, and the other couple did as well. During dinner, Elio focused most of his attention on the other couple, which was fine, but when dinner was served, I received the wrong meal (shrimp, which I had had the night before, and did not enjoy), and my meal was served to the other couple. Elio did rectify the situation by having another meal cooked for me, but we had to wait an hour for it to be ready. During this whole situation, and a couple of other times during our stay, Elio complained about how difficult it was to run his business and manage his workers. I'm sure running a hostel is hard work, and I can't blame him for an error here and there, but the complaining and blame throwing was a turn off and left a bad taste in our mouths.

All this said, there were some highlights to our stay. The chicken was unbelievably delicious, and breakfast was good. Our room was a good size, clean and well appointed. The terrace was also a nice touch, although not very private so we didn't spend a ton of time on it. Elio also knows his way around and took us out to the dance club one night. That was definitely a unique experience, and it was nice having him there to show us around.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

Elio is a the type of host who has a "guy" for everything. You want to go horseback riding? He has a "guy" for that. You want to have a guided tour of Trinidad? He has a "guy" for that. You want to learn Salsa dancing? Elio is the "guy" for that? Anything you would require he makes it his personal mission to make sure you are delighted. His gift with languages and hospitality make him the finest host in Cuba - you will be delighted you picked Casa Elio Ramos

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

Casa Elio is a really great casa. The rooms and bathroom are very spacious and clean. It also has a great terrace on top of the house. Elio speaks very good english. The familiy is adorable and we really felt like at home.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

Elio is an excellent host. The casa is in a decent location. The room was very clean, on the top floor with a view down on to the street. We stayed 3 nights and enjoyed the casa, we ate there every night and the meals were large and better than the value we could find elsewhere. The bed was large and comfortable. The breakfast was good too - pancakes, fruit, eggs, coffee, tea.

The only criticism I have was the shower pressure, it was really bad and we could only get a small amount of water. Also the shower head is mounted at waist height which makes showering difficult anyway.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mlada Boleslav, Czech Republic
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

We have stayed in this casa 4 nights. It looks very nice. We had nice and clean room. There is nice terassa with the view on Trinidad. Elio is very helpful host. He can arrange a lot of things for you. We had really good stay there. Breakfasts are delicious as well as lobster for dinner:-)
We really enjoyed stay there.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

Clean and beautiful rooms with air conditioning. Great location walking distance to all attractions. Their Cuban style dinner and breakfast are must-haves. Host Elio is an amazing guy when you meet him in person. We had a great time there.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hostal Casa di Elio Ramos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Casa di Elio Ramos

Address: Lino Perez #159 | e/ Frank País y Pedro Zerquera, Trinidad 62600, Cuba (Formerly Hostal Elio)
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Sancti Spiritus Province > Trinidad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 233 B&Bs / Inns in Trinidad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A spacious semi - colonial family house in the centre of the city, five minutes walk from the Plaza Mayor. The house has a three bedrooms, all en- suite and with safe for valuables, as well as a large communal living area and a roof-top terrace with great views over the city. Bedrooms available: Option One Two Double beds with a private terrace. Option Two: Two Double beds. Option Three: One double bed. Traditional Cuban- style breakfast and dinner available on request. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostal Casa di Elio Ramos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.