We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We enjoyed our visit!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Man O' War Vineyards

Man O' War Vineyards
725 Man O' War Bay Rd | Man O' War Bay, Waiheke Island 1971, New Zealand
64 9 303 9677
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Santa Clara, California
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“We enjoyed our visit!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

The wine tasting is free, the view is beyond description. The men played bocce ball, and the women sat on the veranda and watched them! It is truly picture-perfect. You feel like you are in the movies--it is that perfect. You do take a dirt road to get there, but the drive is not bad, and the views that you get on this drive are wonderful. Would come again!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    26
    4
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Not to be missed!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

My husband and I visited the Man o' War winery in September 2012. We found the staff to be amazingly helpful and friendly. The wine tasting here is free (unlike other wineries on Waiheke Island) and they made sure you tried every wine they make! They also have olive oil and honey to try (we bought both - yum!)
After wine tasting we bought a glass each of our favourite wine and sat out on the verandah enjoying the gorgeous view. it was a bit chilly and one of the girls bought me a blanket which was really thoughtful.
We then wandered down to the beach and took some photos of a father & son fishing - very peaceful.
Its at the far extremity of the island but definitely worth the drive

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Onetangi, null, New Zealand
1 review
“Bad food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

The location is wonderful, the wine is delicious but the food is very over priced for a boring, packaged selection for the platter and the usual, and expensive. panini's. When are we going to get something other than Paninis everywhere. I notice other people have said the platters were good, Well I totally disagree.

Such a shame as its a long drive and it would be nice to eat something tasty there. I wont be returning. Thank goodness for Passage Rock on the way home.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Magic location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

This winery is picture-perfect. A purpose-built colonial style building with an inviting verandah along the front overlooking a green lawn and out to a gorgeous bay - what could be better!

The girl doing our wine tastings was helpful and friendly and gave us a bit of a potted history on the winery's name and beginnings.

The wine was lovely. We bought three bottles, and would've definitely purchased more if we had brought our own car over to the island!

A magic spot. Next time we will try a platter which they do over summer so we can sit out on the lawn over the picturesque bay to enjoy with our wine - pure heaven! :)

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Supreme Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Wonderful hosts, supreme service, in a corner of NZ one would not normally take the time to visit. Unique to say the east with a top quality range of wines, all grown locally.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Man O' War Vineyards also viewed

Waiheke Island, Auckland Region
Waiheke Island, Auckland Region
 
Waiheke Island, Auckland Region
Waiheke Island, Auckland Region
 

Been to Man O' War Vineyards? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Man O' War Vineyards, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.