We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A High End Retreat and Haven” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hei Matau Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hei Matau Lodge to your Saves list
Hei Matau Lodge
20 Cable Bay Lane | Oneroa, Waiheke Island 1971, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 25 Waiheke Island B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
“A High End Retreat and Haven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

During our two day stay the island produced various weather conditions and Hei Matau offered a peaceful haven from all these elements. The lodge has stunning uninterrupted sea views, plush surrounds, attentive and congenial hosts Fiona and Peter, excellent food and wine. A high end retreat, perfect for relaxing in a superb location.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
61
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Plymouth, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

My partner and I visited Waiheke for a weekend break and had a perfect experience with our stay at Hei Matau. Every aspect of the accommodation and hospitality was world class, with Peter and Fiona ensuring that we were well looked after (even before we arrived). The views from our room were stunning, offering the perfect amount of seclusion and privacy in idyllic green surroundings just meters from the beach. The communal areas are fantastic, offering equally stunning views across the gulf, and provide a good opportunity to enjoy the company of the hosts with a glass of local produce and some delicious home-made canapés! The breakfasts were another distinguishing feature, with a fine selection of fresh fruits, muesli and hot savoury offerings to enjoy (if you still have room!). Hei Matau is truly a special place with fantastic hosts, and i cannot recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

Me and Sean had our wedding in Hei Matau. It is absolutely beautiful over there. And owner Peter and Fiona are the kindest vendor ever. They even baked browie for us, and prepare the wedding gift for us. It is so amazing.
The Lodge itself is an awesome piece of art. You just can never have enough of it. It gives you WOW effect in anytime. And the price for this place is very resonable too.
We would definitely go back for holiday again. Wonderful experience over there!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

My family spent one night at The Hei Matau Lodge. Peter and Fiona were wonderful hosts, we felt welcome and at ease immediately. The rooms and bathrooms are gorgeous and come with all the little extras that make one feel special. The ocean view is spectacular and the property is surrounded by lush greenery and even a beautiful horse grazing peacefully. The breakfast was to die for and our wonderful hosts had the table beautifully set up ready when we were. We so enjoyed our time at the Hei Matau and would highly recommend this property to anyone looking for a luxuriously peaceful stay.

Room Tip: Room overlooking ocean on lower floor was gorgeous
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taupo, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

Absolutely delightful place. quiet private ocean beach, swimming pool and hot tub, views of water, beautiful lawn, impeccable furnishings, not too ornate, but extremely tasteful. Sorry for the run-on sentences, but I could run on and on about Hei Matau. The lovely owners provided food for the trip and great suggestions of things to do. The island of Waiheke is a perfect launch pad to New Zealand with its wineries, restaurants and local/organic flavors. Couldn't recommend the place more. We stayed with our three kiddies in the main house and it was perfect.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morrinsville, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

The service and hospitality of Peter and Fiona was fantastic from our first point of contact to even after we left (a number of Fiona's recipes came our way). Hei Matau Lodge is a beautifully appointed property with expansive views of the Hauraki Gulf. We chose the romantic package as we were celebrating our 25th wedding anniversary of which all aspects were faultless and in particular the gourmet picnic hamper which had an amazing selection of goodies and our individualised massages. The breakfasts were a great start to the day and the pre-dinner cocktail nibbles accompanied by Waiheke Island wines were devine. It was also a pleasure to meet the other guests of which all were from overseas. Why travel overseas when we have this in our own backyard.

Room Tip: Our room was fabulous and would imagine all rooms would be regardless of location
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

We could only escape for a few short days to celebrate our wedding anniversary and it turned out that a brief holiday in our own back yard (we only live 40 minutes away by ferry) was no compromise after all. Hei Matau is world class accomodation with the perfect balance of luxury and comfortable ambiance. The impression is one of being miles from any where whilst being just down the road from a thriving village, sophisticated or casual restaurants (take your pick), wine tasting, art, beautiful beaches, interesting walks (all levels). What more could you want? Peter and Fiona - perfect hosts.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hei Matau Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hei Matau Lodge

Address: 20 Cable Bay Lane | Oneroa, Waiheke Island 1971, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Waiheke Island
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Waiheke Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you stay at Hei Matau Lodge you are the pampered guest in a world class luxury beach house. Your experience will include the perfect combination of stunning sea views, casual luxury and genuine kiwi hospitality. Set in 7 ½ acres of grounds with extensive native planting, Hei Matau has direct beach access to a secluded bay. Enjoy relaxing at the beach, taking the lodge kayaks for a paddle to explore the coastline or take the lodge's small dinghy for a spot of fishing. Award winning vineyards offer wine tasting, hiking trail, art galleries and world class restaurants all add to the experiencing that is Hei Matau Lodge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hei Matau Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hei Matau Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.