We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic and restorative escape” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Owhanake Bay Estate

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Waiheke Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Owhanake Bay Estate
Save
You added Owhanake Bay Estate to your Saves list
68 Korora Rd, Waiheke Island 1081, New Zealand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 25 Waiheke Island B&B and Inns
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Romantic and restorative escape”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

We stayed at OBE in the Manuka suite for an anniversary weekend celebration. My husband had chosen OBE based on its excellent TA reviews and because we were seeking, peace, quiet, vineyards, and a spa. It did not disappoint. Although there is no sea view from the Manuka suite itself, there is a sublime view down to Owhanake Bay from its private balcony terrace where we sat out most mornings and evenings. The suite is as pleasant and well-appointed as other reviewers have noted. Soaking in the private spa while looking out over the olive groves and listening to the native birds and black duck was quite enchanting. Other highlights of our stay included sitting out amongst the vines with the estate’s own Pinot Gris and the delicious (and extremely generous) tasting platter of local goodies - especially the herb paste and fig conserve; the walk around the nearby headland (with jaw-dropping views); and the private massage in our room. Waiheke is a rambler’s paradise – do spend some time investigating the nearby walks suggested in the guest information. We dined at the Mudbrick Vineyard Restaurant (recommended, and the views are outstanding) but would also warmly recommend Fenice in Oneroa for an informal, but delicious meal. The walk to town along leafy Korora Rd is a joy on a sunny day/night – especially if you take the beach shortcut which Mike will point out to you – and seemed to only take around 10 min. Mike and Christy have created a very special place at OBE and they are wonderful hosts. Highly recommended for a charming, romantic, and restorative escape.

Room Tip: The Manuka suite has private spa, the suite itself has no sea view but its balcony deck does. We sus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
40
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

If you wish to recharge in the most pleasant environment, with great people catering to your every whim, look no further. Owhanake should be your first choice. A beautifully run family operation with spectacular views, and an aspiring vineyard, we will no doubt hear more of in the future. My partner and I have a thing for excellent bathrooms and Owahanake delivered there with exception. Time to me is money, and I am taking my first free time since my stay six or so weeks back, to write this review so you can spend yours wisely. Call Mike now so you don't miss out. It may be Waiheke's best kept secret...

Thankyou again. J and Koko xx

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
linzilu
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here with my husband, sister and her husband who were over from the UK and we loved it. It was the most beautiful place I have ever stayed at. It was magical to sit within the vines and taste the special wine produced there & having breakfast overlooking the harbour was especially memorable

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queenstown, Otago, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We spent the weekend at Owhanake Bay Estate. It is quiet and peaceful, surrounded by not much more than green open space. The rooms are clean, spacious and full of light. A nice bathroom. It is a pleasant 20 minute stroll to the local shops and restaurants. Their taxi service is a real bonus for the times that you would rather not walk. Mike went out of his way to help with anything that we might need. A lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

My husband and I stayed over for one night (away from the kids). The intention was to have a night of decadence and spoiling. Owhanake Bay Estate delivered just that! Mike was amazing. His attentiveness, welcoming nature and balancing this with privacy was perfect. Mike took us around the estate - his passion for wines, nature and life was enthralling. Every need was attended to as we required.... and more.

The room was modern, upmarket and extremely comfortable. No attention to detail had been missed.

We had a most amazing time and would definitely go back.
Summary of the trip: Decadent, welcoming, private, attentive.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We have stayed twice at OBE. Both times Christy has been the most accommodating hostess. (We have yet to met Mike as he's been away both times) :)

Our first stay was in December 2009 for our 1st wedding anniversary and "baby moon". We stayed in the Tamure suite back then which is closer to the pool and jacuzzi. We had an amazing stay with perfect weather and service. We didn't see any sign of the other guests and we had pool to ourselves both days. The food provided by Christy was sensational. Home baked biscuits, fresh fruit and a gorgeous bottle of Pinot Gris on arrival.

Breakfast was a feast of organic eggs, fruit, croissants, bacon , fresh squeezed orange juice - the works. Christy goes the extra mile with all the home comforts, including limo service anywhere on the island (for a small cost). Both stays we had dinner at Mudbrick Winery (recommended) and Christy happily dropped us off and picked us up when we were ready.

We had a tour of their vineyards on the first day which was a real highlight, as was the walk around the headland of the area.

Our latest stay was January 2013 (3 year old child means a slow response)! again we had a fantastic stay, this time it was our time away from parenting duties. The peace and quiet was even more pronounced now!
Once again we didn't see the other guests and had the pool to ourselves on a beautiful hot and sunny weekend. This time we stayed in the Manuka suite (recommended) with it's own private jacuzzi as well as private deck.

The suites are maintained impeccably, and the attention to detail incredible. These guys really want to make your stay as luxurious and comfortable as they can.
Needless to say, we love this place and are looking forward to staying again on our return to NZ.

Room Tip: Manuka Suite is superb with it's own private Jacuzzi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

My husband came with me as I attended an academic conference in Wellington. He rarely gets a chance to travel with me so we stayed on an extra week and I researched carefully what we should do to make sure we enjoyed the best of the country in the cold season. I decided to make sure the last 3 days before heading back to the USA were very special for us and I choose Owhanake Bay Estate. It turned out to be the highlight of our trip. The hospitality, comfort, cleanliness, and beauty were only the beginning. The uniqueness of the land and buildings surrounding as well as within the Estate were fascinating and the entire Island was amazing, We saw many things, hiked, eat and drank everywhere but most of all our base at the Estate felt like home. A lovely Deck Spa was our fitness center. I highly recommend this adventure and location to all.
Ann Dugan
University of Pittsburgh
adugan@katz.pitt.edu

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Owhanake Bay Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Owhanake Bay Estate

Address: 68 Korora Rd, Waiheke Island 1081, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Waiheke Island
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Waiheke Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Owhanake Bay Estate offers luxury boutique accommodation overlooking the beautiful secluded Owhanake Bay on Waiheke Island in New Zealand. Each suite has a sumptuous super king bed with quality furnishings and linen, and private modern ensuite bathrooms. Enjoy a complimentary bottle of our Pinot Gris wine whilst on your private deck with a stunning sea view over beautiful Owhanake Bay. Specialising in popular packages including romance, retreat and wine discovery options. Ferry transfers from Matiatia Ferry Terminal, and a quality continental breakfast is included. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Owhanake Bay Estate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.