We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful stay on waiheke!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Enclosure Bay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Enclosure Bay to your Saves list
Enclosure Bay
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   9 Great Barrier Road | Oneroa, Waiheke Island 1081, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary bottle of wine
Ranked #2 of 25 Waiheke Island B&B and Inns
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“wonderful stay on waiheke!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012 via mobile

We had a fantastic and relaxing two night stay at Enclosure Bay to welcome 2012!

We stayed in the Great Barrier Room which was modern, clean and very spacious! We were able to fully relax after a crazy Christmas. Internet access and sky tv to watch the boxing day test were a huge plus for us! There is also a well appointed kitchenette.

Andy&Jenny as hosts were so helpful! Nothing was too much trouble and delicious breakfast gets delivered each morning at your request.

Location wise, you get stunning views! You aren't in walking distance to shops but our past experiences on Waiheke (without a car) is that everything is spread out, such that nothing is really easy/enjoyable and in walking distance without a car, particularly if you want to winery hop. For this reason we took a car but by the sound of things Andy will help you out if you don't have a car or want to have a few drinks.

Andy was also really helpful in suggesting places to visit based on our love of reds!

A great stay and highly recommended!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
112
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, CA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

We started our 3 week road trip though New Zealand in this amazing B&B. As soon as we arrived, Andy told us we were being upgraded to the largest suite and we were thrilled! The rooms were well-decorated, with a large bathroom, great bed and very clean. The best part was the cantilevered deck, with a little table and two chairs, which provided an awesome view of Enclosure Bay. We spent many hours there enjoying the view and the bottle of wine Andy graciously provided. And how fun to have our breakfast delivered each morning on tray! There is not a better B&B on Waiheke Island!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011

My husband and I spent 4 nights at Enclosure Bay just before Xmas. We highly recommend this property in every way. Our hosts Andy and Jenny have many years experience in the hospitality industry and it shows in every way. Nothing was too much trouble and all the little things were attended to. We stayed in the Little Barrier room- it is the smallest of the rooms but is more than adequate size (bigger than the average hotel room with more facilities) with a great bathroom and bathtub with a view, and a balcony with fantastic views- even better as it is on the top floor. There were little touches like oil burners and candles, extra towels, jug, towels for ther spa, DVDs, to name a few.Andy provided us with lots of info re sights and restaurants and wineries- his top tip was lunch at Proderi Crispi winery. He also dropped us off to dinner twice and was happy to pick us up at locations if needed.
Also the location is super quiet.
Believe all the reviews and book now or you may miss out!

Room Tip: Little Barrier room is the smallest but has a great view as it is on the top floor. Other 2 rooms a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011

Andy the host picked us up from the ferry and from then on was as helpful as he could possibly be. The apartment which had amazing views over the sea was well equipped with all mod-cons and is furnished in a modern contemporary style however the entrance to the apartment enters the bedroom which I found a little unusual - of course a matter of personal taste.

Andy (originally from England) also gave us the free use of a run-around car to visit other parts of the island - a very helpful gesture. The property is relatively remote and whilst this a key attribute of the location it also means restaurants & shops are not really within walking distance. An excellent breakfast of cereal , fresh fruit and bread was delivered to the room on a tray each morning.

The weather was in monsoon mode so we made good use of the extensive dvd collection. It is worth pointing out that Andy and family live on the top floor of the building.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2011

This was the perfect way for my wife and I to end our New Zealand honeymoon trip. Andy and Jenny were wonderful hosts, friendly and warm. They upgraded our room for no charge and made us feel completely at home. They made recommendations for us, made us dinner reservations, and even personally drove us to a few places. They were very accessible, but we also felt like we had all the privacy in the world if we wanted it. The room was very comfortable and impeccably clean. The views from the patio and hot tub are breathtaking, especially on a clear night. We would have stayed forever if we could have and it would be a bargain at twice the price!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2011

Another wonderful review to add to all the others, you really cannot fault the island, and more importantly Enclosure Bay! We booked two nights in November at the end of a week-long business trip to Auckland, and I can honestly say it felt as though we were whisked to another world. Andy met us at the pier and advised us that we'd been upgraded to the Waiheke suite. What greeted us there were picturesque views and every attention to detail; robes, wine glasses for the spa, maps and anything else you could think of.
Andy lent us their spare car, gave us some tips for white wine tasting and off we headed. The drive over to Man 'o War wines if definitely worth the trip, nestled at the foot of undulating hills on a private beach, truly beautiful.
A beautiful continental breakfast was delivered to the room each morning, which meant we could sleep in late and enjoy our morning soaking up the spectacular view.
Andy's hospitality was second-to-none, all of these great reviews are definitely well-deserved and we have no hesitation in recommending Enclosure Bay to anyone. We'll definitely be back!

Room Tip: All 3 rooms looked gorgeous, were impeccably clean and offered all number of amenities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2011

My partner and I decided to have a weekend away after a week of night shifts. We are so glad we chose Enclosure Bay! Andy was amazingly attentive and hospitable. He was able to point out the best restaurants, beaches and wineries. We were lucky enough to stay in the Great Barrier Suite and the views and room were amazing. Nothing like soaking in a hot tub overlooking the bay! Would heartily recommend Enclosure Bay, and we will definitely be back

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Enclosure Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Enclosure Bay

Address: 9 Great Barrier Road | Oneroa, Waiheke Island 1081, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Waiheke Island
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Waiheke Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Enclosure Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the beautiful, northern coastline of Waiheke Island, between Little Oneroa and Palm Beach, Enclosure Bay is a modern, architecturally designed, Small Hotel / Bed and Breakfast. We have two one bedroom suites and a King bedded room – all with private decks, air conditioning and facilities you would expect. Located just a 35 minute, ferry ride from downtown Auckland, (a few minutes longer on the car ferry), Waiheke Island is a tranquil, beautiful jewel in Auckland’s Hauraki Gulf. A ten minute drive from the ferry terminal at Matiatia will bring you to Enclosure Bay. Waiheke is renowned for its beautiful beaches and scenery, its vineyards, olive groves and native reserves with great walking tracks. The island is justly proud of its many excellent restaurants and cafes. Enclosure Bay is the ideal haven, where for a while, you can exchange the ‘every day’, for something special. Perfect for a honeymoon or anniversary celebration; for luxury, weekend breaks or just some timely R & R. We enjoy a wonderful setting, capturing the sun all day and providing panoramic views of the Hauraki Gulf and its islands. Uninterrupted views out as far as Great Barrier Island and Coromandel Peninsula to the east, Rakino Island, Little Barrier Island and the Noises to the north and the setting sun behind Rangitoto to the west. Your privacy and opportunity to take it easy, refresh and restore, are our priorities. So come to Enclosure Bay, relax, enjoy our ‘special place’ and watch the varied moods and colours of the Hauraki Gulf and its islands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, T4B, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Enclosure Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Enclosure Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.