We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Honeymoon spot of the year! "” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Heartsong Retreat

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Heartsong Retreat to your Saves list
Heartsong Retreat
4.0 of 5 Lodge   |   8 Omiha Road | Rocky Bay, Waiheke Island 1081, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
wellington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“"Honeymoon spot of the year! "”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

AMAZING place and AMAZING people. Heartsong is one gorgeous place to just sit back and relax. It is situated in beautiful bush right on the waters edge and the accommodation is just gorgeous along with the people Trisha, Robin and Sammy the dog. The Breakfast is a must along with the hot tub hidden in the bush and the private boat shed which is a nice place to sit down with a couple of drinks and just take in the surroundings which are beautiful. Would highly recommend to anyone! Perfect spot for a nice getaway or honeymoon!! :)

Room Tip: Cottage was very spacious, warm and comfy with nice sun and view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
128
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

This property is beautiful and relaxing. Especially loved the private boat shed on the water- complete with candles, and hot tub in the bush! And not to forget the really welcoming and lovely hosts and amazing breakfast. Thank you

Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

My husband and I needed a weekend away to just stop, reconnect and appreciate life outside of the rat-race.

We've been to Waiheke a few times and we've stayed in some lovely places - in fact up until two weeks ago I was an Oneroa snob - believing that anything outside of this area was unsuitable....I love to be wrong!

Trip Advisor was the main decider for our stay and Heartsong deserves it's status.

We have never gone for a homestay or B&B option (perhaps we have stereotyped the concept as too imposing) but Heartsong works because it has the key ingredients of great hosts, a lovely breakfast, unmatched surroundings, clean "homely" accommodation, local knowledge and peace and quiet.

Trisha and Robin are warm, friendly, genuine people who give great recommendations and make a great breakfast. They are interested in welcoming you and making you feel welcomed but they aren't suffocating. I liken them to just being a lovely knowledgeable couple who you feel like you've known for ages and would probably be everyone's idea of the 'ideal neighbour/relative or friend' - they are just 'good sorts'.

The spa pool is heavenly - just the right temperature and in a native setting. If mozzies love you, like they do me I'd recommend you get Robin to turn on the repellant light but I wasn't too bothered.

The boathouse is a perfect setting for a photographic moment and we set out the deck chairs and lay on the wharf like we owned the place - undisturbed and tranquil.
You can kayak as the bay is sheltered however the wind was up while we were there - but there's always next time!

We stayed in the Cabana which is my idea of a cute cosy 'guest' bach. It's compact, clean and well positioned. If you are very tall or like a lot of space, you might feel it's a little small but having spent almost one full day lounging indoors - it was peaceful and well-equipped and we thought it was perfect. The kitchenette has everything you need to eat-in and I personally liked not having a TV - not having MYSKY for a weekend is freeing and all of a sudden you have more time for each other and more time on your hands - which is the whole point (I believe!)

The magazines in the room offered a surprisingly good selection and added to the 'homely' touches - like the handmade soy-wax candles that Trisha makes (highly recommended and you can purchase some if you like scented candles, like I do)

I can recommend the massage on-site by Sabina - very relaxing (a combination of shiatsu and hot stone massage - you can alter it to suit) and she listens to what you like and don't like in a massage - very important. I was lucky enough to have mine in The Cottage so it gave me a sneak peak of what this was like.

The Cottage is spacious, modern and has all the comforts of being at home. There is an entertainers kitchen and open dining/living area. If you were staying at Heartsong for a week or more or were someone who likes a bit of space I'd choose this option.

Tip: If you arrive at night (and its late and pitch black) and you feel like a Spa, and you're either in The Cabana or The Cottage - you may find your bearings a little off. The Main house is set lower than these two and the spa is to the left of The Main House - don't go on a late night 'spa trek' like we did (thinking that The Cottage was the main house!)

We'll be coming back to Heartsong - just because it really feels like an escape to somewhere where it's peaceful, well kept and where you're well cared for but not imposed upon. I feel better for having been there.

For a fair price you get to experience the type of lifestyle that Trisha and Robin experience everyday - the kind of escape that's good for the soul.

Room Tip: For total independence go for the Cottage or Cabana
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

We had such a great time in the most beautiful place we ever stayed. Coming from cold Berlin/Germany we found paradise at Heartsong retreat. Quiet, clean, spacious with this personal touch! We and our little son had a great time at the "Cottage" and we'll definitely come back.
- well designed rooms and garden
- only 2 minutes walk to Rocky Bay beach
- relaxing hot pool
- unique, personal and unbelievable friendly hosts

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
auckland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

There is something very special about this place and the hosts. The property is beautiful, personal and unique... lovely gardens, a secluded spa pool enshrouded by trees and a boatshed with picturesque views (definitely pop down for a drink at sunset). The feeling of the property is indescribable.

Trisha's breakfasts and food recommendations were excellent too. We have already recommended this place to our family and friends and can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Kereru room has a double shower with sea views, cute private deck and is just steps away from the in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

"Heartsong", how do you describe this place. Beautiful, peaceful, tranquil, STUNNING..Amazing location..Trisha and Robin are incredible hosts, they exude friendship and care for their guests. The breakfast is a "must do"..fresh flavours and stunning food all created by Trisha (not to forget Robins awesome coffee). We will be back and we highly recommend this retreat and believe it is great value...Thankyou

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
auckland central
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

We had a great time at Heartsong Retreat. The place is amazing, great view, warm and friendly service. It is a little paradise inside Waiheke Island. Thank you very much! Highly Reccomended

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Waiheke Island hotels
4.6 mi away
Delamore Lodge
Delamore Lodge
#1 of 10 in Waiheke Island
5.0 of 5 stars 159 reviews
3.2 mi away
Breakfast on the Beach Lodge
Breakfast on the Beach Lodge
#3 of 10 in Waiheke Island
5.0 of 5 stars 158 reviews
2.5 mi away
Waiheke Island Resort
Waiheke Island Resort
#6 of 10 in Waiheke Island
3.0 of 5 stars 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Enclosure Bay
Enclosure Bay
#1 of 27 in Waiheke Island
5.0 of 5 stars 185 reviews
1.5 mi away
Le Chalet Waiheke Apartments
Le Chalet Waiheke Apartments
#9 of 22 in Waiheke Island
4.5 of 5 stars 36 reviews
2.4 mi away
Onetangi Beach Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heartsong Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heartsong Retreat

Address: 8 Omiha Road | Rocky Bay, Waiheke Island 1081, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Waiheke Island
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Waiheke Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Heartsong Retreat 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stunning property with private beach access, Heartsong Retreat is the ideal place to relax and rejuvenate. A heated spa pool nestled in the bush provides the ideal place to soak under a canopy of stars. A private boatshed is the ideal place to watch the sun go down and guests have free access to the dinghy and kayaks. Accommodation options include a gorgeous cottage set in private gardens,a self-contained cabana/studio and the comfortable Kereru and Nikau rooms with private access. A generous and delicious continental breakfast is provided. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Heartsong Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Heartsong Retreat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.