We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place to visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hostal Alameda

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Trinidad
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hostal Alameda
Save
You added Hostal Alameda to your Saves list
Jesus Menendez 156 (Alameda) | E/ Cristo y Media Luna, Trinidad, Cuba   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 230 Trinidad B&B and Inns
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Lovely place to visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

We recently spent 3 lovely nights with Danielle at her great home in the old centre of Trinidad. Beautiful home with great food and the company of Dani who is a lovely person. Her home help, Anna is also so kind. Other reviews have described the positive aspects of this casa. Trinidad was the highlight of our 2 week tour of Cuba and we could not have found a better place to stay.
Keith + Annamaria.

Room Tip: There are 2 rooms, ask for the one with two windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    3
    0
    0
    2
See reviews for
8
57
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

We spent three weeks in Cuba staying in various casas across the country - first trip to Cuba so a lot effort put in researching and planning stays in 8 different locations. Hostal Alameda was by far the best! Danielle is the perfect host, sincerely caring about her guests but also discreet. She organised a horseback ride on the second day which took us through wonderful tracks and ended at a local farm to taste some local specialtiies including spit roast. Her house, which she has designed herself, could easily feature in a home's magazine - just beautiful. Danielle's attention to detail can also be found in her presentation of her delicious food. Pricing very reasonable based on quality offered and compared to other casas. We spent 3 nights at Danielle's but wished we had booked there for longer!! Vass&Jo

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bordeaux, France
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

Very beautiful casa and top quality service. Dani is a wonderful hostess and cook. She has a perfect taste for decoration and all the amenities are in perfect conditions and really comfortable (from the mattress to the towels to the shower). The food was delicious, really better than in most restaurants. Breakfast especially is an enchantment, with home made cinnamon rolls, eggs, the best bacon I've ever eaten in my life, fresh fruits and so on... As for the dinners, they are equally delicious, served in the beautiful patio, by candlelight of course! We spent 3 nights in this casa with our 2 year old daughter, and the attention to details made us feel welcome and at home. Dani also gives really good advises about restaurant in the town, or horseback excursion. I definitely recommend this casa, it will make your stay in Trinidad a truly wonderful experience.

Room Tip: Both rooms look equally comfortable and beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

This casa is something special, all it's divisions were envisioned by the owner, Daniela, who putted great effort in every detail. As soon as you get acquainted with Daniela, you will soon understand that this casa is pretty much like a mirror of Daniela's personality: and i liked them both.
This casa, as far as I understood, have two bedrooms, each with a double bed with private bath, on the first floor, with a beautiful terrace, with some tables and chairs.
Breakfast is served in the garden downstairs, in a lovely setting. Breakfast costs about 5 CUC person. Dinner was also served sometimes, always great and abundant meals, costs about 15 CUC person.
If you want, you can schedule a horseback ride to a cascade in the vicinity of Topes de Collantes, full-day, for 20 CUC (lunch paid separately). Ask Daniela to book this tour for you.
Value for Money is good: you can get cheaper casas, but hardly as good as this one. As far as I know, I think I made the right call when I booked this casa.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

It was my second trip to Cuba and Trinidad. That la casa particular was only thing i was extremely looking forward to. We also asked Daniela to cook us dinner on our first night there. Words fail to describe how good it was !!! 4 courses and each and every one of them very best I ever had. We started with prawns, followed by soup, crab lasagna and pineapple cake ... Delicious !

And I just adore the rooms, all these little details she has, giving very romantic feel to the whole place. Really good shower as well.

And the breakfast, think it was 4 course as well- always fresh fruit and juice, most aromatic coffee, home made pastry and eggs in whatever style you wish :) She truly aims for a 5 star service in everything !!!

I would go back there literally anytime!!!

PS, since new places open up very quickly now, please not confuse Daniela's (Hostal Alameda) with casa brisas de alameda ! Otherwise you miss a fantastic experience :)

Room Tip: She has 2 rooms and both are quiet, spacious and so enjoyable :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Recently stayed at Hostal Alameda and enjoyed the most fabulous week thanks in great part to Danielle (the owner of the Hostal). The house was absolutely beautiful and the rooms were on a separate level with its own private entrance which leads you through a garden filled with nicely structured plants and trees that just seem to be part of the house. There were mango and avocado trees from which Danielle would prepare her delicious mango juice and mango jam and serve every morning at breakfast. I truly looked forward to breakfast every morning because Danielle served us the most delicious breakfast, which beat any 5 star restaurant (Omelettes, French Toast, Crepes...whatever we requested). The beds were extremely comfortable with cotton sheets and bedspread! Danielle was such a great help in advising us where to go eat in the evenings and where to go out. She even arranged a day of horseback riding that included a swim in the river overlooking the beautiful cascades while being serenaded by our guide. Danielle had accompanied us on that day and we had such a memorable day! Sitting on the terrace at the end of a day looking at the sunset and drinking wine or enjoying a glass of rum made us feel like we never wanted to leave!! We did explore the city and wanted to see the other casas and hostals which were reviewed on Tripadvisor and by far they did not compare to Hostal Alameda. We soon realized how lucky we were to have stumbled on this place waking up every morning to great cuban coffee served in the garden while jazz music played in the background. We loved being there so much that Dani was surprised that we lingered so long in the casa just enjoying being in the garden or on the terrace!! At times we asked her to join us for a glass of wine and she would talk to us about her life in Cuba seeing that she is originally from Canada. Danielle speaks fluent French, English and Spanish which was a great help to us! Oh and thanks to her we avoided going to Playa La Boca and she recommended we go to Playa Ancon which was truly beautiful! Cannot wait to go back!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

In my opinion, this is the most beautiful house in the whole Trinidad, if not in whole Cuba. I did not want to even leave for day trips from there....more like an exclusive boutique property for selected connoisseurs in the know than a casa. Danielle is adding to this fabulousness by her personality and local wisdom. Breakfast in the secret garden (aka patio) was our special time of the day, drinking strong and delicious Cuban coffee, so were early evenings on our very private terrace
with where we shared a bottle of top notch aged Santiago rum or glass of red while listening to mellow jazz music fitting the mood and environment. Well, if you really need to leave this little paradise, please consider horse riding trip to local waterfalls with lunch at a Ranchon. Dani knows the right people to do this with, will negotiate the price for you (probably muuuuuch cheaper than anybody else is paying) and will even accompany you herself. This trip is doable even by a beginner, which was my case. Another valid reason to leave the magic house is trip to the beach. Spare yourself some disappointment and do not go to La Boca beach nearby. Instead take a cab ( 6 CUC) to Playa Ancon to enjoy soft sand, clean ocean and beach chair from one the hotels on the beach (2CUC a day). Did I mention that all Dani cooks is locally sourced and organic and that her house recently won a price for renovation achievement? For those internet addicts among us there is local Etecsa office nearby where 1 hr of surfing will set you back 6 CUC. For dinner I would strongly recommend paladar Paraiso Trinitario (ask for Lidia) where lobster dinner comes to 6 CUC, you can bring your own wine (good selection in local stores) and if you a bring some candles you can create your very own romantic night. We stayed at Hostal Alameda for a whole week and still managed to have tears in our eyes when we had to say goodbye to Danielle. I definitely plan to return as soon as I can to this magic paradise where all my wishes were granted.

Room Tip: both rooms are great, ideal for 2 couples or 2 friends.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hostal Alameda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Alameda

Address: Jesus Menendez 156 (Alameda) | E/ Cristo y Media Luna, Trinidad, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Sancti Spiritus Province > Trinidad
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 230 B&Bs / Inns in Trinidad

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostal Alameda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.