We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hey....now that was good...........very good” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Oyster Inn

The Oyster Inn
124 Ocean View Road | Oneroa, Waiheke Island, New Zealand
+64 9-372 2222
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Just 40 minutes from Auckland but a world away, The Oyster Inn is the perfect escape from Auckland, whether for just a night, a weekend or longer. The Inn features a large restaurant & bar, a beach boutique, a private event space three luxuriously simple guest rooms. Opened in 2012, The Oyster Inn has gained local and international attention, being featured on Travel & Leisure's 2013 IT List and Metro's Top 50 Restaurants. With a gorgeous but unpretentious interior by designer Katie Lockhart, The Oyster Inn has fast become one of the island's most popular restaurants.
Hamilton / Cambridge, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Hey....now that was good...........very good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

As first time visitors to Waiheke Island, with limited time, it was suggested we visit the Oyster Inn.
We were greeted by Perry, who added to the experience with his knowledge of the food available, great banter, so we followed his recommendations, which were appreciated by us all.
Value and quality of all offered to us on our first visit was very, very good, thank you, Perry & team at Oyster Inn.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    142
    73
    40
    12
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Grantham, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Over rated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

I had dinner here one evening in February 2013 and it was clear that this was a very popular venue as it was very busy on a Friday evening. We were seated at the bar to eat dinner as there were no tables free. I had the octopus salad, which was very pleasant. My friend tried the pappardelle pasta, which was distinctly ordinary. Given I was old that this place was the latest and hottest place to eat in Oneroa, I was somewhat disappointed with both the venue and the food.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Nom nom nom”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

One word 'incredible'. Recently enjoyed a very nice long lunch with family and friends for my 40th. We wiled away two hours over incredible wines, amazing food and outstanding service. Thanks for making it so special. I will be raving about this place and insisting for all who visit Waiheke.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whakatane, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“top nosh”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

really neat place, great food, views and great service, really good choices on the menu, friendly funny staff great atmosphere

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Starry starry night”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

We were lucky enough to go on a night which wasn't overbooked and we given a table on the verandah, overlooking Oneroa Bay. The venue was perfect, the food and wines perfectly matched the evening. We were on our honeymoon and this was our first meal together as a married couple, and we were't disappointed. We were in heaven. Thankyou Oyster Inn, AMAZING

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Oyster Inn also viewed

Waiheke Island, Auckland Region
 

Been to The Oyster Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Oyster Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.