We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly Recommended” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Enclosure Bay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Enclosure Bay to your Saves list
Enclosure Bay
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   9 Great Barrier Road | Oneroa, Waiheke Island 1081, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary bottle of wine
Ranked #2 of 24 Waiheke Island B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Highly Recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We had a wonderful time staying at Enclosure Bay. The host Andy was great, he picked us up at the ferry in the pouring rain, recommended and booked wine tours for us and was always good for a quick chat when you ran into him. Overall a fantastic host. The room was amazing. Perfect for two people coming to the island to relax. Phenomenal views off the balcony and the suite was extremely comfortable. We even had our own Nespresso maker and washer! Our trip there was very relaxing and special.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
136
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Breathtaking views from Balcony & Room, own slice of heaven. Thoroughly relaxed ( & spoilt by Andy) after a week here. So glad we followed Andy's advice to have excellent long lunch at Poderi Crisci Restaurant & Winery.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

This was our first stop in NZ after the long trip from the US, and it was the perfect place to relax and settle in. Andy is a great host - helpful and friendly without being intrusive - and the room was clean and spacious with amazing views. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

We had a lovely stay one night this week. The room was perfect. The views are unbelievable. Andy (the owner) is a perfect host. We would highly recommend. This is a romantic spot you won't want to leave.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We recently visited Enclosure Bay and were both overwhelmed by the rooms, views, and hospitality. We were greeted by Andy and driven to our accommodation. We have stayed at many hotels and traveled to exciting places, but we both agree that this was by far one of the best places we have ever stayed. Thank you to Andy and Jen for a fantastic weekend.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

After reading about Waiheke Island we booked at short notice enclosure bay for a night. We were very pleasantly surprised, being picked up from the ferry by our lovely host Andy, who took us to his beautifully fitted B&B and upgraded us to a suite. The views are spectacular and rooms very spacious and private. Andy also lent us a car to drive around the island and visit some of the wineries. Definitely somewhere we will be telling our friends to visit and where we hope to return to in the future. I would stay for at least two nights to more fully relax and enjoy everything the island has to offer.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Amazing location with spectacular view all around. The hot tub is not to be missed especially with the sunset! Wonderful host along with fantastic rooms, a must stay when on Waiheke. Will definitely be returning in the future.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Enclosure Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Enclosure Bay

Address: 9 Great Barrier Road | Oneroa, Waiheke Island 1081, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Waiheke Island
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Waiheke Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Enclosure Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the beautiful, northern coastline of Waiheke Island, between Little Oneroa and Palm Beach, Enclosure Bay is a modern, architecturally designed, Small Hotel / Bed and Breakfast. We have two one bedroom suites and a King bedded room – all with private decks, air conditioning and facilities you would expect. Located just a 35 minute, ferry ride from downtown Auckland, (a few minutes longer on the car ferry), Waiheke Island is a tranquil, beautiful jewel in Auckland’s Hauraki Gulf. A ten minute drive from the ferry terminal at Matiatia will bring you to Enclosure Bay. Waiheke is renowned for its beautiful beaches and scenery, its vineyards, olive groves and native reserves with great walking tracks. The island is justly proud of its many excellent restaurants and cafes. Enclosure Bay is the ideal haven, where for a while, you can exchange the ‘every day’, for something special. Perfect for a honeymoon or anniversary celebration; for luxury, weekend breaks or just some timely R & R. We enjoy a wonderful setting, capturing the sun all day and providing panoramic views of the Hauraki Gulf and its islands. Uninterrupted views out as far as Great Barrier Island and Coromandel Peninsula to the east, Rakino Island, Little Barrier Island and the Noises to the north and the setting sun behind Rangitoto to the west. Your privacy and opportunity to take it easy, refresh and restore, are our priorities. So come to Enclosure Bay, relax, enjoy our ‘special place’ and watch the varied moods and colours of the Hauraki Gulf and its islands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Enclosure Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Enclosure Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.