We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing short of excellence” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Te Whau Lodge

Save Saved
You added Te Whau Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Te Whau Lodge
36 Vintage Lane | Te Whau Point, Waiheke Island 1240, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 10 hotels in Waiheke Island
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nothing short of excellence”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Kristi and I chose this from the reviews for our first night as Mr & Mrs after having a small wedding on Palm Beach. We simply could not have found a more perfect location. From gorgeous views to beautiful rooms to first class wines and food.

If you are looking for something special on Waiheke you have to stay at Te Whau lodge, we will again for our anniversary that is for sure. Thanks Gene and Liz for making our night and stay so special, hope the wedding in Cambridge went well.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    44
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
34
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

We spent three wonderful days on our honeymoon at this idyllic island lodge. Liz and Gene were the perfect hosts. Dine, relax and wake up to the most spectacular views over the surrounding waters and enjoy perfect quiet, interrupted by the song from native birds. The spa was awesome and such a treat to enjoy after a day of island exploits to relax in. However for us the impeccable service and attention to detail with great food, privacy and advice on Waiheke were the defining factors and we would recommend this venue to anybody looking for that special location. From the moment we arrived to the moment we left we were made to feel special.....We are already planning a future visit for that special occasion.
David & Joan

Room Tip: Trust your hosts they will place you in a great room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

A very special place high in the hills of Waheike Island with magnificent views of the harbour, ocean and all the way to Aukland. The modern buildings snuggle into the hillside and the common rooms and comfortable bedrooms all face the ocean. Sunsets not to be missed! Dinner is New Zealand lodge style, at a long table with the other lodge guests. Canapes, wine and relaxed company before dinner with the hosts, Gene and Liz and guests. Gene is a creative chef, passionate about cooking. Dinner and breakfast were both excellent and unique. Excellent local wines offered with dinner at very reasonable prices. Waheike Island is a special place and Gene and Liz make Te Whau Lodge a lovely experience.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

This place is magical. The views are beyond what any photo can show, the food is exceptional and the service warm and personal. Sitting in the spa pool under the stars was a particular treat, and little touches like gourmet teas and bath sheets made it feel truly luxurious. Gene and Liz's company and advice was excellent ... it felt like staying with family friends! If there was one thing I would say is lacking is decent coffee - it's adequate but far from cafe standard... Perhaps a nespresso machine could be the answer?

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

Very warm and friendly host in a very relaxing, comfy and yet elegant atmosphere. Food is exceptionally well presented and tastes great too. They indeed helped made our 2012 end of year dinner very memorable indeed :).

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Liz and Gene are AMAZING hosts. We stayed in the Boat room--it was lovely. Views of the water everywhere. my husband typically does not like the "closeness" of B & Bs, but he loved it here. You have lots of privacy---a beautiful view of the water from every room. We arrived VERY early in the morning, hoping to just drop off our luggage, and they let us in---our room was available, so they let us go in and even did our laundry and prepared coffee for us. We had a fabulous group dinner one evening with the most amazing ground chicken/shrimp appetizers. This is a very special wonderful place.

Room Tip: There are only 4 rooms, all with the same beautiful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012 via mobile

You are definitely a guest, not a customer, at the Lodge. Warmly welcomed, and able to enjoy so much of the property as your own home, Te Whau is a very special destination. Absolutely, rent a car for the island, and take a gentle day to soak in the paradise of turquoise bays, golden sands and lush hillsides...but the take yourself back to the Lodge to relax, enjoy wonderful canapés in the company of Liz and Gene, the superb owners and hosts, rest some more watching the sun go down over the bays.....the next morning be treated to divine breakfasts 'with a twist' perfectly described and cooked by Gene. This place is very special.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Te Whau Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Te Whau Lodge

Address: 36 Vintage Lane | Te Whau Point, Waiheke Island 1240, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Waiheke Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 hotels in Waiheke Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Te Whau Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Te Whau Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.