We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lavender Hill

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Waiheke Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lavender Hill
Save
You added Lavender Hill to your Saves list
59 Church Bay Road | Church Bay, Waiheke Island, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 25 Waiheke Island B&B and Inns
auckland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Stunning!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

Lavender Hill is definitely the most incredible place to stay on Waiheke. I was a bridesmaid at a wedding there and we stayed the night before and got ready on the day. The rooms were stunning, the food delicious and the hosts were excellent. Stunning views back to Auckland made it the most amazing place to have a wedding or just stay for the weekend as a guest.

Room Tip: All rooms were stunning with incredible views and attention to detail.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    1
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
53
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

We have been lucky enough to stay at Lavender Hill on a couple of occasions. Our first experience we were attending a friend's wedding at Mudbrick and decided to treat ourselves to a night of luxury. Lavender Hill is breathtakingly gorgeous, with beautiful views in an amazing setting. My only feedback was we didn't get to spend enough time there as we had a wedding to attend! The suites are gorgeous and immaculate. But the service is extraordinary. Tracey is the perfect host, happy to organise anything to make your stay special, lovely company for a pre dinner drink yet incredibly professional. Oh and you'll find it hard to find a better breakfast anywhere else on the island. Getting there is seamless...only 35 mins from Auckland and you are transported to a place that you can't quite work out where you are. Our first stay there was so incredible, later that year we got engaged there and last month we were married there. Lavender Hill is more than a B&B...it's a place you will love and you will never forget.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2010

We stayed in Lavender Hill's beach apartment. It's available through the Lavender Hill website but is located away from Lavedner Hill in a beachside apartment complex. It is a very nice modern two bedroom apartment with a good view and well furnished, but although the $350 per night price is I think the same as other similar apartments in the complex, it is still a premium price which would somehow seem more appropriate if you got just a little bit extra on the service side. For example to provide some sort of welcome like a half bottle of wine & small note or similar (the sort of thing we have got when staying in other similar boutique high end owner run establishments in other countries) would make you feel you aren't getting the minimum to make the grade but nothing more. The owners may not live on site but for $700 for two nights, a $20 spend by the owners and maybe 15 minutes in the car wold be a good idea. Also there were no toilet rolls in the second bathroom, two teabags (only), and the bed linen while ok again is not top end quality but what you'd buy at The Warehouse or Target etc. All in all very nice, but in my opinion overpriced and not a boutique experience as presumably Lavender Hill's other accomodation offerings are.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2009

Quite honestly the best bed and breakfast we have stayed. It was the perfect place to spend our wedding night. The attention to detail is amazing and not a thing is out of place. The quality of the breakfast is superb and the location and view from the property spectacular.

Wouldn't hesitate to recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2008

Lavender Hill exceeded everything we could have hoped for to conclude our already amazing wedding day. Not only did it provide a regal experience for the bridal party to prepare in, a stunning backdrop for some wedding shots but also a perfect romantic setting for our wedding night. The attention to detail is 2nd to none, with every angle of the Lavender Hill experience being so tantilising and luxurious.
David and Judy made outstanding hosts, both discreet and extremely hospitable.
The 360 degree views from this Tuscan beauty are stunning, looking across the water, the island and some of its vineyards. You're close to the ferry, and some of Waiheke's best vineyards and restaurants yet you still get the feeling of seclusion.
The only letdown of our stay is that it came to an end.
There is truely nowhere better to experience such a slice of heaven! We'll definatly be back.

  • Liked — Absolutely everything from the room, to the hosts to the location!
  • Disliked — Having to leave.
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, NZ
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2008

We stayed here for the first two nights after our Waiheke wedding, and wallowed in the luxury. What a wonderful way to start our married life - fantastic views of the Hauraki Gulf, huge comfy bed, great range of wines available in your room, fabulous breakfasts and the all important snuggly robes. Would love to come back in winter & enjoy the fireplace - a six month anniversary trip is in the planning.....

  • Liked — Location and luxury
  • Disliked — Nothing to dislike
  • Stayed February 2008
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lower Doaghs
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2008

A fabulous place to stay with wonderful views, great facilities superb breakfasts and helpful but unobtrusive hosts. Ands close enough to walk to restaurants and wineries.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Internet access on Waiheke is limited (for now)
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lavender Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lavender Hill

Address: 59 Church Bay Road | Church Bay, Waiheke Island, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Waiheke Island
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Waiheke Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lavender Hill is a very special and romantic setting overlooking Mudbrick and Cable Bay vineyards and our own olive grove, creating an atmosphere of total tranquility. From the moment you arrive at Lavender Hill you leave the rest of the world behind. Your senses awaken to the ultimate in relaxation and romance. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lavender Hill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.