We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Weekend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tawa Lodge Waiheke Island

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Waiheke Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tawa Lodge Waiheke Island
Save
You added Tawa Lodge Waiheke Island to your Saves list
15 Tawa Street, Waiheke Island 1081, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 27 Waiheke Island B&B and Inns
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We loved our characteristic little B&B Room at Tawa Lodge. It has great character and the shared bathroom is pleasant and private - sharing with just two other rooms means there was never any waiting. Dyan, the owner, is a lovely host and graced us with home baking. Recommend highly.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    4
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
2
14
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

Stayed at Tawa lodge. Great room, fantastic views and helpful staff. Cheap as chips too - a third the rate of some apartments on the same street but with better views. Meals not included but plenty of places to eat in town which is a five minute walk. Staff in Onerora tourist information incredibly friendly and helpful too. We'll definitely be back (if they don't hike the prices after this review!). Stevie & Angie

Room Tip: The sister Punga lodge is cheaper, but Tawa lodge for the luxury
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2012

We stayed in the Aroma Del Mare Cottage at a cost of ~$240 a night and were not that impressed. On arrival we were presented with a welcome platter and breakfast for the next morning from an amazing host. Unfortunately, that's where the good stuff stopped. On day 2 no breakfast was provided, and no staff were around to ask for it. On our final morning the included shuttle to the ferry was booked to the wrong terminal, meaning we almost missed our ferry. This was particularly disappointing as they booked the ferry - so should have known which terminal to go to!

In saying that, the views were beautiful.

Room Tip: Choose the cheaper accommodation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2011

We stayed here for a night in one of the bed & breakfast rooms. We were charged $100 for the night and were given an amazing breakfast basket in the morning. We had access to kitchen facilities, a big spotless bathroom (with hairdryer incl.) and a stunning outdoor BBQ grassed area that overlooked the ocean. The lodge was quiet, private and clean and we felt very relaxed and left alone. It was really great value for money.

Room Tip: I think any room here would be sweet. Obviously the more you pay, the more space you'll get x
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2011

Our first stay on Waiheke was wonderful and Kevin at Tawa Lodge was very helpful and obliging. Thanks for the Antipasto treats, bottle of "Bubbles" and the continetal breakfasts.
The Lodge was adequate although a little dated, the bed was comfortable and clean towels were left for each day.
Also thanks to Dyan for the delicious afternoon tea.

Room Tip: In the corridor rooms you have to share a bathroom, also it would be very, very warm during the summ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxford uk
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2010

I wanted somewhere to relax for one night at the end of a business trip and this was utterly perfect. There was a very warm and helpful welcome, it was just 5mins walk down a steep hill to a gorgeous beach, and only 15 mins walk from the little town and 40 from the ferry. There are maps of the stunning walks you can do from the house. You can even walk to some of the gourmet vineyard restaurants along glorious beach and country paths. What more could you want?

On the down side, the room was quite small and didnt have a basin or bathroom, but this was made very clear when I booked it.
Thank you Tawa lodge for such a lovely stay on Waiheke!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2009

Quiet spot, the cottage seemed more interesting than the motel rooms on site - we had great views of the bay, short walk to town. Perfectly adequate continental breakfast was delivered to our room the day before. We also enjoyed a special appetizer and chanpagne welcoming package, a nice start.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Waiheke Island hotels
1.4 mi away
Delamore Lodge
Delamore Lodge
#1 of 10 in Waiheke Island
5.0 of 5 stars 160 reviews
0.3 mi away
Breakfast on the Beach Lodge
Breakfast on the Beach Lodge
#3 of 10 in Waiheke Island
5.0 of 5 stars 158 reviews
1.0 mi away
Enclosure Bay
Enclosure Bay
#1 of 27 in Waiheke Island
5.0 of 5 stars 185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Oyster Inn
The Oyster Inn
#1 of 4 in Oneroa
5.0 of 5 stars 32 reviews
3.5 mi away
Onetangi Beach Apartments
2.0 mi away
Le Chalet Waiheke Apartments
Le Chalet Waiheke Apartments
#9 of 22 in Waiheke Island
4.5 of 5 stars 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tawa Lodge Waiheke Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tawa Lodge Waiheke Island

Address: 15 Tawa Street, Waiheke Island 1081, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Waiheke Island
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Waiheke Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From its hilltop location, Tawa Lodge looks out over Oneroa Bay, 8 mins walk to the beach and 12 mins walk to the main town of Oneroa. B&B (share bathroom between three rooms) is priced from $110 per night for two including a continental breakfast basket. Other accommodation from $165 per night for two. Discounted two night packages (from $299 for two)include ferry travel, wharf transfers, accommodation with breakfast baskets each morning plus a bottle of bubbly and nibbles platter on arrival or whenever preferred during your stay. Mid week and multi night specials available outside of the high season. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tawa Lodge Waiheke Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.