We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor hospitality” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Midway Motel Waiheke Island

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Midway Motel Waiheke Island to your Saves list
Midway Motel Waiheke Island
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   1 Whakarite Rd. Ostend | Auckland, Waiheke Island 1081, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Waiheke Island
Rotorua
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Poor hospitality”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We arrived off the ferry at 10.30 at the Midway Motel with a 3 week old baby. The wedding we were attending was at 3pm. We were shown the check in time of 2pm on our paid booking receipt, so we had to go into town to find a public toilet and then feed our baby in the car. The owners were aware and did not offer any hospitality for our situation. They need to go on a Kiwihost training which shows hosts how to treat people (the foundation of your business- people)
We went back at 12pm to enable us to get ready for the wedding. Dogs barked constantly all night and the neighbours were partying, so not a great sleep.
We would not recommend this motel to any other travellers to Waiheke. Try Book a Bach instead folks.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaihekeMidwayMotel, Owner at Midway Motel Waiheke Island, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
It is a pity that the person who made the booking didn’t contact us prior to arrival to ask for early check-in as we would have been happy to be flexible. We had had a very full night before and so all Units had to be serviced after guests left. As I recall it was well before 10.30 that you arrived because I remember saying, politely, that some guests have only just left and we had to service all units. You were right in saying that the confirmation said check-in 2.00pm and so we were puzzled why you had arrived nearly 5 hours early. At all times I was respectful and helped where I could by explaining our situation. When you did arrive back shortly after midday we had the unit ready for you and I was pleased to assist you to it – there were no adverse comments from you at that time.
We too live on site and near the unit you were in. We heard no noise that night and no other guests raised any issues.
Overall we had a very busy, successful and positive Easter weekend – we are sad that you as a valued guest didn’t.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    9
    2
    1
    3
See reviews for
8
7
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

We stayed here for two nights last week with friends .... each having a studio unit Number 5 and 6....the units had everything that we required and were clean and tidy... and our bed was nice and comfortable. The owners were very friendly and helpful and we were all very happy with our accommodation. The parking is not the greatest, but is as good as it could be considering the position of the units and the section.. The Motel is handy to all the amenities that we needed and we would have no hesitation in staying here again...

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

We felt this was not value for money. Very basic facilities poor parking and decor etc out of date. As for the toilet and shower really needs upgrading. One night was more than enough. Our experience did not match the presentation on the web site.

Room Tip: take care.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaihekeMidwayMotel, Owner at Midway Motel Waiheke Island, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
It is unfortunate that you didn’t discuss with us personally your feelings about your accommodation, rather than just comment on an internet site. Since we took over the Motel late last year we have been busy repairing and updating furnishings during a very busy season. The Unit you were in was a standard Studio Unit, parking is right outside the door and all advertised amenities were provided. Your comments and opinions on a one to one basis may have been helpful for us as we strive to improve room standards and facilities and we could have taken the opportunity to show you some of our other units. Midway Motel is still the best value (and only) Motel on Waiheke.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We used this as a one night stay whilst attending a wedding. The room was clean, tidy and spacious .Decor is a little dated but it was a very comfortable stay.
Most options had a 3 night minimum stay over this time but we were able to make a booking for only one night at a very reasonable rate.
The Saturday craft/ food markets were across the road which was a great bonus.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaihekeMidwayMotel, Owner at Midway Motel Waiheke Island, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are pleased that, like a lot of others, you enjoyed your stay at Midway.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Waiheke Island hotels
3.1 mi away
Delamore Lodge
Delamore Lodge
#1 of 10 in Waiheke Island
5.0 of 5 stars 159 reviews
1.9 mi away
Breakfast on the Beach Lodge
Breakfast on the Beach Lodge
#3 of 10 in Waiheke Island
5.0 of 5 stars 158 reviews
0.7 mi away
Waiheke Island Resort
Waiheke Island Resort
#6 of 10 in Waiheke Island
3.0 of 5 stars 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Onetangi Beach Apartments
0.3 mi away
Le Chalet Waiheke Apartments
Le Chalet Waiheke Apartments
#9 of 22 in Waiheke Island
4.5 of 5 stars 36 reviews
1.2 mi away
Enclosure Bay
Enclosure Bay
#1 of 27 in Waiheke Island
5.0 of 5 stars 185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Midway Motel Waiheke Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Midway Motel Waiheke Island

Address: 1 Whakarite Rd. Ostend | Auckland, Waiheke Island 1081, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Waiheke Island
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Waiheke Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Midway Motel Waiheke Island 2.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Accommodation at the Midway Motel on Waiheke Island, Auckland, NZ: 5 Studio Units which sleep 1-2; 3 spacious 1 Bedroom Units which sleep 2-3 (1 with access facilities); 5 large 2 Bedroom Units which sleep 4-5. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Midway Motel Waiheke Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Midway Motel Waiheke Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.