We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best restaurant we visited in Cuba!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurante San Jose

Restaurante San Jose
Maceo No. 382 | entre Colon y Smith, Trinidad, Cuba
+53 41 994702
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 87 Restaurants in Trinidad
Price range: $2 - $9
Cuisines: Cuban
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Hermoso restaurante bar, climatizado, ubicado en el centro historico de la ciudad. Mantiene una decoracion de la epoca. Brindamos un servicio de excelencia, para que nuestros clientes salgan satisfechos y complacidos. Esperamos su Visita cuando venga a nuestra Hermosa ciudad de Trinidad en el centro de Cuba
London
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Best restaurant we visited in Cuba!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

This restaurant completely took us by surprise! It has just opened when we visited and we thought the decor was beautiful, the atmosphere very relaxing and modern and the food delicious. We ate starters, pizza and pasta and dessert and everything was of excellent quality - the food tasted delicious, the portions were huge (and the lobster pasta did not skimp on lobster - there was lots of it!) and the service was very friendly and efficient. This was definitely one of the best restaurants we visited in Cuba - so much so we went back twice!! And the price extremely reasonable as well. We would 100% recommend this restaurant to anyone visiting Trinidad - a far far cry above all the traditional Cuban paladares.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

448 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    334
    93
    14
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
“Restaurante San Jose: Fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

We were taken to this fabulous spot by a local and were instantly impressed with the atmosphere and decor. The first dining room features a beautiful handcrafted vaulted dark wood ceiling with comfortable seating which leads to a well stocked bar and then into a second air conditioned dining room.

The staff is efficient and friendly and wear aprons with a red scrolling welcoming message in both Spanish and English. Quite the greeting! Once seated, we were given android tablets with the menu and prices in English & Spanish. Another surprise and not something that you would expect to find in Cuba. Then comes the best part: the food.

There were five of us for dinner – so we started by sharing two appetizers in a tempura-like batter: shrimp and fish. Both excellent. Two in our group ordered the fish, layered with ham and melted cheese – not your usual fare that I would consider a natural combination but incredibly good. The portions were massive and could easily have been shared by two people since they also included two side dishes. The other three in our party ordered the boneless chicken breast layered with ham and cheese. Very good but huge portions. In fact, they were so large that we couldn’t finish them and we had some hearty eaters with us. We had beer and wine (a nice selection to choose from) with the meal, followed by a flan for dessert for one member of our group. Our bill came to 56 cucs. Incredible value for such excellent food in a setting that skilfully combines the traditional with the modern.

Restaurante San Jose should not be missed and when we return we will ask to share a main course so we have room for the lovely deserts.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Not Your Typical Cuban Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

My wife and I had lunch here near the end of October, together with 3 Cuban friends, on a break from sight-seeing in Trinidad. As it was our first visit to Trinidad, of course we knew nothing about restaurants in the area, but our friends wanted to try this based on what they had heard from others. With a vague description of the exact location, we found the place, and were very glad we did.

The decor is upscale and modern. There are many tables set up at the entrance, and beyond that is a closed-in area with more tables and a well-equipped bar. This area has a powerful air-conditioning system that provided a most welcomed break from the city heat.

Our first indication that this was not your typical Cuban restaurant was the servers uniforms, along with the name-tags, which had a lighted, scrolling message of welcome. The next indication was when the server handed us the menu – or should I say the electronic tablet…yes, that is correct – a tablet. They don’t have these at the restaurants I frequent at home! Anyway, the menu had an English and Spanish version, and was very extensive from appetizers to desserts.

Complimentary warm dinner rolls were provided with butter prior to receiving the meal. We all ordered different items. Beverages ranged from icy cold Cristal beer, fruit juices, soft drinks, and coffee. Our entrée selections were pizza, a lobster dish, an Italian inspired chicken dish (that took up the whole plate), and 2 shrimp meals, prepared in different styles. Select entrees included a choice of 2 side dishes, ranging from vegetables, to fried bananas, to rice, to fries, or sweet potatoes, etc. Every one of us enjoyed our meal immensely – but only 2 still had room for dessert. The desserts were beautifully presented and must have been tasty, as the plates were quickly empty!

Entire bill (before tip) was 53 CUC – which was a total bargain for what was consumed and the quality of the meal.

Wait staff was very friendly, fast and efficient. Restrooms were very clean and modern.

We would return in a heart-beat.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zulema75, Propietario at Restaurante San Jose, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Google Translation
Muchas gracias por tener tan buena opinión de nuestro Restaurante, estamos muy contentos de que se haya sentido tan bien atendido y le haya gustado el ambiente, la comida y el servicio, nos esforzamos cada dia por brindar un servicio de excelencia a nuestros clientes y que a su ves se sientan satisfechos. Esperamos cuando visite nuevamente nuestra hermosa ciudad de Trinidad, visite nuestro Restaurante y será tan bien atendido como la primera vez.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Little gem in Trinidad!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

we popped into the San Jose for a quick beer and something light to eat. What a hidden gem it was! We moved further inside to a very cool, air conditioned room. The place looked like it had recently been renovated with more happening - very nice!
The wait staff were all in very smart uniforms - including bow ties and head scarves. The food and service were perfect and the four of us had beers, wine and a very filling lunch for a total of CUC 24! I would recommend this restaurant if you visit Trinidad!
Neil and Susan Merrick
Melbourne, Australia
September 2013

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Some of the best food in Cuba”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

This place was a great find: excellent value for money and the food was a level above most we ate in Cuba (the only close contender was the lobster we had at Casa Ma Dolores directly opposite the restaurant, Antonio Maceo 283). San Jose is not yet in the guide book, and the menu is in Spanish. The waiters were incredibly attentive, the restaurant nicely decorated and atmospheric-posh feeling. The food was delicious, beautifully seasoned and flavoursome. The plantains were by far the best I've ever had. The cocktails were great and there was a good wine selection. We visited Trinidad during low season when most restaurants were deserted, yet this place was busy most nights-and rightly so. We loved it!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante San Jose also viewed

Trinidad, Sancti Spiritus Province
Trinidad, Sancti Spiritus Province
 
Trinidad, Sancti Spiritus Province
 

Been to Restaurante San Jose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurante San Jose, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.