We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely terrace, centrally located, lovely family” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hostal Sandra y Victor

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Trinidad
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hostal Sandra y Victor
Save
You added Hostal Sandra y Victor to your Saves list
Maceo 613 A entre Pablo Pisch y Piro | Guinart, Trinidad 62600, Cuba   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #155 of 230 Trinidad B&B and Inns
Bowen Island, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Lovely terrace, centrally located, lovely family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

This hostal was lovely. The terrace was amazing, made from broken terra cotta pots, where we had breakfast each morning. The food was lovely, especially breakfast, simple and lots of fruit. The coffee is awesome, actually the coffee in off of Trinidad is awesome. It was easy to find and get back to after heading out for dinner, the beach, or browsing the shops. My only complaint would be the uncomfortable beds, but hey, nothings perfect.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    7
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
4
18
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
liedekerke, belgium
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

We stayed at this place for a few nights. The rooms were clean and food was good, but there were some things we didn't like too much. There was no seat on the toilet and the room was extremely hot with little ventilation. The only option to cool down was the airco which was extremely noisy. So we had to turn it off at night. Later we turn it on at its maximum when we left the room and shut it down when we came back. That way it stayed cool enough for us to sleep.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

It is my third time at Hostal Sandra y Victor. Each time they have made me feel really welcome and gone out of their way to ensure I have a good stay. This time was no exception! Without a doubt this casa has everything you need...friendly people, great location close to Plaza Mayor, clean rooms, lots of space, hot water and air conditioning!
The son Reinier took us on a hiking excursion through the Cuban countryside and to a waterfall. Definitely worth going to experience a different side of Cuba. Reinier is also brilliant at English, which added to a great day out!
Really recommend this casa to anyone who is considering going to Trinidad, if nothing else but for Sandra's awesome cooking! Here's hoping I can come back soon!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tromsø, Troms, Norway
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Got the advice about this place from a couple of friends that stayed here some months in front of our travel. And we couldn`t agree more. Good hospitality, safe and quiet, fresh tasty food, a hugh terrasse and a patio dedicated to the guests only. Only negative issue we can come up with would be the noizy airconditioning system. Operated individualy in the appartments it`s possible to turn off during the night while using the fans instead.
And then there`s Reiner, the son of the house with the knowledge of guiding guests in to the wilderness. Either on a horseback or by feet he`ll take you through stunning landscapes to amazing places, conversating with an excellent english vocabulary and well tuned social antennas that makes you both happy and excited. Don`t let this opportunity pass you!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hostal S, Owner at Hostal Sandra y Victor, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Dear Sir:
We worked on the solution to your dissatisfaction about the ventilation system in the room. We found that it was a technical problem in the air conditioning. This situation was the result of a group of vibrations generated due to technical problem. Right now the problem is solved. We appreciate your cooperation and apologize for any inconvenience.
Regards
Sandra and Victor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

We have visited Trinidad 3 times and met Sandra y Victor by chance on our first trip. They happened to be a lovely family, very passionate about their job, super clean, respected by everyone in town and very respectful of their guests. The rooms are nice and the food is excellent. They are able to help with pretty much everything. Reinier, their son, is a fantastic tour guide (horse back and hiking). Don't trust those terrible reviews about money being stolen! This has for sure never happened. Some peolpe in town are just jealous of the big success and entrepreneurial spirit of this lovely family. If you are lucky enough to find a room there, just book it 'till you can!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

Have stayed at this casa 4 times since 2007. Was shocked and very disappointed that when I stayed there in July 2012 over £200 was stolen from my room-it was locked and owners(or people they giver permission to) are only people that have access. I told them we were going on a boat trip for the day so they had all day to access our room.
When I told a friend about this experience she said she thought she had about £50 taken when she stayed there last year but thought maybe she had lost it.
It seems that theft is a regular thing.
Victor was not in the least bit upset that there had been a theft from our room.
I have always recommended this place to people visiting Cuba but wouldn't anymore-it seems that Victor and his son who now runs the place are getting greedy- a real shame

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hostal S, Owner at Hostal Sandra y Victor, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Hello:
Sorry for your negative experience. This situation has made us feel very bad too. You told us the loss of your money and automatically we contacted the police to find the money as quickly as possible and for give you an answer. After 3 hours of police work in and out of your room the police decided that it was not a robbery and you know what we are talking about. According to the police`s opinion the money was not lost in our house. How is possible we could steal your money if we are still renting our rooms freely? In Cuba when something likes this happens the homeowners automatically lose the license to rent rooms. Sorry again if you were treated as criminal but really the police determined that it was an auto-stolen or you were trying to rip off us. Remember you trying to leave our house without paying the bill of costs during the days you were in our house. Thanks to the efforts of the police we receive the payment. Truly we are sorry you feel like this. Now you have been devoted to developing anti advertising campaign against us very unfairly. Really is too bad that the other visitors of this site read a story like this when it's not real. Right now we have the full support of the police in Trinidad. We have all the evidence we need to proof our history. The police are agreeing that the loss of the money has no relationship with you stay in our house. Our business has been working around for over 13 years and has always sacrificed to give the best service. We regret to use this website as prestigious to treat a subject as embarrassing as this. Sorry to everyone reading this article for errors in the language; we have tried to be as clear and explicit as possible.

Regards
Sandra and Victor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandnes, Norway
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

Stayed 5 nights at Hostal Sandra y Victor. Friendly people, speaks English and are service minded. You feel privet here, you use the area upstairs like its your own! Good breakfast. The son in house, Reiner, is a guide both for mountain trips and local sightseeing in Trinidad. He is highly recomended as a guide for a daytrip to Topes de Collantes.
If going to Trinidad, stay here!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hostal Sandra y Victor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Sandra y Victor

Address: Maceo 613 A entre Pablo Pisch y Piro | Guinart, Trinidad 62600, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Sancti Spiritus Province > Trinidad
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #155 of 230 B&Bs / Inns in Trinidad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In this house you can enjoy a wonderful vacation in Trinidad, a city surrounded by the Caribbean sea and the mountain group (Escambray). Excellent beaches and beautiful waterfalls, along with traditional culture and architecture of the place and the dordialidad and friendliness of its inhabitants will make your stay an unforgettable adventure ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostal Sandra y Victor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.