We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Long walk uphill” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Las Cuevas

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Trinidad
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Las Cuevas
Save
You added Hotel Las Cuevas to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Finca Santa Ana, Trinidad, Cuba   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Trinidad
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Long walk uphill”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012 via mobile

Ok accommodations. Check room before settling in. Our room had no water in bathroom and was filled with dead bugs. Once we complained they gave me a room in the bungalows. Much better!

Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    57
    105
    59
    46
See reviews for
36
126
16
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Someset, UK
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

We were traveling independently in Cuba and had booked this over the internet from the UK. We stayed 4 nights. The rooms were little cement cabins with good air conditioning. They were clean and had balconys. The pool was nice to have because it was very hot and humid (we were there in early June). Like any buffet meals the food gets a bit samey but I really liked all the cut up fruit. I am extremely anti-smoking and the only thing that bothered me is that they didn't stop people from smoking while they were standing in the swimming pool! Very different than western standards. But that's Cuba!

Probably the best thing was the Cubatur lady who helps us with day trips, walking tours, taxis, etc. We had an excellent walking tour of Trinidad with a guide named Rafael. He was very knowledgable and helpful.

We ate lunch at Sol Ananda in town off the main square (there are several squares). It is a living museum and it was excellent food. The live Cuban music added to the atmosphere.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

Stayed here on tour of Cuba. As mentioned below is very average. Rooms a fair hike up the hill from reception and Buffett. Rooms were clean and the shower worked. Had to be creative to flush the toilet but we had just spent five weeks in south America so were just happy to have a bathroom that didn't stink. Had the Buffett breakfast once and didnt bother going again the next morning. Dinner was average. Easy walk into town especially for those wanting to go to the cave night club and house of the music. It's just 700m down a walk way.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

The hotel is a little out of the way, and up a hill and some of the rooms/chalets are further uphill.

The room was clean and the bathroom was adequate. The bar was a nice area, but the dinner buffet was awful and would avoid it like the plague. We had already paid for the meals with the room, would avoid this option if you can and eat elsewhere.

The tour rep (think it was cubatur) in reception was really helpful and even recommended other places to eat. Arranged some great trips out and was very helpful.

Probably would only stay here again if there was nowhere else to stay in town. Should have stayed at a casa!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

We stayed at the Las Cuevas last year during a round trip in Cuba. The hotel is located on a hill on the side of the center of Trinidad. We took our rental car and found it in once. You can walk into Trinidad in about 15 minutes, so it is a little walk. We actually liked the hotel to be a little way out of the center, because it was nie and quiet at night. And we didn't mind the walk after dinner.

It is a good hotel, quite big and the rooms are clean.

All rooms have balconies and some have a great view over Trinidad. breakfast is OK, seeing the Cuban food is just not that great most of the time. But they take effort.

We did not have dinner in the restaurant, so can't say anything about that.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

The hotel is set on a steep hill which wasn't a problem once we found our way around, very difficult at night with insufficient lighting. The room was adequately furnished and spotlessly clean with a large balcony, shared with next door. The refrigerator was incredibly noisy and had to be turned off to get some sleep. The water from the shower was no more than a trickle and could barely be used. The restaurant is diabolical, it opens at 8:00pm and you have to get there early to get anything. There is very little choice and there was no attempt whatsoever to keep anything hot. Everything I tasted, other than the coffee, was pretty awful. Breakfast wasn't much better so I opted for a freshly cooked omelete which was OK but I was only allowed one egg. The service generally was poor but the restaurant staff were down right rude. Not a bad location for the heritage site provided you can climb the hill.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haltwhistle, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

We stayed here with our 4 year old son. We found the hotel to be good, apart from the water pressure, really bad just a trickle from the shower, hardly enough to get my hair wet never mind rinse it!
Staff were friendly and helpful and we liked the pool.
Breakfast and dinner buffet not too impressive, but not the worst. Get to dinner early as can get hard to find a table.
Good location for visiting Trinidad.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Las Cuevas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Las Cuevas

Address: Finca Santa Ana, Trinidad, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Sancti Spiritus Province > Trinidad
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Trinidad
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Las Cuevas 3*
Number of rooms: 112
Also Known As:
Las Cuevas Trinidad
Las Cuevas Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Las Cuevas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.