We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Shed Restaurant at Te Motu Vineyard

The Shed Restaurant at Te Motu Vineyard
76 Onetangi Road | Waiheke, Waiheke Island, New Zealand
+64 9-372 6884
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $24
Cuisines: International, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Casual, garden-to-plate eating in a relaxed vineyard setting.
Auckland Central, New Zealand
Level Contributor
72 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A great experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Well worth the walk up from Obsidian vineyard. the staff where helpful and knowledgable about wine and a great tasting. We then walked over to Stonyridge

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    13
    8
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
51 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Waiheke Island Dining”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

I enjoyed a fantastic lunch at Te Motu restaurant on Waiheke Island. This restaurant has recently changed ownership back to its original owners so if you went before and did not enjoy it, try again as it is fantastic. the service was exceptional and the food was unique. Nothing better than going to a restaurant and looking at the menu to see fantastic 'different' dishes that you would not normally cook at home. This restaurant is right next to Stonyridge Vineyard and personally I think Te Motu is better. It was quite pricey but on a beautiful sunny day like we had, dining on the patio under the shade was well worth it.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, NZ
Level Contributor
61 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Loved it - great service and lovely surroundings”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

Visited for a family birthday, and we were overwhelmed with the service and the food was outstanding - entrees were lovely, and my steak was cooked to perfection. You know the food is good when 8 people order different meals and then take turns trying everyone else's dishes. Our waiter knew his wines and all provided perfect accompaniment to what we were eating. An Australian couple at the next table were heard to comment that the food "... was so 'bad' (sic) they were going to have to come back breakfast, lunch and dinner for the next week until they got it right!" The weather was wonderful, so we were able to enjoy al fresco dining at its best.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
82 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Hidden gem, what a find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We finally had the chance to take in Te Motu for a special occasion dinner with the family. We for some reason weren't expecting too much but were ever so pleasantly surprised. We had 4 entrees, 4 mains and 2 desserts to share and we all took tastes of all of the meals, everything was exceptional including the service. We will highly recommend and definitely be back.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
82 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Tucked away little gem!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

We came on a whim as a last minute idea for dinner for four and were really pleasantly surprised. The setting is relaxed and as you walk in it has a bistro feel to it more than fine dining, but we were fine with that. We had the gorgeous deep fried green olives stuffed with manchego, next sardines, prawn dumplings and eel cakes for starters, all were amazing. Everyone was silent as we passed around tastes and tried very hard to decide which dish was the best - not an easy task as all were of such high caliber, in presentation, ingredients and taste. Our wine was lovely and light pinot which complimented well. Next we each had pork, steak and lamb again all were sublime. We slowly all ooohed and aaahed our way through until sadly every bite was gone. The service was very attentive and cheerful. We felt relaxed and not rushed at all, enjoyed every bite and will most certainly be back.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Shed Restaurant at Te Motu Vineyard also viewed

Waiheke Island, Auckland Region
Onetangi, Waiheke Island
 

Been to The Shed Restaurant at Te Motu Vineyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Shed Restaurant at Te Motu Vineyard, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.