We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best of Waiheke” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Estate Church Bay

Save Saved
You added The Estate Church Bay to your Saves list
The Estate Church Bay
The Estate Church Bay
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Estate Church Bay
56 Church Bay Road | Church Bay, Waiheke Island, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 23 Waiheke Island B&B and Inns
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“The best of Waiheke”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

What a place. 360 degree views of the Hauraki Gulf is just the beginning. A wonderful suite, with everything you could need, well designed and thought out. Helen & Julian are the perfect hosts, and nothing is a problem. Included in the price is a stunning breakfast, delivered when you want it. Ask Julian about the local wineries, he knows them well based on personal experience and the loves of the odd glass.
The perfect base to take in Waiheke.

Room Tip: The suites have a nice outside area, the right place to enjoy your breakfast with great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    14
    1
    0
    1
    2
See reviews for
3
11
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Waiheke Island, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Best wedding we ever attended and wow, it was our own wedding! You might think… own wedding…prejudiced and fair enough, however… most of our guests are commenting the same ;)
We were very lucky with the weather and were able to organise the wedding just the way we wanted it. Small, intimate with symbols from both our cultures, family members participating in the ceremony and beautiful music. But without the location at the Estate, it would not have been the same.
We are not sure if there are any words to describe the view from the Estate. Waiheke already had a special place in our hearts but the Estate exceeded all our expectations. With most of our guests from overseas it was the perfect place to show how beautiful New Zealand is.
We wanted to have a small and low budget wedding, preferably at the beach. This was until we visited the Estate, and we were unable to imagine having it anywhere else. Although it was significantly over our initial budget, we couldn’t wish for more and it was worth every dollar. Julian and Helen are more than experienced when it comes to hosting weddings at the Estate. They were accommodating, approachable, resourceful and reassuring. The hospitality from Julian and Helen exceeded all our expectations and they were there at every turn making sure everything went as smoothly as possible.
The location and views are world class and our overall experience magical!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

My new husband and I were thrilled with our wedding at the Estate. We had a Hindu/Catholic wedding and the grounds were ideal for all the components of our special day. With family attending our wedding from Scotland, Canada, Trinidad, the USA, we wanted a beautiful NZ wedding venue and it was perfect. The views were incredible. All of our guests were impressed and the flow of the day was lovely.

I had the chance to spend the night before our wedding and the wedding night in the immaculate rooms. The lovely, modern finishes made it a luxury stay on our special day. We had an unforgettable experience.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

My husband and I held our wedding at The Estate in November 2012, and we wouldn’t have changed a single thing. We looked around a quite a few venues, but The Estate was the obvious choice. Everything about it is stunning, from the views, to the courtyard full of roses, the surrounding gardens, the house itself, and the amazing accommodation. Our hosts, Julian and Helen, were so friendly and welcoming, and were such a huge help in organising the wedding. With their wealth of experience, they not only helped with recommendations of caterers, florists and more, but took care of a lot of the organisation, such as booking the marquees, tables, chairs and linen. Julian was always happy to answer any questions we had, and their help meant that we were able to enjoy the whole process instead of being stressed by it.

The wedding day was a dream and everything went perfectly. My bridesmaids and I had stayed in the luxurious Rose Wing the night before, and were able to enjoy a leisurely morning in our suite, with a delicious breakfast brought to us by Helen. Our hosts were both on hand throughout the day to help, lend advice, and make sure everything ran smoothly. We had a fantastic day, and after waving off our guests we spent the night in the Hauraki Suite, which was every bit as amazing as the Rose Wing, perhaps even more so. Helen again brought us breakfast the following morning, which we enjoyed in the sunshine outside on our peaceful private patio.

We’d highly recommend The Estate for a wedding, or even just a weekend away – it provides a complete escape from daily life in such a beautiful, tranquil setting, with wonderful hosts who really want to make sure their guests are taken care of. Neither of us wanted to leave, and we definitely hope to return one day.

Room Tip: All rooms are of an excellent standard, with luxury furnishings and high quality fittings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

I love surprises when I travel to new destinations and so it was when my wife and I arrived at The Estate where I celebrated my 60th birthday. What greeted us upon arrival was a well tucked away (i.e. private) residence of palatial and magnificent proportions situated amongst rollong hills amidst a variety of boutique wineries. Attached to the "mansion", which is in fact, the private home of Julian and his wife Helen, were two fabulous and independent bugalows which had a modern and well appointed fitout that offered privacy and the opportunity to simply chill out. The king size bed was heavenly! But what came next was an even bigger surprise treat. Rather than have our meals brought to our bungalow (which is an option) we were invited into the main house where we were treated to a culinary extravaganza. It was more than we could eat but it was exquisite and was prepared by our host Julian. The fact that we had been invited into their home was something that we valued highly and we couldn't thank them enough for their warm and friendly hospitality. The scenery from the dining room out through the front door presented us with a view to die for, a panoramic vista across the front gardens, out across the bay and a breathtaking view of the city of Auckland. Both Julian and Helen were the consumate hosts and I cannot speak highly enough of our experience at The Estate. It's the jewel in the crown! Whether it's a stay for two or a function for 200 it's a must go to location.

Room Tip: Both bungalows are very private and very well appointed. It's the ideal location to get away fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We recently had family members travel to Auckland for a family function.Youngest brother who lives in Auckland was tasked with finding a memorable location with a relaxed and comfortable vibe to have a few days of luxury pampering. WOW what a fabulous stay we had. The Estate delivered in every area from cosy breakfasts to restaurant selection and bookings, They turned on the best BBQ for us on our final day. My wife and I have stayed in all sorts of Hotels all over the world and this would rank right up there with the best. We live in Sydney and wish this place was closer, regardless we will be back

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

I was best man at a wedding at The Estate recently. Other reviewers have mentioned how wonderful the views and scenery and I thought "Oh yeah, perhaps" but I have to say I was just blown away by how good they were. And from there things just kept getting better. The venue is superb, The rooms are exceptionally good, the fridges well stocked, at no extra cost, the beds comfortable and to wake up and experiene the calm,the quiet, and those views is beyond belief.

And so to the wedding. I found out later, and by her own admission. that the bride had a few pre "walk up the isle" moments but she said that Helen, (Host) was absolutely brilliant and kept her calm and poised for her big moment. The setting for both the formal and aftermath were very well set up in two marquees both on the front lawn (stunning views back to Auckland) and in the courtyard (great setting as well) The cuisine was excellent (a local chef I was told) and Julian (Host) kept a close watch on proceedings to make sure that everything went according to our plan. Which it did! Next morning we had a BBQ lunch which again was presided over by Julian and very reluctantly we took our leave the following day.

In all an unforgetable experience and I think the "icing on the cake" was the wonderful way we were looked after by the hosts who made everything so easy for us. Many thanks Helen and Julian. we will be back,

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Estate Church Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Estate Church Bay

Address: 56 Church Bay Road | Church Bay, Waiheke Island, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Waiheke Island
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Waiheke Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your The Estate Church Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Estate Church Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.