We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Man O' War Vineyards

Man O' War Vineyards
725 Man O' War Bay Rd | Man O' War Bay, Waiheke Island 1971, New Zealand
64 9 303 9677
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Gisborne, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

I loved it here: the location is truly spectacular, and sitting outside under the umbrellas a relaxing way to spend a few hours.
They serve yummy platters, with cheese, relish, breads, cold meat, oil etc.
The wine drinkers amongst our group said the wine was fantastic.
Overall a wonderful few hours.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    26
    4
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Amazing location and best pinot gris!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

We have been to Man O War Vineyards at Man O War Bay, Waiheke Island several times this summer. It never fails to disappoint!
Firstly, the Exiled Pinot Gris is the best wine I have ever tasted! It is like liquid honey :) (I love sweeter wines). The platters are also delicious, with cheese and relish and local olive oil. They also do gluten free platters on request.
There is plenty of space for children and there are often kids running around playing cricket. Also petanque for the adults! Also great shade covers for when it's too hot to sit under the sun.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Island, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“LOCATION LOCATION”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

Another perfect place in New Zealand - we have so many.

First time here - great wine, top wine hostess, platters and sea location so worth a visit!

So relaxing should have stayed all day!

Will be coming back again soon.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A bit average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

Couldn't book by ringing this vineyard - they told us to go on line to book the shuttle. We tried on the iphone but the site wouldn't come up. We ran to the isite who also tried to book by phone - three phone calls later they told us to run to the bus stop at the other end of town. Finally got on the shuttle (mmmm a bit rickety - but the driver was cool) and off we went. What a horrible road getting in there, but a beautiful setting once you arrive. Staff tried to tack us on to the end of a 'grabone' party - we managed to separate from them and had a lovely wine tasting with a staff member. we had the platter between the two of us - very tasty, but what a shame there was very little choice and no desert option (would have been nice with their lovely sticky wine).

When I paid, there was no effort made to sell me any wine and I felt they were really rushed and could I just pay and make way for the next customer. Glad I have been there, but would I go back ... no.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
“Highly recommended - a "Must Do" on Waheke”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

I would say that driving to the Man O War winery would be on top of my must-do's on Waheke Island, it definitely was one of the highlights of our two day stay on the Island. Starting in Onetangi we took the northern route with just incredible views of the Hauraki Gulf and spectacular rolling hills and mountain vistas.
The Man O War Winery Tasting Room is steps away from a beautiful beach on Man O War Bay. Tastings are free (some very appealing wines) as are the spectacular views.
We then drove back to the Ostend area with more incredible vistas over the Tamaki Strait.
Both my wife and I agree that this drive is as scenic as the famous Ring of Kerry in Ireland which we have done 3 times.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Man O' War Vineyards also viewed

Waiheke Island, Auckland Region
Waiheke Island, Auckland Region
 
Waiheke Island, Auckland Region
Waiheke Island, Auckland Region
 

Been to Man O' War Vineyards? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Man O' War Vineyards, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.