We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My amazing stay at Elio's Casa” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hostal Casa Elio Ramos

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Trinidad
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hostal Casa Elio Ramos
Lino Perez #159 | e/ Frank País y Pedro Zerquera, Trinidad, Cuba (Formerly Hostal Elio)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 216 Trinidad B&B and Inns
Rayleigh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“My amazing stay at Elio's Casa”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Elio and his family made me feel at home the second I arrived in Trinidad. He speaks great English (and Italian) and he can dance a bit too. The food there was fantastic and he knows everybody in town so you won't get bored. The room was perfect and I'm just gutted I'm not there right now. I'll return to Cuba and pay Elio a visit someday soon.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    305
    24
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
132
23
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Riga, Latvia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

During our stay in Trinindad, Hostal Elio was our oasis, our place where to hide from cockroaches, dirtiness in streets and crowds of people. Beautiful room with our own terrace and access to the roof. So nice people here - Elio and his sister Maira. Very clean, cosy and welcoming. The best experience from whole Trinidad!

Room Tip: choose the one in second floor, with terrace :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Bay, Grand Cayman
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

I arrived at Elio's sort of by luck since the casa I was going to stay at did not have room and asked him to meet me at the Viazul station. I cannot imagine staying anywhere else in Trinidad now. The house is very nice, and is partly run by his family which are very kind and fun to talk to. The food was five-star; I just mentioned to Elio what I wanted to eat before heading out to explore for the day and it was waiting for me when I got home. While in Trinidad, I wanted to go diving and on a horseback excursion. Elio made it happen. One of the highlights of my trip is when I went into the Valle de Los Ingenios with Francisco. Not only were his horses the best taken care of that I saw, but he was incredibly knowledgeable about all things flora and fauna, as well as the local history. My only regret was not being able to spend more time in Trinidad, but I will be back next year. Elio, I look forward to seeing you all again.

Room Tip: The upstairs room was very nice, but you really cannot go wrong with either.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

we stayed in Elio for 3 days, Elio was the man, great guy, great service. very helpful. Elio made our trip so much better. Elio serves the best food in Trinidad if not in the whole Cuba. It was awesome. Thank you Elio

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, Ile-de-France, France
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

after some days in the havana i was like sad about what i saw there
and then i make a travel to trinidad where i found this house the price was good and the food amazing i steel missing this days after some years

theres two rooms in the second floor very private with a nice terrasse. i heard that the cook it's a chef i don't know if it's true but i enjoy eat there

peaple are very nice very

this is not a fake message i have picture of me there on the terasse etc

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Had a lovely stay with Elio and his family!
The house is very pretty and very clean and very central, with a lovely roof terrace which is perfect for watching the sunsets with a little rum and coke.
We had a bit of an issue when we first arrived with there not being enough rooms for us, but it was easily resolved by Elio arranging a room for 2 of us at another lovely casa across the road for one night until the second room was ready.
Elios and his sister were so friendly and made us feel very welcome in their home. Their brother is an amazing chief and cooked us some of the best food we ate in Cuba, ask for the lamb which is his speciality which was so beautiful! The seafood platter was also incredible and very plentiful. You will not go hungry here!
Elliot's was also a perfect chaperon and escorted us out to the casa de musica a couple of nights and recommended other places to go- the rave cave should be experienced!
His English is also perfect and is a proffesser of languages in Trinidad. Impressive stuff.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Decided to visit Trinidad from Havana on impulse, with no prior preparation. Driver recommended I meet Elio, which was the best advise I received the whole trip.

Elio was not only the kindest, most serviable host we have had in Cuba, if not anywhere in the world but his hostal is lovely, tasteful, safe, clean and oh so confortable. You will not want to leave.

House meals were excellent but Elio also proved an excellent guide to all the attractions and activities of Trinidad, whatever the time of the day. He knows and is liked by everyone, which means his guests are well received. I highly recommend a stay at Hostal Elio to anyone visiting Trinidad.

I look forward to going back and introducing my ninos to beautiful Cuba, Trinidad and my amigo Elio.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hostal Casa Elio Ramos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Casa Elio Ramos

Address: Lino Perez #159 | e/ Frank País y Pedro Zerquera, Trinidad, Cuba (Formerly Hostal Elio)
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Sancti Spiritus Province > Trinidad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 216 B&Bs / Inns in Trinidad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A special stay in Trinidad load of warmth and color. Your ideal vacation. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostal Casa Elio Ramos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hostal Casa Elio Ramos to your Saves list