We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A friendly adventure filled with history and good wine!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Waiheke Island Wine Tours

Waiheke Island Wine Tours
2 Cresecent Road West, Waiheke Island 1081, New Zealand
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Tours, Food & Drink
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Many other companies masquerade as Waiheke Island Wine Tours but we are the ONLY Qualmark-accredited wine tour operator based on Waiheke Island. It's just a 35min ferry ride from downtown Auckland, across the sparkling waters of the Hauraki Gulf to paradise! We own and operate the business ourselves and have two highly experienced guides Wayne (owner) and Graham. We don't use "ring ins"! Our tours are small and intimate with nine clients max (two seats kept vacant) in our comfortable vehicle with aircon and large windows for excellent sightseeing. Spend a day with us and enjoy an entertaining scenic tour with full commentary on the island's Maori/European beginnings and life today. Included in the tour price are tasting fees for at least 14 wines at three top vineyards, chilled bottled water, Waiheke Island of Wine Map, transfers to lunch and back to the ferry after lunch. We operate daily (except Xmas Day, Easter Friday or the odd short break). Privately tailored tours are also available by arrangement.
Okinawa, Japan
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A friendly adventure filled with history and good wine!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

Our time spent on Waiheke Island may have been short, but it was nothing short of awesome! Wayne gave us a historical, friendly wine tour around the island and exposed us to some of the best wines that we've ever had. He could answer all of our questions and knew as much about the wineries as the owners, I think!

We visited 4 wineries during our tour and Wayne picked us up and dropped us off at our lodge. Then, I realized I'd left my jacket and he came back to bring it to me and drove us into town so we didn't have to walk. So sweet!

I'd definitely recommend this tour! Wayne knows what he's talking about, but doesn't make you feel uncomfortable if you're not a wine connoisseur. It was a great way to spend our anniversary!

** Our only regret is that we didn't buy wine or honey from Kennedy Point. I'll dream about that stuff forever!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeanandWayne, Owner at Waiheke Island Wine Tours, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear Kassie, Thanks for your lovely review of Wayne and our tour - glad to hear you had a fabulous day out with us. We are happy to go the extra mile for our clients, it is part of our genuine "Kiwi hopsitality". Hope you make it back to Waiheke Island to buy that wine or honey sometime :) Cheers! Jean and Wayne.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    181
    22
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Plymouth, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Awesome Winery Tour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

We had a fantastic day on Waiheke with Wayne. Loved his knowledge of the Island and sense of humour. Would definitely recommend to anyone wanting to visit Waiheke.

Visited May 2014

Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeanandWayne, Owner at Waiheke Island Wine Tours, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Hi WendyM, thanks for coming back to TA to write your review. Like us when we first visited the island, we find people are blown away by its beauty and we do love it when Kiwis choose to come out "on tour". It was great to hear you had a wonderful day out with Wayne - as you could see, he loves what he does :) Best wishes from us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Fabulous Tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

If you want to try some great New Zealand wine don't hesitate about this tour. Wayne was our tour guide and he did a great job. He is very personable and definitely not overbearing. He makes you feel right at home. He added a lot of the history of the island along with a visit to 3 great wineries. I have to admit I wasn't expecting the wine to be as good as it was. We were pleasantly surprised. It was a relaxing and very enjoyable tour.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeanandWayne, Owner at Waiheke Island Wine Tours, responded to this review, May 31, 2014
Hi RichardP thanks for visiting TripAdvisor to write your great review. We often find that people have a bias towards whites or reds and are surprised to discover they really love the other. Sometimes it is because they just haven't found the right one for them. Our climate is particularly suited to wine growing and hence we are making brilliant wines here. Glad to hear you enjoyed your tasting experience and your day out in "paradise". Cheers and best wishes! Jean and Wayne.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“The surrounds are great!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

If you like a very truistic place then in the small town of Waiheke is your place. The town is very small and truistic. few shops, nothing really interesting. The beach in the town is very charming and wroth to walk around and spending sometimes over there relaxing.
The surrounds in Waiheke Island are great! Incredible restaurants and superb view! Very nice walking with breath taking land scape!

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeanandWayne, Owner at Waiheke Island Wine Tours, responded to this review, May 31, 2014
Not sure you came out on tour with us (based on your comments) but thanks for visiting TripAdvisor to write about Waiheke Island.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great tour!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

This was an excellent tour - visited three wineries and got a great taste of the wine, cultural history and food of Waiheke Island. Wayne had some excellent tips and insights and was very good about getting us to areas that offered breathtaking views and world-renowned wine. Jean was very helpful in our short notice booking, and confirmed everything almost immediately!

We were very happy with the value, and (with the help of some wine!) made some friends along the way!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeanandWayne, Owner at Waiheke Island Wine Tours, responded to this review, May 31, 2014
Dear burberrytanqueray, many thanks for coming back to TripAdvisor to write your review. Glad to hear you (and your father - if I have it right??) had a wonderful day out with us. It was great to be able to accommodate you at short notice and we hope you might manage another trip "downunder" some day. Kind regards Jean and Wayne.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Waiheke Island Wine Tours also viewed

Waiheke Island, Auckland Region
Onetangi, Waiheke Island
 
Waiheke Island, Auckland Region
Waiheke Island, Auckland Region
 

Been to Waiheke Island Wine Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waiheke Island Wine Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.