We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Queens Birthday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Shed Restaurant at Te Motu Vineyard

The Shed Restaurant at Te Motu Vineyard
76 Onetangi Road | Waiheke, Waiheke Island, New Zealand
+64 9-372 6884
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $24
Cuisines: International, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Casual, garden-to-plate eating in a relaxed vineyard setting.
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
“Queens Birthday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our restaurant experience at The Shed Restaurant at Te Motu Vineyard on Queens Birthday. The booking was made on Friday and we requested 1.00pm but were informed that because of prior bookings would 2.00pm be acceptable. We accepted and arrived at 2.00pm and were immediately seated. We cannot fault the service or the food and wish to thank the staff for the friendly hospitality and assistance extended to us. We left the restaurant at 4.30pm and did not experience or witness any problems during this period.
We rate The Shed along with The Oyster Bar and Poderi Crisci as Waiheke Islands leading Restaurants.
Alison Boyce, Margaret Boyce (97 y o), Richard Ward.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    14
    8
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Rude restaurant manager and booking not fulfilled”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

We booked a group of 10 for $65 pp set menu lunch on Queen's birthday. Requested 1pm booking but was told 3pm only available. When we arrived we were told by the guy in charge that they would not be doing the set menu (the kitchen closed ay 3 pm), and he would organise some plates of food. He asked for someone from the group to take charge of the ordering (my husband offered), and promptly was rude to me when I asked a question (apparently only the one in charge could speak). We ended up with lambs tongue, chicken liver parfait, and a seafood dish. The only main available was a seafood option. A large number of the group did not or could not eat seafood, so it was slim pickings. It was appalling service all round. One of the group ordered a beer and had to ask three times before it arrived. The guy in charge was arrogant and I ask - why would you book a group for a meal you couldn't provide? We definitely won't be back, and we'll be spreading the word.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, Owner at The Shed Restaurant at Te Motu Vineyard, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Hi Sharron,

Thanks for your feedback. We are sorry that you did not enjoy your visit to our restaurant.

When your party of 12 arrived between 3.00pm and 3.40pm there was clearly some confusion with some incorrectly expecting a set menu and Simon your waiter did feel it was best for someone to take charge.

I am sorry you felt he was rude. We apologise for his manner with you. In mitigation all I can say is that we felt we had been very clear with what could and could not be offered in terms of booking for a large party on the holiday weekend on Waiheke. We will look to see if there is anything we can do to improve the clarity of our communication and we will reinforce with our staff the need for all communication to be in a hospitable manner.

We would love for you to come back and experience our full menu and the shed experience. As we have responded to Mark above, we pride ourselves on our service.

Kind Regards

Paul Dunleavy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Average food + Terrible service + Huge bill = Massive dissapointment”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

We booked for a group of 10 people for lunch - initially confirmed for 1pm and then later changed by the manager at the restaurant to 3pm, as he advised this was now the only time available, and said it would be better suit our group. Upon arriving at 3pm the manager proceeded to tell us the kitchen was not closed. We should have simply left then, but we stayed upon the offer of an alternative menu selection especially for us - bad idea!

The manager then went on to say "who is in charge?, someone needs to make the decisions here". My father came forward to talk through the menu options. A few minutes later my mother asked the manager a question about the wine, upon which his response was a very loud "you're not in charge, he's in charge, him talking to him!". Our guests and the rest of the restaurant looked on in disbelief as the manager walked away.

We had already ordered so we stayed, regretfully, only to receive an ongoing dose of poor service and a real feel of being looked down on by the pretentious staff. The food took quite some time to come out, the quality and quantity was average at best, and when guests ordered additional drinks, they had to do so three times before they were actually delivered.

Then at the end we received the bill... 2 mains, 8 tiny entree sized plates for the table, three extra bowls of bread (4 slices per bowl), 4 bottles of wine (we took one home), and 4 Peronis, at a whopping $550+!!!

We went here because this place had won some recent awards. Either the reviewer was blind, deaf, very patient, and had a large wallet - or perhaps there has been a complete staff change out and a new menu. Either way - avoid this place at all costs. There are many great places to eat on Waiheke. This is not one of them!!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, Owner at The Shed Restaurant at Te Motu Vineyard, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Hi Mark,

Thanks for your feedback. We are sorry you did not enjoy your visit to our restaurant or the service.

As I have noted in the response to Rachael’s review we recognised that your group wanted to come at 1pm but our restaurant manager was adamant we could not accommodate that but did offer a set menu at 3.pm. Kelly opted for a more informal setting in the cellar door with bar snacks.

It was a holiday weekend on Waiheke and I am sure none of the other great places to eat on Waiheke would have had room for a group of this size at such late notice.

We will look carefully at our staffing levels on holiday weekends and when to decline bookings outright rather than try to fit everyone in.

We can see that there was a misunderstanding about your booking, the situation became stressed and you felt the service was poor. We apologise for the manner of your waiter.

Rest assured that we take pride in our service and we understand that service is as much as 40% of the scoring for the Metro Restaurant awards where we won the Best Rural Restaurant category.

We would love for you to come back and experience our full menu. Generally, we can arrange bookings for most sittings, but holiday weekends require more notice.


Kind Regards

Paul Dunleavy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Extremely disappointing, would not go back!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

After hearing great things about this restaurant and awards via Metro Top 50 we had high hopes for a great afternoon. Unfortunately it was not to be so. I did not personally make the original booking, but I was told that because we were a large group (10) we were rescheduled from 1PM to 3PM in order to accommodate us. When we arrived, we were informed that there was only a very light menu available. We had a choice of ox tongue, cheese & crackers, pate or mussels. The only main dish on offer was a seafood soup. As abysmal selection. The manager looking after us was extremely rude and condescending. Some drinks were ordered three times before arriving. The clean up around us was noisy and it was clear they wanted us to leave. Apparently the kitchen closed at 3PM, so I am not sure why we were rescheduled from our original request. The final bill was an outrageous $500+ (only 4x bottles of wine) with items such as $16 for extra baskets of bread. We all left hungry and disappointed. I am sure it will be a talking point as somewhere NOT to go on Waiheke amongst us all, for many years to come. Highly un-recommended.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, Owner at The Shed Restaurant at Te Motu Vineyard, responded to this review, June 7, 2014
Hi Rachel,

Thanks for your feedback. We are sorry you did not enjoy your visit to our restaurant.

Clearly there was confusion around the booking and I have looked into it following your feedback. My understanding is that there was an initial enquiry for a party of 20 at 1pm on the holiday weekend. Mark, our Restaurant Manager advised that we were fully booked and the kitchen normally closes at 3pm. We could however take your party at 3pm for light bites or he offered to keep the kitchen open and provide a set menu at 3pm. Our understanding from the follow up email on the Saturday was for the more casual option for a smaller party.

I have checked the bill and we are very comfortable that 15 food plates, 6 beers, 4 bottles of wine and 4 bread platters (at $4 each) is correct.

We would love for you to come back and experience our full menu at a convenient time. I am sure we could do something to make this special.

Kind Regards

Paul Dunleavy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix Arizona
Level Contributor
166 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Restaurant Closed but Winetasting was Expensive”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

The restaurant was closed when we walked up after hiking over from Stonyridge so we opted for a tasting. We were the only ones there and we had a nice talk with the guy about the similarities between Arizona terroir and New Zealand, winemaking techniques, etc. We each tasted 3 Te Motu wines and opted not to take any with us because we had a long walk ahead. We were then charged $15 each. I don't mind paying for a tasting once in a while but $5 a taste? Not cool.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Shed Restaurant at Te Motu Vineyard also viewed

Waiheke Island, Auckland Region
Onetangi, Waiheke Island
 

Been to The Shed Restaurant at Te Motu Vineyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Shed Restaurant at Te Motu Vineyard, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.