We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant casa” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hostal Las Margaritas

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Trinidad
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hostal Las Margaritas
Save
You added Hostal Las Margaritas to your Saves list
Clemente Pereira no 53 | Cruz Verde, Trinidad 62600 , Cuba   |  
Hotel amenities
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Brilliant casa”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

One of the best casas we stayed in on our two week trip. Great room which was exceptional value for money; an amazing courtyard where you eat some real good food. And a sausage dog pottering around.

Janio is a nice chap and speaks good English, takes a genuine interest in you and makes you feel welcome.

The best thing about it was the privacy - our room was in a small annex from the main building and we were the only ones staying there. We were welcome to walk in an out at whatever time after a few Bucaneeros and it wasn't an issue.

I very highly reccomend it.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    11
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
133
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

We stayed in this casa for 2 nights in early June. We loved our stay here, was definitely the best casa we stayed in whilst in cuba! The location is very central and the room is a private room off the beautiful internal courtyard. The room was super clean, has its own ensuite, fridge and air con, which was a must when we were there, it was so hot! Janio and his family were welcoming, gracious, helpful hosts. Janio gave us a map of Trinidad on arrival and provided many tips for sightseeing and traveling around Trinidad. We ate at the Casa both nights and the food was the best we had in cuba, so tasty! I highly recommend this casa, and if we go back to Trinidad this is where we will stay!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

My friend and I stayed in this casa for three nights and really enjoyed our stay. The room was lovely and spacious and very clean and the shower had warm water (which is quite a luxury when staying in casas). We had dinner in the casa two nights and the food was lovely. The owner was really upfront and told us the cost of everything when we arrived. He spoke good English and was very helpful recommending things to do in Trinidad. I would highly recommend this casa.

Room Tip: We stayed in the room at the back of the courtyard and it was very quiet and nice.
See more room tips
Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

This place is really awesome. It is nice, clean with good location. The owner is very very very hospitable person, we arrived in 6am and he was still nice and smily :) He was the only person in Cuba who provided us a map of the town and that was great. The food was nice and tasty.

I would definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

This is a great place to stay in Trinidad, is close to the centre yet not too close to the busy nightlife of the square.The house is clean, very quiet and great food as well.Jose

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2012

Can't recommend this casa enough. Lovely family, generous people and clean room. The food (especially their fish) is wonderful and it's worth having dinner in the casa instead of going out! Definitely my favourite casa in Cuba.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012

We had initially booked to stay here for three nights but extended our stay because the place is so clean, comfortable and cosy in busy and hot Trinidad with a lovely host family. The couple have two children, a five year old and a three year old and my six year old son had a chance to play with them, which was a wonderful cultural exchange.
The food for dinner and breakfast is healthy, tasty and well priced and served in a very nice courtyard where you can also have drinks or simply relax. We could not believe how relaxing the casa is every time we stepped in from the heat outside. There are two rooms here and we became friendly with a visiting Finnish couple so the possibility to meet other travellers also exists. A great paladar is up the street as well, Sol y Son.
Four generations live here harmoniously and I had an opportunity to have conversations in Spanish with the entire family. I hope I improved slightly and they were very patient.
Joani, the husband, can also help you in English. I would recommend Trinidad in general - there are a wealth of excursions available, either to be arranged nearby at the Cubatour office, or by independent taxi. A ride to the beach should cost you 10 CUC if you ask the driver to also pick you up at a pre-arranged time. If you are travelling with small children, ask Joani about the best hikes in the mountains - many of the offered excursions are not suitable for young kids (and ours is very intrepid) but he knows the routes to follow.
We were really impressed with how modern and new the room and bathroom was, the powerful A/C, fan, plentiful hot water and water pressure and the quiet. These are all premium features. Because the room is set so far back from the street, you can actually sleep through the night, a rarity in Cuba.

Room Tip: The room at the back facing the courtyard is nicest, but the family is building another room with a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trinidad
0.0 mi away
Ottley's Plantation Inn
Ottley's Plantation Inn
#1 of 6 in Basseterre
4.5 of 5 stars 388 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
0.0 mi away
Princess Heights Hotel
Princess Heights Hotel
#2 of 7 in Oyster Pond
4.5 of 5 stars 517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
177.6 mi away
Hotel Mercure Sevilla Havane
0.0 mi away
Royal Palms
Royal Palms
#1 of 3 in South Hill
5.0 of 5 stars 34 reviews
0.0 mi away
A Peace of Paradise
A Peace of Paradise
#1 of 1 in Praslin Quarter
5.0 of 5 stars 28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Las Margaritas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Las Margaritas

Address: Clemente Pereira no 53 | Cruz Verde, Trinidad 62600, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Sancti Spiritus Province > Trinidad
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 136 Specialty Lodging in Trinidad
Number of rooms: 26

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostal Las Margaritas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.