We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Slice of Heaven on Waiheke Island” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hei Matau Lodge

Save Saved
You added Hei Matau Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hei Matau Lodge
20 Cable Bay Lane | Oneroa, Waiheke Island 1971, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 23 Waiheke Island B&B and Inns
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
“A Slice of Heaven on Waiheke Island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Hei Matau Lodge is a slice of heaven on Waiheke Island.
Rodney and I booked the Romantic Getaway At Hei Matau. The first glimpse of the stunning view as the gates rolled back hinted at the sublime indulgence that was to be presented to us over the following two days.

Peter and Fiona's hosting is magnificent. From the welcome coffee accompanied by delectable home baked cookies to the personal bottle of Taittinger in our room, their hosting was faultless.

The divine breakfasts were enjoyed whilst overlooking the endless water views. The pre-dinner
canapés with delicious local wines was a perfect beginning to a romantic dinner at the local restaurants. Peter and Fiona booked the restaurants, chauffeured us there and back. We felt like royalty.

Peter's advice and guidance on local attractions and wineries was invaluable.

Hei Matau Lodge is faultless in its luxurious surrounds - the rooms were perfect. Just Divine!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter K, Owner at Hei Matau Lodge, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Lisa thank you for taking time out to do a review.We think we have our own slice of paradise here at the western end of waiheke and enjoy sharing it with our guests
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    69
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
44
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

My Husband and I spent our first wedding anniversary here at Hei Matau on Waiheke Island. Being our favourite place to holiday, we have stayed at a few different spots on the island – so I can say from experience that Hei Matau is the best of the best.

Peter and Fiona are exceptional quintessential kiwi hosts, if you are traveling from outside of New Zealand, you will no doubt get to experience the best of kiwi hospitality here. We felt thoroughly spoiled, everything is well thought out, and the attention to detail just makes your holiday that much more special. We had expert advice whenever we needed it, but plenty of peace and privacy to enjoy our special weekend together.

The Kereru suite was beautiful and relaxing, adjacent to the pool deck, and perfectly positioned to enjoy the mesmerising view – even if you haven’t made it out of bed yet!

Holidaying with food allergies can by trying at times, but Fiona and Peter took away those worries and presented amazing food. Fiona’s breakfasts and home baking would rival any top Auckland cafe when it comes to gluten and dairy free. If you fancy a relaxing night in taking in the surroundings, we highly recommend Hei Matau’s BBQ dinner, teamed with local wine – a great evening.

Highlights for us, waking up to that amazing view, watching the sun set over a glass of wine with our hosts, eating fresh oysters, hearing the history and meaning behind Hei Matau's sculptures, and enjoying the spa pool under the stars.

Thank you, and we can’t wait to return!

Room Tip: Kereru suite is perfectly situated for an evening dip in the spa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter K, Owner at Hei Matau Lodge, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience with fellow travellers. We are thrilled that you enjoyed our hospitality and hope that your first anniversary was one you will always remember.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Booked a couple of days away for a bit of relaxation and pampering, my expectations were not only met but exceeded. Hei Matau Lodge is set in superb surroundings. The moment Peter opens the gates you are mesmerized by the view. Peter and Fiona are fantastic hosts. From the moment we booked Peter offered advice and recommendations as to where to eat and places to visit. Then making the necessary bookings for our meals etc, Peter then chauffeured us to and from the booked venues, making the whole stay effortless on our part. The food provided at the Lodge was fresh and delicious, from the homemade muesli to the 3 course dinner. The rooms were well thought out. There was nothing I could fault. The whole experience was amazing and I would highly recommend staying at the Hei Matau Lodge. I look forward to visiting in near future.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter K, Owner at Hei Matau Lodge, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thank you for taking time out to review Hei Matau.It was great to hear that you enjoyed your stay- we try hard to ensure all of our guests are "pampered" and get the the most out of their time on Waiheke. We look forward to meeting you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

A relaxing girls getaway was made spectacular from the time the gates opened and the view made us both exclaim WOW! What a beautiful tranquil spot to treat yourself. Peter and Fiona are wonderful hosts and seem to know what you require before you do. The rooms were perfect and the views never ending. The service was exceptional from Peter driving us around the island and collecting us from outings to the meals. The food was delicious and plentiful and made with love. Every part of Hei Matau is comfortable from the glass box to the winter lounge to the many outside spaces including relaxing in the spa as the stars come out. I look forward to returning, thank you for enabling us to fully relax. You have a beautiful property.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter K, Owner at Hei Matau Lodge, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Thank you for sharing your thoughts on Hei Matau. WE were glad you enjoyed your time at our haven on the beach and the best waiheke has to offer.We hope we see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We have stayed in a few places on Waiheke but Hei Matau exceeds all expectations. Peter and Fiona have transformed an excellent spot into a secluded luxury haven with all you could possible want for a perfect weekend escape including a private beach. We booked here as a treat after a friends wedding on the island and were thoroughly spoiled with excellent food, wine and a lovely room next to the spa. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter K, Owner at Hei Matau Lodge, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property and share your experience with fellow travellers. We think we have a very special part of Waiheke and enjoy sharing it with our guests. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

The property and the island are gorgeous. Peter and Fiona take care of you from the time you book a room until the time you leave the island. There knowledge and willingness to help you create the perfect holiday makes the stay that much better. The food was excellent and plentiful. The wine was local and great. We could not find a single complaint about this lodge. Easily the most accommodating lodge we have ever stayed at. They go above and beyond what you would expect.
Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter K, Owner at Hei Matau Lodge, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences at Hei Matau with fellow travellers.We enjoy showcasing the island and strive to ensure all of our guests have a memorable stay. We hope you make it this way again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We stayed at Hei Matau toward the end of our 3 week stay in and around Auckland and Niue, and we don't regret the choice one bit. Our hosts - Peter & Fiona - make you feel like royalty. Both my wife and I have travelled and stayed and some of the best accommodations in the world, and Hei Matau is on the same level as a Four Seasons or Ritz-Carlton.

Things worth mentioning: Be prepared to eat! I consider myself a big eater and I rarely lose a match to any meal. However, I was never able to finish all the delicious food presented before us. With the mix of delicious food for breakfast, lunch and dinner, paired with beautiful wine. Make sure to bring your appetite!

The property is gorgeous and you feel warm and comfortable, no matter what space you choose. Whether its in the library reading a book, or in your room listening to music. The abeyance is relaxing and soothing!

We spent most of our second day traveling the island with Peter as our guide. He gave a complete history and fielded many of our questions. It was a lovely way to enjoy a day.

I would recommend Hei Matau Lodge to anyone looking for a beautiful end (or beginning) to any vacation. Thank you Peter & Fiona for your wonderful hospitality!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter K, Owner at Hei Matau Lodge, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thank you for taking time to complete a review. We are honoured that you rated our accomodation in such illustrious company. WE try hard to exceed expectations at Hei Matau.We hope you make it this way again-safe travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hei Matau Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hei Matau Lodge

Address: 20 Cable Bay Lane | Oneroa, Waiheke Island 1971, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Waiheke Island
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Waiheke Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you stay at Hei Matau Lodge you are the pampered guest in a world class luxury beach house. Your experience will include the perfect combination of stunning sea views, casual luxury and genuine kiwi hospitality. Set in 7 ½ acres of grounds with extensive native planting, Hei Matau has direct beach access to a secluded bay. Enjoy relaxing at the beach, taking the lodge kayaks for a paddle to explore the coastline or take the lodge's small dinghy for a spot of fishing. Award winning vineyards offer wine tasting, hiking trail, art galleries and world class restaurants all add to the experiencing that is Hei Matau Lodge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Hei Matau Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hei Matau Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.