We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Waiheke Island getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Enclosure Bay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Enclosure Bay to your Saves list
Enclosure Bay
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   9 Great Barrier Road | Oneroa, Waiheke Island 1081, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary bottle of wine
Ranked #2 of 25 Waiheke Island B&B and Inns
1 review
“Perfect Waiheke Island getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed amazing views of the island from our room. Andy suggested some perfect places for delicious food and wine experiences. Having a car helped us explore the whole island. A very laid back place to spend a long weekend.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
113
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We stayed just the one night in the Little Barrier Room - the room was perfect with an amazing view. Everything was pristine, would be hard to find fault with the quality of the room.
Andy was very helpful picking us up from the ferry and made an excellent recommendation for lunch at Casita Miro in Onetangi.
My highest recommendation - five stars plus!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here two nights before our 18 day cruise through New Zealand and Australia. It was the perfect place to come down and relax after a long plane ride from California. Andy was a great and attentive host who made sure everything was to our satisfaction. One evening he even had his son drive us to a local restaurant so we could enjoy a whole bottle of wine and not have to drive. The photos are hard to realistically capture the 180 degree views which are stunning, especially in the clear air of New Zealand.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Thanks Andy and Jenny. Enclosure Bay was a wonderful stop over on Waiheke. Clean modern accommodation with plenty of space and outstanding ocean views. Well equipped kitchen and balcony that made the most of the scenery. Andy really goes out of his way to be the obliging host including help with transport when possible. Waiheke was definitely worth the two night stay. Serviceable free Internet very much appreciated. We were kindly upgraded to the top suite which was superb.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolwarra
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Waiheke Island has got to be one of the best secrets in New Zealand -- for an Australian anyway. Only 35 minutes from downtown Auckland and, to coin a cliche, a million miles from care. We were met at the ferry by our host Andy in his classy 4WD, a veritable guide who is full of ideas about where to dine and outings. His establishment ticks all the boxes. Outstanding views ( which in New Zealand really means something), a very roomy unit with kitchenette, large living room, big deck, hot tub and so on. To top off our stay, Andy lent us the family car for 3 days for the price of a bottle of the island's excellent wine. That's service. Waiheke has plenty of good restaurants, vineyards and scenery in spades, an excellent place to spend a few days.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

The service was impeccable. We were met at the ferry by Andy, who gave us great tips on things to do during our short stay on Waiheke Island, and even gave us a ride to a couple of them. The B&B was close to everything that we wanted to do: beaches, wineries, hiking. After a day of exploring and wine-tasting, we enjoyed star-gazing from the secluded hot tub on the property. We enjoyed a fresh, hearty, healthy breakfast on the deck of the suite, which was well appointed, and had everything that we needed, plus an amazing view. Ah, the view... Can't wait to get back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed a glorious weekend at Enclosure Bay recently. The setting was stunning and the suite tastefully appointed to maximise the view. Andy's hospitality was faultless; he was very accommodating with any requests. I can happily recommend. While costly, I'd rather spend two nights here than three at some mediocre place. Well worth it. We will be back!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Enclosure Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Enclosure Bay

Address: 9 Great Barrier Road | Oneroa, Waiheke Island 1081, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Waiheke Island
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Waiheke Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Enclosure Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the beautiful, northern coastline of Waiheke Island, between Little Oneroa and Palm Beach, Enclosure Bay is a modern, architecturally designed, Small Hotel / Bed and Breakfast. We have two one bedroom suites and a King bedded room – all with private decks, air conditioning and facilities you would expect. Located just a 35 minute, ferry ride from downtown Auckland, (a few minutes longer on the car ferry), Waiheke Island is a tranquil, beautiful jewel in Auckland’s Hauraki Gulf. A ten minute drive from the ferry terminal at Matiatia will bring you to Enclosure Bay. Waiheke is renowned for its beautiful beaches and scenery, its vineyards, olive groves and native reserves with great walking tracks. The island is justly proud of its many excellent restaurants and cafes. Enclosure Bay is the ideal haven, where for a while, you can exchange the ‘every day’, for something special. Perfect for a honeymoon or anniversary celebration; for luxury, weekend breaks or just some timely R & R. We enjoy a wonderful setting, capturing the sun all day and providing panoramic views of the Hauraki Gulf and its islands. Uninterrupted views out as far as Great Barrier Island and Coromandel Peninsula to the east, Rakino Island, Little Barrier Island and the Noises to the north and the setting sun behind Rangitoto to the west. Your privacy and opportunity to take it easy, refresh and restore, are our priorities. So come to Enclosure Bay, relax, enjoy our ‘special place’ and watch the varied moods and colours of the Hauraki Gulf and its islands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, T4B, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Enclosure Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Enclosure Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.