We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful surprise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Colonial Carlos Albalat

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Trinidad
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa Colonial Carlos Albalat
Save
You added Casa Colonial Carlos Albalat to your Saves list
Calle Jose Marti, 330 entre Bolivar y Zerquera, Trinidad 62600, Cuba   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #113 of 230 Trinidad B&B and Inns
Conegliano, Italy
1 review
“wonderful surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

This has been a wonderful surprise behind the wrought-iron, gated front doors! We have enjoyed the clean accomodations and the friendly service. Breakfast was plentyful and served in a quaint courtyard setting. Bedrooms were clean and comfortable with air conditioning. Our very enjoyable visit and stay in Trinidad has made the lengthy trip here worth the time! We plan to return and would recommend this place to others.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    7
    3
    0
    5
See reviews for
8
23
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012

Close to the centre with immaculate rooms and bathrooms, friendly host and a generous freshly cooked breakfast. Lovely roof terrace overlooking the town. Great way to see real Cuban family life.

Room Tip: The upstairs room with its own terrace has better ventilation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2011

We stayed with Carlos & Rebecca for three nights and we were delighted by their hospitality and excellent food! Every meal was a fantastic. Hand roasted coffee, fresh mango juice each morning and handmade marmalade were perfect additions to our meals.

The house was very clean and the rooms comfortable. A/C worked great and the private bathroom was well suited to the room. The house is about three blocks from the main plaza and quiet at night.

Carlos and Rebecca were great hosts; attentive to all our needs and helpful getting taxis, and general advice around the city. I recommend this casa!

Kevin
Victoria, BC, Canada

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2011

We had an incredible stay there, every morning breakfast with homemade guayaba and pineapple mermelade, homemade papaya and mango shake fruit, orange fruit juice...
We try all the exquisite Carlos & Rebeca dishes, we still remember the "pargo" fish and the pork meat in the barbecue.
Absolutely recommended!!!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Treviso, Italy
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2011

We had a very pleasant stay there; breakfast &
dinner on the patio, sunsets on the roof
terrace, cozy bedroom , clean bathroom.
Carlos & Rebecca were very kind with us and we
miss their cuban food; the hostel is peaceful
and near Plaza Mayor.
We reserved troungh colonialalbalat.com ,
recommended!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Padua, Italy
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2011

very nice house, but the best are the owners Rebecca and Carlos.
Very hospitality people!
you know many people are not able to travel expecily in Cuba and some are so stupid
to pretend to find the 5 stars hotel, but this is realy a old colony house, with a tipical
atmosphere. VERY CLEAN, VERY GOOD FOOD, VERY NICE
i tell you to choise this casa particular Mercedes
thanks Rebecca and Carlos for fantastic holidays in your Trinidad!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roma
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2011

The house is in the centre of Trinidad near the market and the cigar factory.
Carlos and Rebecca are very kind and helpful.
The room is big with its own bathroom. Probably it was the less noisy house that we experienced in Cuba.

If you go there ask Carlos to see the view from the roof, it's very nice

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Colonial Carlos Albalat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Colonial Carlos Albalat

Address: Calle Jose Marti, 330 entre Bolivar y Zerquera, Trinidad 62600, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Sancti Spiritus Province > Trinidad
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #113 of 230 B&Bs / Inns in Trinidad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The casa is fully licensed with a "bed and breakfast" and a restaurant license: "Arrendador inscripto"The house has 3 bedrooms for rent:- bedroom 1 : 1 bed for 2 persons, conditioned air and electric fan and 1 independent bathroom with warm water.- bedroom 2 : 1 bed for 2 persons, conditioned air and electric fan and 1 independent bathroom with warm water.- bedroom 3 : 3 beds for 4 persons, conditioned air and electric fan and 1 independent bathroom ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Colonial Carlos Albalat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.