We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family day out - Xmas Treat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Island Sailing onboard Te Aura - Waiheke Island

Island Sailing onboard Te Aura - Waiheke Island
5A Crescent Road West | Palm Beach, Waiheke Island 1081, New Zealand
027 695 1241
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Boat Tours, Adventure
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Te Aura is a 12 metre skippered catamaran designed for sailing charters in style. Guests can enjoy catered, hands on sailing or relax amongst the numerous scenic bays, wildlife and breathtaking scenery of Waiheke Island and Hauraki Gulf. Options include a range of shared or exclusive day or twilight wine tasting cruises. Te Aura is safe and stable, and is ideally suited to a wide age range including children and has an on-board galley bar.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
“Great family day out - Xmas Treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Forget the xmas presents (stress of buying and do you really need it anyway! )- go for a family fun experience instead , thats what we wanted and that's exactly what we got with a chartered sailing day with the Te Aura and the crew.
We had a fanatastic day out sailing in the Hauraki Gulf around the islands. The wind was perfect for a great sail and for lunch we anchored off Waiheke Island at a lovely spot for kayaking and snorkelling.
Phil, Maire and Brendon were super hosts and the food ....hmmm beautiful !
Well recommended for a great experience and seeing what New Zealand and the Hauraki Gulf has to offer. Magic !

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maire B, Owner at Island Sailing onboard Te Aura - Waiheke Island, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Hi Pat and Tim,
Finally back in the. Office after a sailing charter to Great Barrier. It was lovely to meet you and the family and small world that you knew the Bellerby clan. Delighted you enjoyed your Christmas gifts and we certainly will promote that concept next year. Good luck with all the plans for the house.
Marie and Phill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    0
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Perfect Day Island Sailing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013 via mobile

Our full day sailing abord the Te Aura was PERFECT! I originally contacted Marie via Facebook and she was fantastic providing options for our day and responding to personal requirements of members of our group. Marie, Phill and Brendan were great hosts - and the delicious lunch met our varied dietary requirements. This was definitely a highlight of our Waiheke holiday.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maire B, Owner at Island Sailing onboard Te Aura - Waiheke Island, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Jane, I really enjoyed meeting your lovely family and it was our pleasure to host you on board Te Aura and share the beautiful Hauraki Gulf. Thank you so much for all those lovely goodies you left at the house. See you on your next trip to Waiheke..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armidale, Australia
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Two different experiences two AMAZING trips!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

My husband and I were fortunate enough to have spent 2 days with Phil, Maire and their son Brendon with our family.
Our first experience was sailing around the bay wine tasting. This was a magnificent way to spend our first afternoon on Waiheke tasting all the local wines and getting to know the place. We were also fortunate to taste some of the local produce prepared by Maire. The day was a little overcast, but it did not take away from the magnificence of sailing around thye bay.
Our second experience was a couple of days later where we spent a full day sailing. Phil sailed us around another side of the island to Onetangi (forgive the spelling!) where we dropped anchor, and had lunch cooked by Phil and Maire. Again tasting the local produce - the mussels in the white wine sauce were just divine!
Phil and Maire were just so accomodating to our family and we had the most amazing time, Dad even got to sail for a bit! It was the just the most amazing experinece and a wonderful way to see the island - a must do if you are in Waiheke!
Thanks Phil, Maire and Brendon!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maire B, Owner at Island Sailing onboard Te Aura - Waiheke Island, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
We so enjoyed meeting you all and I really enjoyed introducing you to some of Waiheke's delicious wines. Thank you for booking two charters. It was a fantastic end to 2012 to spend the day on board Te Aura with such a lovely family. Thanks for the great feedback. Happy 2013!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Place for a Proposal!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

My fiancé and I had an incredible afternoon out on Te Aura with Captain Phil and his son. Little did I know it would be the site of our engagement. While sitting at the front of the Catamaran on bean bags on the netting with a rainbow in the background he asked me to marry him. Of course I said yes!
Phil was wonderful and even without the proposal it would've been a glorious day. I cannot recommend this sailing charter enough. We were lucky as it was low season so we were the only 2 on the boat. What a memorable day!

Thank you again Phil!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maire B, Owner at Island Sailing onboard Te Aura - Waiheke Island, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Phill and Brendan just want to wish you both heaps of luck and happiness and we are delighted that you choose Te Aura for such a romantic proposal...now you do know we arrange the rainbow!!!! Its all part of the service. Thanks for booking Island Sailing and hope your special day is magical and perfect in everyway. Sorry for the delay in responding, we thought we had but better late then never. Don't forget to visit next time you ar ein Nz.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Day Sailing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

My husband and I had a fantastic day's sailing on Te Aura, a beautiful catamaran. Maire and Phil were tremendous hosts and treated us to wonderful lunch prepared and cooked by Phil. My husband even got a chance to take the wheel. Could not recommend this day out highly enough and we shall certainly be repeating the experience again! A perfect day out in the beautiful Hauraki Gulf with amazing hosts.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Island Sailing onboard Te Aura - Waiheke Island, responded to this review, June 23, 2012
What a fantastic mid-winter day out on the Hauraki Gulf! Phill and I are delighted that you had a great time on board Te Aura, look forward to seeing you during the summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Island Sailing onboard Te Aura - Waiheke Island also viewed

Onetangi, Waiheke Island
Waiheke Island, Auckland Region
 
Waiheke Island, Auckland Region
Waiheke Island, Auckland Region
 

Been to Island Sailing onboard Te Aura - Waiheke Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Island Sailing onboard Te Aura - Waiheke Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.