We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A secret hideaway to renew, reenergise, revitalise, - a generous slice of heaven” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Heartsong Retreat

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Heartsong Retreat to your Saves list
Heartsong Retreat
8 Omiha Road | Rocky Bay, Waiheke Island 1081, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A secret hideaway to renew, reenergise, revitalise, - a generous slice of heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2010

The Cabana was a secluded, romantic paradise. The Boatshed was our home away from home - simple and rustic, which provided a wonderful retreat for wine by candlelight beside the bay. The spa pool was a luxurious, inviting space amongst the palms. The breakfasts were simply decadent. All this brought together by the superb hosts, Trish & Robin, who were outstanding - so friendly and welcoming. Needless to say, we'll be back on our regular visits to NZ from the USA.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
127
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2010

My wife and I traveled to New Zealand in March. What a place! We spent 3 nights on Waiheke Island and 2 of them at Heartsong. Trisha and Robin are two of the most excellent people we have met traveling and I highly recommend their B&B. It can be hard to feel at home somewhere else, but we found it quite easy at Heartsong. The breakfast is off the charts good and the property is beautiful. The rooms were great (we stayed in the Cabana) and the place just has a great karma about it. We come from Houston, TX and are used to friendly people. I was happy to find the people of New Zealand was the same way. I religiously use Trip Advisor and this is the first time I have ever posted. Trisha asked why we chose their place and I told her the reviews were really good. I also promised her I would post my first review ever for Heartsong. I'm a little late but wanted to keep my promise! For a beautiful place, kind people, great breakfast, engaging conversation and an overall wonderful time, try Heartsong.

Wes D. Houston, TX USA

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2010

My husband and I needed a relaxing break and Heartsong provided this and more. Trish and Robin are consumate hosts and their retreat is an idyllic hideaway overlooking Rocky Bay. With kayaks and a row boat at our disposal and a spa pool, steps away from our room - we realised we had found a rather special place. We would love to go back next time we are in NZ.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland NZ
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2010

Friendly and extremely hospitable hosts, superb quality, attention to detail outstanding. Highly recommended, definiely the best of its type I have tried in New Zealand and we use this type of accomadation quite alot.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2010

Even though we are Waiheke locals who own a holiday villa on the island we decided to stay at Heartsong for a bit of serenity on the night of our wedding - the best decision we've ever made! I also stayed at the retreat with my sister the night before and used the place to get ready. Trisha, Robin, Sam and Milo all went out of their way to make us feel like the place was ours. And the breakfast - wow! I would love to come back to visit for a week to enjoy the surroundings of the property or even just to have a cup of tea with Trisha and Robin who are such interesting and lovely people. We hope to see you again soon.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2010

We have stayed at the Heartsong on 3 occasions. We decided to hold our wedding ceremony there in Feb 2010 and it was perfect. Fantastic. Trisha and Robin are great people. We highly recommend it for a peaceful getaway, A truely amazing spot.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2010

We stayed at Heartsong on the last night of our NZ honeymoon. It was absolutely stunning. The hosts were waiting for us on arrival, and showed us their stunning rooms. We were lucky enough to be the only guests on this night because it was midweek. Therefore we were able to see the rooms and choose. I believe we were originally in the Nikau room then moved to the room next door, which was amazing. (All the rooms however are stunning). Trish served us with some perfect coffee and homemade baking to settle us in. The spa outside was so relaxing and romantic and the boatshed was a lovely place to relax. My husband painted some sketches down there and also swam there which is very possible and refreshing after the hot spa. The showers (there were two shower heads in our room) look out to a window over looking the ocean, so you can shower with your significant other if you like and look at the lovely views. All very lux and tasteful. The breakfasts were also just perfect. I can honestly say there was not one thing wrong to say about this place. I would not consider staying anywhere but here if I were to visit Waiheke. A night at Heartsong will make your memories of Waiheke truely unforgettable.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Heartsong Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heartsong Retreat

Address: 8 Omiha Road | Rocky Bay, Waiheke Island 1081, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Waiheke Island
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Waiheke Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stunning property with private beach access, Heartsong Retreat is the ideal place to relax and rejuvenate. A heated spa pool nestled in the bush provides the ideal place to soak under a canopy of stars. A private boatshed is the ideal place to watch the sun go down and guests have free access to the dinghy and kayaks. Accommodation options include a gorgeous cottage set in private gardens,a self-contained cabana/studio and the comfortable Kereru and Nikau rooms with private access. A generous and delicious continental breakfast is provided. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Heartsong Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Heartsong Retreat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.